We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
131
27
22
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
27
22
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssummer kitchenthe main housegolden retrieverblintzespicnic lunchwine pairingjefferson suitethomas jeffersonpork loinlarge bedroomb bsva winesthe main living roombaked eggshistoric locationdietary restrictionsnext morning
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 200 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2016

The staff was very helpful in setting up everything we needed for an elopement with less than a week's notice. They were very friendly and accommodating to our requests when the bride's family asked if they could attend also. The inn has pet friendly rooms, and provided a bed cover and towel to wipe off our dog's feet. We had a dinner basket the first night of our stay and the food was amazing. The breakfasts were equally enjoyable. The scenery is breathtaking and the quiet country setting is perfect for a wedding. We will definitely return to spend more time and visit some wineries and the historic sites in the area.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi tub in the Washington Cottage is very relaxing
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danmillhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2016

This is a wonderful inn, a fabulous respite from the craziness of DC. A beautiful property, lovely inn with comfortable accommodations (fireplaces in the rooms!), spectacular meals, warm hospitality from the owners and staff, and wide array of activities both on property and in the surrounding area. We also love that they allow dogs- our dog enjoyed much hiking and running on the property, meeting the horses, sleeping by the fireplace in our cottage. We will return... soon!

Room Tip: If you have a dog, you stay in one of the fabulous cottages.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We chose Meander Plantation because of its central location to Culpeper and Montpelier, President Madison's home. Susanne, a co-owner, greeted us and escorted us to our room, explaining the history of the home along the way. After settling in, we wandered the property and rocked ourselves in the swing under a giant oak as we enjoyed watching the sun descend over the Allegheny mountains. We took the dinner package and found it of excellent quality. The bed was great and we enjoyed a wonderful night's sleep.

The next day, after exploring Montpelier, Culpeper and a number of nearby Civil War Battlefields we returned to explore the graveyard in the corn field. The trail was clearly marked and well maintained. After a few minutes we discovered an ancient brick wall, parts tumbling down, protecting the inhabitants. Many tombstones are there, some so ancient that they could not be deciphered. But enough to show the final resting places for the founders of Meander Plantation. The trail continues through the corn to the river and finally returns to the Inn. A total of a mile, plus or minus, it made for a great walk. Horses are kept on the property (not the owner's) and enjoy treats. For us, they were all off enjoying themselves gorging on the grass that cover the pastures, so we entertained ourselves watching them from a distance.

Breakfast at Meander Plantation is a treat and we enjoyed two such. The waitress is efficient and motivated to give you the best of service. The food was delicious and of a good quantity. After our second breakfast we explored the main house and had a great time imagining Thomas Jefferson using one of the many rooms as he stopped over on one of his many trips to and from Philadelphia or Washington DC. We found the rooms clean, spacious and very well appointed. The house keeper, preparing the room for a new guest, was friendly and helpful. We also found, unlike a previous guest, the railings adequate and sturdy, the windows clean, and fixtures neatly dusted. And the view to the west and south was a wonder to behold. We could just imagine sitting on the porch for hours taking in the view.

Meander Plantation is a great place to stay and when we pass by again, it will be the first on our list of places to stay.

Room Tip: The Inn is well located, quiet and killer views are a fantastic bonus.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank johnr1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We've been coming here for years, all the way from Michigan. It is our favorite place to relax. And it is dog friendly. Our dogs love this place. They turn into farm dogs as we take long walks around the property visiting the historic family cemetery and the beautiful river. The breakfasts are first class and the dinners are very special. We love enjoying the wonderful Virginia wines on the back porch or in the famous red chair watching the sunset over the Blue Ridge Mountains!
It's also a great location base to visit the wineries in the area, or Culpepper and Charlottesville, or the many historical locations like Montpelier or Monticello!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jen4blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanch, Owner at Inn at Meander Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thank you. We always enjoy your visits and hearing about your Virginia wine discoveries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2016

The Inn is on a beautiful piece of property outside of Culpeper and has a main house and several out buildings. There is a dining room in the main house where breakfast and dinners are served. The grounds are really lovely and have beautiful views of the surrounding countryside.

The main house seemed quite nice, although I didn't see any guest rooms. The out buildings, or cottages, are a short walk from the house and are nicely decorated. However, in the cottages, there are no direct phone lines to the main house and no wifi, so if there is a problem in the cottage, as there was in ours, you have to walk to the main house to get help. This can be inconvenient not to mention impractical.

The breakfasts were very good, but my main complaint was that we were there on Thanksgiving and, consequently, required to have Thanksgiving dinner at the Inn. This meal was quite disappointing. There was only one seating; there were few, if any, choices; the food was really poor; and the service seemed rushed. In addition it was very expensive for what you got. They also charged a $20 corkage fee if you brought your own wine--buying it from them was much more costly.

In regard to the notion of hospitality in a small inn, it was largely absent. We were not welcomed, although we were checked in by an employee as you might be at any chain hotel. I believe you could buy a glass of wine before dinner in the lounge area. Most inns have snacks for guests available, but the very small bowl of these was available was almost empty and looked as if it was some kid's leftover Halloween candy. We were there three days and nothing was added during that time.

My main impression was that this is primarily a money-making operation with little thought given to making it the kind of experience I have had at many other small inns in Virginia and the surrounding states. It was not a good value for the money we paid, and I would not return.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank almsafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanch, Owner at Inn at Meander Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2016

Thank you for your comments. Since your visit, we have upgraded our internet capabilities, so there is now free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Every room also has an informational notebook, which lists the owners' cell phone numbers, so they can be contacted at any hour if needed, either by calling or texting. We always offer only one dinner seating -- Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays. We are truly appreciative when people choose to stay with us and, therefore, also are choosing to have dinner. It is a prix fixe menu, but with limited choices for each course. Our chef prepares all dishes in-house and from the best ingredients, using local products as much as possible. We also proudly serve only Virginia wines. Guests are welcome to bring their own, if they prefer; a corkage fee is industry standard. We strive to great each guest personally and escort you to your room while telling you about the property and answering questions. Then, for the remainder of your stay, we try to strike a balance of being as available or as out-of-your-way, as you want us to be. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews