We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not elope here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Meander Plantation
Ranked #1 of 2 Locust Dale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I decided to elope in September and chose the Inn at Meander Plantation based on reviews from this site. The location was beautiful and the officiant did a wonderful job with the ceremony. However, I would not recommend that anyone choose the Inn for their marriage. One of the assistants at the Inn took photos of us around the plantation and during the ceremony, which was part of the rather expensive elopement package we purchased. She gave us a SD card that had nothing on it. I was able to reach Suzanne once to see if they had a copy and she said she was searching for them, but if they couldn't find copies, she would invite us back for photos and a stay. She has not followed through. Both my husband and I have called and emailed the Inn keeper numerous times since the ceremony to remedy the situation but we have been rudely and directly ignored. This is the least professional establishment in my opinion, and the demeanor of the staff ruined what was supposed to be a beautiful and memorable experience. Thus, if you are considering eloping, and want to choose the Inn, I would advise you not to.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Twixpixie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2016

The staff was very helpful in setting up everything we needed for an elopement with less than a week's notice. They were very friendly and accommodating to our requests when the bride's family asked if they could attend also. The inn has pet friendly rooms, and provided a bed cover and towel to wipe off our dog's feet. We had a dinner basket the first night of our stay and the food was amazing. The breakfasts were equally enjoyable. The scenery is breathtaking and the quiet country setting is perfect for a wedding. We will definitely return to spend more time and visit some wineries and the historic sites in the area.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi tub in the Washington Cottage is very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danmillhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

This is a wonderful inn, a fabulous respite from the craziness of DC. A beautiful property, lovely inn with comfortable accommodations (fireplaces in the rooms!), spectacular meals, warm hospitality from the owners and staff, and wide array of activities both on property and in the surrounding area. We also love that they allow dogs- our dog enjoyed much hiking and running on the property, meeting the horses, sleeping by the fireplace in our cottage. We will return... soon!

Room Tip: If you have a dog, you stay in one of the fabulous cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrera2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We chose Meander Plantation because of its central location to Culpeper and Montpelier, President Madison's home. Susanne, a co-owner, greeted us and escorted us to our room, explaining the history of the home along the way. After settling in, we wandered the property and rocked ourselves in the swing under a giant oak as we enjoyed watching the sun descend over the Allegheny mountains. We took the dinner package and found it of excellent quality. The bed was great and we enjoyed a wonderful night's sleep.

The next day, after exploring Montpelier, Culpeper and a number of nearby Civil War Battlefields we returned to explore the graveyard in the corn field. The trail was clearly marked and well maintained. After a few minutes we discovered an ancient brick wall, parts tumbling down, protecting the inhabitants. Many tombstones are there, some so ancient that they could not be deciphered. But enough to show the final resting places for the founders of Meander Plantation. The trail continues through the corn to the river and finally returns to the Inn. A total of a mile, plus or minus, it made for a great walk. Horses are kept on the property (not the owner's) and enjoy treats. For us, they were all off enjoying themselves gorging on the grass that cover the pastures, so we entertained ourselves watching them from a distance.

Breakfast at Meander Plantation is a treat and we enjoyed two such. The waitress is efficient and motivated to give you the best of service. The food was delicious and of a good quantity. After our second breakfast we explored the main house and had a great time imagining Thomas Jefferson using one of the many rooms as he stopped over on one of his many trips to and from Philadelphia or Washington DC. We found the rooms clean, spacious and very well appointed. The house keeper, preparing the room for a new guest, was friendly and helpful. We also found, unlike a previous guest, the railings adequate and sturdy, the windows clean, and fixtures neatly dusted. And the view to the west and south was a wonder to behold. We could just imagine sitting on the porch for hours taking in the view.

Meander Plantation is a great place to stay and when we pass by again, it will be the first on our list of places to stay.

Room Tip: The Inn is well located, quiet and killer views are a fantastic bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank johnr1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

We've been coming here for years, all the way from Michigan. It is our favorite place to relax. And it is dog friendly. Our dogs love this place. They turn into farm dogs as we take long walks around the property visiting the historic family cemetery and the beautiful river. The breakfasts are first class and the dinners are very special. We love enjoying the wonderful Virginia wines on the back porch or in the famous red chair watching the sunset over the Blue Ridge Mountains!
It's also a great location base to visit the wineries in the area, or Culpepper and Charlottesville, or the many historical locations like Montpelier or Monticello!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jen4blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanch, Owner at Inn at Meander Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you. We always enjoy your visits and hearing about your Virginia wine discoveries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

The Inn is on a beautiful piece of property outside of Culpeper and has a main house and several out buildings. There is a dining room in the main house where breakfast and dinners are served. The grounds are really lovely and have beautiful views of the surrounding countryside.

The main house seemed quite nice, although I didn't see any guest rooms. The out buildings, or cottages, are a short walk from the house and are nicely decorated. However, in the cottages, there are no direct phone lines to the main house and no wifi, so if there is a problem in the cottage, as there was in ours, you have to walk to the main house to get help. This can be inconvenient not to mention impractical.

The breakfasts were very good, but my main complaint was that we were there on Thanksgiving and, consequently, required to have Thanksgiving dinner at the Inn. This meal was quite disappointing. There was only one seating; there were few, if any, choices; the food was really poor; and the service seemed rushed. In addition it was very expensive for what you got. They also charged a $20 corkage fee if you brought your own wine--buying it from them was much more costly.

In regard to the notion of hospitality in a small inn, it was largely absent. We were not welcomed, although we were checked in by an employee as you might be at any chain hotel. I believe you could buy a glass of wine before dinner in the lounge area. Most inns have snacks for guests available, but the very small bowl of these was available was almost empty and looked as if it was some kid's leftover Halloween candy. We were there three days and nothing was added during that time.

My main impression was that this is primarily a money-making operation with little thought given to making it the kind of experience I have had at many other small inns in Virginia and the surrounding states. It was not a good value for the money we paid, and I would not return.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank almsafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanch, Owner at Inn at Meander Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you for your comments. Since your visit, we have upgraded our internet capabilities, so there is now free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Every room also has an informational notebook, which lists the owners' cell phone numbers, so they can be contacted at any hour if needed, either by calling or texting. We always offer only one dinner seating -- Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays. We are truly appreciative when people choose to stay with us and, therefore, also are choosing to have dinner. It is a prix fixe menu, but with limited choices for each course. Our chef prepares all dishes in-house and from the best ingredients, using local products as much as possible. We also proudly serve only Virginia wines. Guests are welcome to bring their own, if they prefer; a corkage fee is industry standard. We strive to great each guest personally and escort you to your room while telling you about the property and answering questions. Then, for the remainder of your stay, we try to strike a balance of being as available or as out-of-your-way, as you want us to be. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

If I was not traveling with a home remodeling contractor, I might have overlooked the troubles this lovely old home has. "Meandering" up the long driveway with gorgeous grounds all around us, first impression was great. We were greeted by Courtney who promptly gave us our Montpelier tour tickets and showed us to our room....from the main hall weaving through the dining room, up a flight of stairs to the Colonel Frey room. Very large room with a sitting room and large bath. So far I'm taken with the colonial décor and feel of the inn. Not so my partner who proceeded to find little things wrong - dirty windows, a musty odor and sticking doors. Ok there needs to be a little more housekeeping, I'm still happy.
A comfortable bed and a quiet night's rest, breakfast at 9:00, with several choices ea morning all were delicious, Waitress very helpful & friendly. Again, my partner notices the crystal facing us needs to be washed and cabinet doors were falling off. We were given our picnic basket (part of a package) which was delish. Evening meal served in another basket which we took to the 2nd floor porch- had to clean off the dirty furniture; we notice porch floor uneven & railings were scary. Bare wires on the service line were within reach of the porch. The basket dinner so yummy. Appears this historic gem could use better maintenance - we never did meet or see the owners, disappointed as this is a reason we like B & B's .The food is outstanding, the landscape & vistas are beautiful. Use your imagination and you can almost see Thomas Jefferson meandering the grounds.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 199pamelal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blanch, Owner at Inn at Meander Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your observations. Yes, an old house always has housekeeping and maintenance needs, and we are constantly striving to make improvements. We will certainly pay particular attention to the things you noted. (Except that part about cabinet doors falling off -- there aren't and weren't any!) We were away for a few days with family when your were here, but hopefully we can meet you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Locust Dale
28.5 km away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
218 reviews
22.7 km away
Inn on Thistle Hill Bed and Breakfast
19.8 km away
Ebenezer House B&B
Ebenezer House B&B
#1 of 2 in Madison
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
188 reviews
35.4 km away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,333 reviews
8.4 km away
The Inn at Willow Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Meander Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Meander Plantation

Address: 2333 N James Madison Hwy, Locust Dale, VA 22948-4837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Locust Dale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Locust Dale
Price Range: $125 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Meander Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Meander Plantation is a beautiful 1766 historic country inn offering fine dining and luxurious accommodations surrounded by 80 acres of rolling landscape in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. With its historically significant past and its bucolic plantation location on a hill with spectacular mountain views and breathtaking sunsets, the Inn truly exudes the essence of Virginia. Our southern-influenced gourmet restaurant offers four course meals paired with the best Virginia wines. Our ten luxurious guest rooms & cottages combine all the grace and charm of yesterday with the amenities and services of today. Located close to both Orange and Charlottesville, the inn is a short drive to Monticello and Montpelier – the homes of presidents Jefferson and Madison respectively. Discover the multitude of Virginia attractions right outside our front door, including several award-winning wineries and distilleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Meander Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Meander Plantation Hotel Locust Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing