We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Secret Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craddock Terry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craddock Terry Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Lynchburg
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Secret Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Excellent hotel , Spacious rooms , Jefferson street brewery / pizza/a la carte all adjoining hotel a great base to explore the area.

Room Tip: All rooms themed on shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    120
    31
    12
    13
See reviews for
203
320
30
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel was the perfect site for a recent small meeting I attended. Not your typical meeting space with the stone walls and exposed beams but with all the amenities. The hotel rooms are large and well appointed. The bathroom is spectacular with its stone, granite and high end fixtures. Friendly and helpful hotel staff. Two very good restaurant options and I loved the complimentary breakfast items in a old time styled shoe shine box. Loved the fact that they bought the furniture from a local custom builder just down the street. Will definitely plan to come back on a leisure trip when I can enjoy the hotel and Lynchburg more.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichmondSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We enjoyed our quick get-away to the Craddock Terry Hotel. The staff was warm and friendly, the hotel was clean and well-appointed. Rooms were beautiful - very industrial and modern, yet inviting. Amenities were very nice. We enjoyed the pizza at Waterstone, and had a delicious meal down the street at The Ploughcroft Tea Room.

We would only have a few negative things to say: 1. The noise level is pretty high if you are on the parking lot/street side of the hotel. We heard lots of people coming in and out, especially during dinner time, and the trains were constant. You give up peace though, when you want a good downtown location! Just bring earplugs or a sound machine if you are a light sleeper. 2. For breakfast, we didn't receive our ordered juice in our shoeshine box. 3. The pillows are not very supportive (down or down alternative) - but this is totally a preference thing. If you like support, bring your own pillows! 4. Our shower overflowed due to poor design. We could tell this is a frequent occurrence because caulked "dams" were built up around the tub in an attempt to stop it. We just mopped it up as best we could though, and the hotel staff brought us more towels straight away.

Overall, it was a fun stay in a very unique hotel. Great walking location, free breakfast, and great decor are all reasons to plan a visit there soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I was really surprised to walk into this amazing property where I was scheduled to stay for a business conference with a customer. Having never been to Lynchburg the last thing I expected to find was a truly unique boutique hotel with the highest standards comparable to any 5 star hotel in NYC, London or Dubai. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, genuinely so, and the hotel mascot, a dog named Watson, just adds to the charm of this place. A great place to getaway for a weekend with someone special or a great hotel for the business traveller, the Craddock Terry Hotel and its restaurants and events center are awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor, they are spacious and designer fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbroumand_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

What a great getaway. The room was spacious, clean and unique. The decor and architecture were a balance of old and new that prompted a "wow". I especially liked the open beams from the old shoe factory. The bed was a slice of heaven. The bathroom well equipped w/ dryer, robe and accessories.

The food was fantastic as we ate in both restaurants and truly enjoyed our breakfast in bed. The gym was small, but it was a nice touch to be able to get a quick workout (which I needed after the wonderful, but not expensive meals).

Best of all, was the staff. They were immensely helpful in making my reservation and then bent-over-backwards to make sure that the stay went smoothly. The made a spa appointment for me and then moved it (at the last minute) to be more accommodating after we arrived. The offered me a late checkout to meet my travel needs and all the while, were never intrusive on my stay.

If I were a better writer, this would be a better review…in other words, my stay was fantastic and I highly recommend a stay at the Craddock Terry Hotel!!!

Room Tip: Just give them a call and they will take care of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CvilleVATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgely, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Craddock Terry is a beautiful hotel. Rooms are spacious and the associates were willing to answer all questions and provide us with information on the city. Breakfast is delivered to your room in a shoe shine box! We traveled with a 1 and 2 year old and there was enough space in the room for them! Only problem is you need to ask for a tub if that is important for bathing of the kids! We had problems with them charging us double and it took a week to get cleared by the bank. They say it happens with certain banks, I guess we were the lucky ones....other than that it is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

the craddock terry is a sparkler in a world of mostly mediocre hotels. the design and decor reflect the building's former glory as a shoe factory. rooms are gorgeous. staff friendly. what more could one ask? you can bring fido.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mb300sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynchburg hotels
9.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lynchburg
5.9 km away
Kirkley Hotel
Kirkley Hotel
#9 of 23 in Lynchburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
9.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lynchburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lynchburg at Liberty Univ.
7.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lynchburg Liberty University
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
Holiday Inn Lynchburg
#11 of 23 in Lynchburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craddock Terry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craddock Terry Hotel

Property: Craddock Terry Hotel
Address: 1312 Commerce St, Lynchburg, VA 24504-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Lynchburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lynchburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lynchburg
#2 Family Hotel in Lynchburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Craddock Terry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thoughtful details, indulgent finishes, upgraded amenities...The Craddock Terry Hotel, once a shoe factory, offers residential style boutique design with traditional decor in a historic building. The hotel also features Shoemakers American Grille and Waterstone restaurants and Jefferson Street Brewery on-site. Overlooking the James River, you'll enjoy our elegant guest rooms, luxurious bathrooms, a signature breakfast, high-speed Internet and many other features you'd expect to find in an upscale boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Craddock Terry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craddock Terry Lynchburg
Hotel Craddock Terry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing