We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
River Walk

I highly recommend everyone to take a stroll, get an aerobic walk or bike along the river walk... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
susanrjones628
,
Lynchburg, Virginia
via mobile
Loved the section with the old railroad tunnel

We walked a large portion of the Riverwalk trail including the section near Amazement Square... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Diane_1964
,
Louisville, Kentucky
Read all 125 reviews
  
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
87
29
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
29
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews james river half mile great place to enjoy flora and fauna ride your bike rent bikes old railway great walk day trip amazement square bridge downtown walkers runners nature amherst railroad
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I highly recommend everyone to take a stroll, get an aerobic walk or bike along the river walk trail. The views of the river are excellent, the atmosphere is refreshing and everyone is friendly and polite. Your children and dogs are welcome and even encouraged to join you. The walk is enjoyable in any season and it is safe for families. There are various little trails to explore off the main path. You can make the walk as short or as long as you like. This is the ideal trail for families to exercise or just enjoy the outdoors.

Thank susanrjones628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We walked a large portion of the Riverwalk trail including the section near Amazement Square skatepark. Very cool area! Can't wait to go back when we have more time and rent bikes so we can traverse more of the trail next time.

Thank Diane_1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Riverwalk Trail, Riverfront Park,and Riverside Park are a Lynchburg treasure. What an enjoyable place to walk, run, hike, or bike! The trail is truly a scenic nature walk with beautiful, serene views and a variety of flora and fauna along the way. The Overlook is a great place to stop and take in the views of the James River. You will definitely enjoy this trail whether for a short stroll or a long run or anything in between.

1  Thank travel50states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Walked along and across the river, lost of people on the trail riding bikes and running/walking - not too crowded or too destitute.

Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Riverwalk over the weekend during a music festival. Parked in a lot not marked in anyway as private or no parking. Got towed to the tune of $230 dollars. I inquired as to the lack of signage and was told "we do not have to post signage". I'm seventy and have never had a parking ticket much less been towed. So I inquired of some locals and was told that getting towed at Riverwalk Park area is a regular occurrence and that the towing companies were known to pay kickbacks to lot owners. I did see multiple examples of cars being towed from the same lot.
Due to what appears to be a local scam I have to give Riverwalk an F. But if you go use Uber.

Thank gww998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Stroller, bike, feet, dogs, anything goes for great exercise and nature study, etc. Close to where most folks live. Watch popular times as parking can be a trick at access points.

Thank Nora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018

We love walking on this trail. Much of it is shaded, you get to walk over the bridge and see a great view of the James and the downtown skyline, and you can get your picture taken in front of the LOVE sign in Lynchburg!

Thank 444traveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2018

Safe, easy trails. You can go off trail to river if you want. Great for biking, walking, jogging. Cool things to see along the way. Love the “locks” display. Family and pet friendly.

Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2018

Love this trail and being able to spend time together. We take a walk here ever few weeks and its always nice seeing all the people that are out and about. Plus, we put a lock on the bridge and over the years more and more locks are placed there which is really cool to see all the relationships in LYH since Virginia is for lovers it makes sense!

Thank TakeMoreAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2018

Winding through the back on the old downtown it show a very interesting part of the cities history through the old buildings.

Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews