We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Service, and Ambiance - a Totally Terrific Experience”

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Middleburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Madison
Description: Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms.
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We dined at The Red Fox Inn with another couple and found the experience well worth the drive to beautiful Middleburg, VA. Our reservation for 4 couples was reduced to just two at the last minute - no problem. Our table for four was next to a table for 6 that included a fussy infant and a loud 2-year old, so we asked to move to a more quiet table away from the noise - no problem. These are just two examples of the how superbly the staff responded to our needs/requests. Everyone we encountered was warm, friendly, and thoroughly professional...and this was on a busy Sunday evening. Our orders were for side salads of goat cheese with dates, peanut soup, and the Inn's house salad. All were exceptionally fresh, tasty, and amply sized. That they were all delicious was an added bonus. Our entrees included brazed beef tips, a halibut special, and veal cutlet. All were well presented, perfectly prepared, and were ample enough to provide take-home portions for enjoyment the next night. We all thought the meal delicious and were ready to ask for the check when our server tempted us with the dessert menu - we shared 2 orders of the Decadent Chocolate Torte with Raspberry sauce, whipped cream and vanilla ice cream - Wow...it was truly spectacular! The dessert experience was over-the-top in flavor and was indeed decadent (just like I like my desserts!). The entire experience at The Red Fox Inn was wonderful...we can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank twowanderers20169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

We drive here to have the fried chicken! They have changed their menu for the weekend. Now both Sat and Sun have a two or three course fixed-price brunch. Fortunately, the fried chicken was on the entree menu!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Carol P, we are honored you drive to our restaurant for our fried chicken! Our brunch menu began about two years ago, and it has a bit of our favorite lunch and breakfast options. Warm, house-baked pastries and our signature Bloody Marys make weekend mornings something to look forward to instead of sleeping in (brunch begins at 11:30am)!

All Our Best,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This historic restaurant has served many famous people, such as Jackie Kennedy, President Kennedy, Civil War heroes, Elizabeth Taylor and Senator John Warner. The food is delicious and is served either inside or outside on a patio that is spacious and not crowded. We thoroughly enjoyed the lovely flowers on the patio, the history and the excellent service and food.

Thank cocoa120141094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed both your meal and the history of our inn! As we are listed on the National Registry of Historic Places as the oldest working inn in America, there are many stories to tell and a lot of history to share with our guests. We hope you are able to join us again the next time you pass through Middleburg!

All Our Best,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

The Red Fox is set in a historic building in the heart of Middleburg horse country.
The decor fits the billing of this established Inn and Tavern. Takes you back to an earlier age, but the menu is excellent and up to date.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tjkardos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear tjkardos,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and hope that you join us again in the future! Have a wonderful week.

All Our Best,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We visited the Red Fox Inn for an anniversary dinner in early September. They do not disappoint. Everything was amazing from the minute we walked in. The Tavern is very warm and friendly, the service was great and the food was amazing. We had fried green tomatoes which were excellent. I also highly recommend the braised short rib. The Red Fox is one of the best in Loudoun County for a reason.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank murphytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

We a thrilled to hear you chose to spend your anniversary with us. Thank you for your praise of the service and our menu! We hope we made your anniversary dinner one to remember for years to come.

All Our Best,

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Fox Inn & Tavern also viewed

 
Middleburg, Loudoun County
Middleburg, Loudoun County
 

Been to The Red Fox Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing