We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Glorious cabin with all the amenities.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Virginia Log Cabin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Virginia Log cabin in spring Great room of Virginia Log Cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Virginia Log cabin in spring
Great room of Virginia Log Cabin
Back Porch of cabin
Fireplace in great room
Dining area of cabin
view of back porch from great room
master bedroom with jacuzzi
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Natural Bridge, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tammy O...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Glorious cabin with all the amenities.”
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What a weekend, peaceful and serene. Only got to stay for two days and absolutely loved it. Sure to return for a longer visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
My wife and I have been operating this vacation home for 26 years and have had many pleased guests. Thank you for choosing us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
1 review
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Tom's place was very clean,cozy and fun. Everything needed for the weekend stay.
Super close to attractions and highway 11 for ease of travel.
Definitly recommend to anyone looking for a great place to relax and take in the beautiful mountains and cabin. Tom also has a old train caboose that is converted into sweet little getaway.
Thanks again
John

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
My cabin is close to safari park (2 miles) zoo less than 2 miles, Natural Bridge 2 miles, Natural Bridge Cavern 2 miles interstate exit 180 less than 2 miles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent Cabin, Surprising Customer Service”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Please note that the cabin scales up with the number of people - this was not immediately clear to us, as the cabin sleeps 8. You are not booking the cabin - you are paying per person! Be warned. We'll be paying extra, post-stay.

I'd chalk this up to me just assuming that we were paying for the cabin, but for feeling that we'd already been overflexible after receiving the following NOTIFICATION, not REQUEST, less than 2 months out, necessitating that we change our vacation plans. (From "Thomas B.") "Karen: I have changed your reservation to read arriving on Monday, August 14 and departing Wednesday, August 16. This won't show on the Trip Advisor information."

Enjoyed the cabin; might have gone for one with WIFI after the additional per person charge. Centrally located near Natural Bridge and Safari park, both of which we enjoyed. Nice property, & well appointed with all you'll need and neat rustic decor; NOT off the beaten path - the highway noise is clear outdoors, fine inside. Appreciated the s'mores from prior camper & outdoor fire pit. Nice porch with cafe tables & a hummingbird to boot. Quite clean & enjoyed reading guest book.

But for the Customer Service surprises (and unclear comparability to other local properties with the per person charge), it was an enjoyable and centrally-located venue. Not sure I'd recommend to a friend with locked-in vacation dates or larger parties.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
The whole problem here is that the total number of guests (individuals) staying was listed as two instead of the actual number staying. This would have prevented any misunderstanding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brittany...
1 review
“Adorable home base for our hiking weekend!”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent two nights in this cabin on our trip to Natural Bridge, VA. We came out to hike and wanted something with a little more character than a hotel. Tom's Cabin was ideal - only a few minutes from the park's entrance!

The cabin had plenty to offer on its own, too. Tom put together a comprehensive guide to local activities and restaurants for exploring, but we were happy staying in our first evening and roasting marshmallows over the fire pit in the backyard. The living room is stocked with books, board games, and other activities for a quiet night at home.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
There ara many great restaurants in the area in Lexington a small college town with lots of charm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janaboydd...
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
“A beautiful cabin in a picturesque setting! We will be back! The living quarters were great and loved the extra perks.”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Loved all the extra perks! (Fire pit for smores, volleyball, and golf club) close to the attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, Virginia
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace and tub
Liked least: Very firm mattress, just not used to it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
I am proud of our property and our beautiful area. After 25 plus years of greeting folks at my cabin, I still enjoy meeting new and repeat guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emily A
1 review
“Great getaway for our family!”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We recently stayed (5 adults & one toddler) for the weekend to celebrate our son's birthday.

The cabin was well appointed and in a perfect location. The beds slept wonderfully! We were able to enjoy a bonfire to roast smores one evening and took full advantage of the front porch swing & rocking chairs.

It was a perfect distance from our main stop, the Safari Zoo and not too far from Lexington for dinner & a lunch.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & wouldn't hesitate to book this location again.

Our only downside was only having one full bath with 5 adults since the shower head was fairly low and 3 of us are 5'9" or taller. But we made it work

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
My cabin is two miles from safari park, two miles from Natural Bridge and associated attractions. The caboose on the property can be rented so larger groups can be accommodated comfortably.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$225
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing