We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome private space, kids loved it, well...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1926 C&O Caboose

Caboose and patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Caboose and patio
Bedroom of caboose Front room with galley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Caboose and patio
Bedroom of caboose
Front room with galley
hall of caboose with bath
Galley of the caboose
Another view of caboose 90853
Springtime at the caboose
Outside with patio
Natural Bridge
General Lee  in lee Chapel
Carriage rides in lexington
VMI and Stonewall Jackson statue
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Natural Bridge, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mohamed a
1 review
“Awesome private space, kids loved it, well maintained and equipped”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Awesome private space, kids loved it, well maintained and equipped. A unique experience for young/small family and well worth it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
The caboose is a special work of love. I have carefully planned every aspect of this project. I hope my guests will appreciate the effort put into this restoration.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J
Springfield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Perfect special surprise for our kids! A magical experience. Highly recommended. Very convenient to Natural Bridge area attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrie A
1 review
“Amazing weekend getaway!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Staying in the caboose was a perfect choice for our small family. Our 1 year old now has a new favorite word... "choo choo." Having the option of a campfire/s'mores was also a great touch. We would love to go back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2017
There is wood for fires or there is a gas fired fire pit. Bring your own charcoal for the Webber grill or use the gas grill.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Caboose”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Excellent. Fun ,clean, inspiring , relaxing. Would do it again. Surprised my wife. Was our 36 anniversary

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
close to Safari Park, Zoo, Natural Bridge State Park, Cave Mountain Lake, Caverns


r
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherSN...
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Natural Bridge Vacation”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was my first cabin rental from an individual rather than a campground. My expectations were exceeded. The photographs and description were accurate. The HVAC worked just fine even though the heat index was above 100F during all days of our trip. My 10 year old son had a glorious time playing in the fields during the morning and chasing fireflies at night. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
The heat pump is one year old and does a good job of heating and cooling.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue U
Independence, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We booked this on a whim, just a get away for a night. It was one of our best trips ever. At first I was a little claustrophobic as it is small. I soon got over that and was very comfortable. The caboose had everything we needed. The patio is very relaxing. A really sweet German Sheppard came to visit. It is close to all of the Natural Bridge attractions. Driving down the road we saw a giraffe on the side of the road. (We were behind the zoo but didn't realize it until we saw the giraffe. ) Lexington is 10 minutes down the road. A nice little historic town. I loved The Bookery, a wonderful little book store with every newspaper you could want daily. Great prices. For the most part though, we ended up spending most of our time at the caboose. It was just so quaint. It definitely grew on me. We loved it. I would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The caboose and how close it is to everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
It is much like a tiny house experience. The patio expands the space so guests can hang out!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkieM30...
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loved it -- book it!”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This restored caboose was amazing. I stayed one night. The caboose is small, as it should be. Small refrigerator. Microwave. Bring your own food. No Wi-Fi (lol -- if you're looking for that experience, then go someplace else). One queen bed and a loft for two. Clean bathroom and great shower. A couch and a TV -- if you want to want to watch TV. If you're looking for a five-star hotel and room service, then forget about it. Located near Natural Bridge. But there is so much more to experience around the area. Thank you Tom for all of your hospitality and great work on this!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
WiFi Hotspot can be provided on request
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$175
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing