We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Vine Cottage is beautiful, comfortable, and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Historic Forest Oaks Manor
Rear of the Manor at Forest Oaks
The Grounds
Front portico
Center Hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Natural Bridge, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EdieMcM
Reston, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Vine Cottage is beautiful, comfortable, and well-stocked with everything!”
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our group of 6 college friends from the '60's enjoyed a perfect 3 nights in this beautiful cottage! It is only 20 minutes from Lexington, where we explored everyday, shopping, enjoying many restaurants, VMI and W&L. The cottage has everything you need, and is so comfortable and inviting! Cliff, the owner made us feel so welcome, and made sure we had everything we needed. The bedrooms are beautiful, and the bathrooms are well-stocked with towels, etc. It's a perfect getaway for friends, group of couples or a family. Cliff even gave us a wonderful, historical tour of his beautiful B&B, The Inn at Forest Oaks, which is just behind The Vine Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78retired...
Woodford, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place.”
Reviewed May 11, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were very surprised at the beauty of the cottage and the items in it and the decor. There was everything you needed with extra and if we had a question we would call and get an answer right away. It was very comfortable, homey and roomy. The beds were wonderful. We loved the tour with all the information. It was a wonderful weekend. I would call it a must.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spillmann...
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the cottage 4/8-4/12/2017 and it was the perfect weekend getaway. Every year we try to explore new places close to home (2 hours from RVA) and we found an incredible place here at Forest Oaks. The Cottage was well appointed, Cliff and Chris provide all of the essentials. The location is super convenient to visit the Natural Bridge, Caverns, and the VA Safari Park. Our kids enjoyed exploring the property at Forest Oaks and checking on the horses. Cliff recommended the we check out the Bridge at night, and what a spectacular showing...maybe one of Virginia's best kept secrets. I would highly recommend staying here, you won't be disappointed. And wish the best of luck to Chris and Cliff! We hope to be back soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy_New...
Loudoun County, VA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“5 star rating just isn't enough”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our group of four stayed at Vine Cottage, located on the historic Forest Oaks Estate this weekend. If we could give it more than the "5" rating we would.

The cottage was extremely well appointed. Everything from comfortable bedding and plush towels to a well stocked kitchen. The owners have taken great care to think of, and provide, all the amenities (and then some) that you would want and need.

Multiple cutting boards, a set of quality kitchen knives, a full set of nice pots, pans, and baking trays. More than enough cutlery, dishes, and cups. Plus numerous other kitchen accessories that most rental properties don't think to add.

Beyond that, they provided k-cups, bottled water, snack bars and popcorn as welcome treats.

Spending the weekend in Vine Cottage was a dream. The highlight of the weekend was the tour of the main house. Chris is a delightful and gracious host. We didn't want to leave - and we will be back. Thank you for sharing such a special property with us and thank you for all the work you're doing to restore such a wonderful piece of Virginia history.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
Mike and his lovely family were a joy to have stay with us. The family's interest in the property and its long history was a treat to share with them. The children bright and inquisitive. We hope to have the family back with us again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
katbrown1...
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
“A lovely, serene step into the past."”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My family spent four days in the cottage of this historic estate for our son's Washington and Lee graduation. We were only 15 minutes from campus, but it felt as if we were deep in the hills with nothing but nature around us. With soft breezes, wind-blown grass, sleepy trees and hedge hogs playing in the pasture, we were able to relax and enjoy visiting with family when away from the hustle and bustle of graduation. It made for a wonderful family get-together. The beds were extremely comfortable. Although, there is central air and heat, it wasn't even needed because the cottage is so solidly built, as in the old days, that it insulated itself from the fluctuating temperatures. We kept the doors open onto the screened porch and remembered what it was like growing up with only the sound of loved ones' voices and a summer breeze. The owners made sure that we were very comfortable and gave us a wonderful tour of the manor house. Highly, highly recommend a stay in the cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and well furnished.
Liked least: Some highway noise.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2016
It was a pleasure to host Kathleen and her charming family while here to celebrate their son's graduation from W&L University. We do hope Kathleen will return to visit us in the future to stay again in the cottage, or in the Manor House itself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtney...
1 review
“Perfect home away from home!”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had 4 adults and 3 toddlers and were extremely comfortable. The property was beautiful and well appointed. The owners were fantastic at getting any questions we had answered. We will absolutely be back!

The only suggestion I would have for you is to go through Lexington for groceries (about 20-30 min) if you plan to cook before you get on to the property in Natural Bridge as there isn't much in the way of fresh foods that we found.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
It was a pleasure to have Courtney and her family and friends stay with us. We hope to have them back with us soon.

There are a few small general type grocery stores just a few minutes near by for basic grocery needs. Large full size stores will be in Lexington.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing