We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden Resort
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Ko Chang
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

this well run accommodation on kai bae"beach" is the only reason to stay in this area. a 60 bart songshaw drive from the ferry wharf,it is located next to a 7/11 store and is a 70 meter walk - past the obligatory baby elephant photo pen-to the "beach" food is fairly basic as it is at all the other food outlets along this dismal stretch of main road.
the main attraction of this accommodation is its pool,is its well kept pool in beautiful surrounds.Do pay the minimul extra cost and have a poolside room with air conditioning.the staff are well trained in a sort of thai manner and are always ready to assist.my only problem was that the free computer was next to the billyard table,thus making it impossible to concentrate when using the computer.The dvd player in the room was a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whrabbit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    108
    31
    7
    1
See reviews for
106
205
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

just back from tour of Thailand which included 3 nights at this resort. Stayed in a poolside bungalow which was very large and comfortable, good aircon and very quiet. Very clean. staff very friendly and owner very helpful with honest advise. 2 minute walk to beach , 30 seconds to the Kai Bae restaurants and shops. Would definitely recommend a stay here if heading this was.

Room Tip: poolside bungalows are at the back of the resort so very quiet, though did not get feeling noise wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon_aitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I have stayed on Koh Chang a few times on White Sands beach. Was time for a change, so I tried Kai Bae. Checked out Trip Advisor and decided on The Garden Resort....good choice. The owner Mause checked me in, showed me the room etc, even had a beer sent to me. The room was big, w/flatscreen Samsung TV...lots of channels....and a big refridgerator. The pool was very nice as were the grounds. Mause made good recomendations on restaurants cooking school etc. Plus he's a really good guitar player ....loved the place and will return..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnyb510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is the best resort we have ever stayd at. The staff is very friendly. It is quite and relaxing, no noise at all during the night. The pool and it´s surrandings is wonderful and is very well taken care of. We have stayd at this resort for the last four years and will continue to come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Västerås
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I was impresses of the good help we got and how kind they was on this hotel. This is not a 2 star hotel, it should have 4 stars. The hotel manager helped us to book everything, divings, elephant tracking and minibus to Bangkok.
We paid everything at checkout.
The breakfast was good. Allays bacon, eggs, ham, cheese and exotic fruits etc. If you like the eggs fried or an omelette they did it for you.
Internet is for free and quite high speed.
I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed 6 nights in a poolside bungalow. The room was large and comfortable.
The location is fantastic - Kai Bae was our favourite area (for evenings) and the resort is a 5 second walk from the main stretch. The beach is a few minute walk away which we didn't find a problem.
Mause was incredibly helpful and gave us honest reviews of restaurants, elephant treks and things worth doing on the island.
The resort is not total luxury but is pleasant, comfortable with a nice vibe.

Room Tip: We stayed poolside in room 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The Garden resort was refreshing after a week in Bangkok. Mouse the owner was very knowledgeable and helpful. I found the room to be clean and in excellent repair. Overall my wife and I had an excellent time. The advice we were given by Mouse was welcomed and it was right on the money. I accidentely broke a glass table and reported it. It was replaced immediately and the charge was very modest. The fact thyat the resort was booked solid the entire time we were there should say something. The breakfast was buffet style with eggs made to order and the coffee was excellent. Do not expect to be staying in the Ritz Carlton, It is what it says it is a laidback Garden Resort that offers clean affordable accomadations an, excellent atmosphere and great service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don50alexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Chang hotels
3.4 km away
Nest Sense Resort
Nest Sense Resort
#5 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 km away
The Chill Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
0.6 km away
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
Gajapuri Resort & Spa
#6 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
0.3 km away
AWA Resort
AWA Resort
#7 of 71 in Ko Chang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.4 km away
The Emerald Cove Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Resort

Property: Garden Resort
Address: 98/22 Moo 4 | Kai Bae, Ko Chang 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Ko Chang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ko Chang
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Chang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Resort is located in the center of Kai Bae on Koh Chang just 200 meters walk from the beach. Lots of shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. We feature (among other things) a beautiful salt water swimming pool and pride ourselves on a very personal service towards our guests. Garden Resort: Koh Chang's best kept secret! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kai Bae Garden Hotel Koh Chang
Hotel Kai Bae Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing