We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Posada del Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

If you are looking for a nice cozy, clean, friendly, and homey place to stay, you found it! La Posada Del Sol has been my families home for a few months here in Granada and we are very happy here. We feel like family! The owners Lucia and Maximiliono (who also have a 4yr. old son Cristian), are very accommodating and helpful with whatever your needs may be. The staff has been here for long term and are also very friendly, trusting, pleasant, and ready to help you when ever you need it. The hotel is secure and safe with a 24 hour watch person on site. The location is perfect, just off the Calle Calzada (the main tourist strip) but close enough to the Central Park and all the other sights around town. Rooms are large and clean. All rooms are equipped with a sink and refrig. when requested. Upstairs rooms are the same but can have a stove by request. All rooms come with TV, AC, and hot showers. The setting is very quiet and tranquil, rocking chars available in the common space and a large pool (big enough to swim laps) with lounge chairs for your use. A typical local breakfast is also available upon request for a very good price. We have had many visitors from the U.S. come to stay with us here at the La Posada and all have been satisfied beyond their expectations. We highly recommend staying at La Posada Del Sol.

Room Tip: If you have young children, you may want to stay upstairs as the pool is right outside the downstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mellen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is indeed a hidden gem. Hidden because so few people know about it. And truly a gem. The hotel is ideally located, just off the Calzada and a few blocks to the Central Park. The neighborhood is safe and the hotel is secure. Architecturally, the hotel is simple and beautiful with a lovely garden and with one of the best swimming pools in Granada. (Most other places have "dip pools"; this one you can actually swim laps in.) The rooms are ample and air-conditioned with a kitchen area, some with refrigerators, and some with refrigerators and stoves. The owners, Lucia and Maximiliano, live at the hotel with their 4-year-old son, Cristian. They are lovely and attentive. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and honest. We truly feel like family here. We are here for an extended stay and we considered renting a house, but we like it some much here that we decided to make this our home for the duration of our stay. We love it here and have recommended it to friends who have also raved about it.

I just want to add that it has come to my attention that two recent reviews, by Pinolero91 and Luis Alberto G, slammed the hotel. The writers of those reviews were employed to organize a volunteer trip with a group of Canadians. I spoke with the Canadians at the hotel who told me that they very much enjoyed their time here. Unbeknownst to them at the time, there was some dispute between the hotel and the organizers as to payment. (The tour organizers wanted to pay by credit card or check, but the hotel, being family run, could only accept cash.) As a result, the organizers got upset and wrote those unfair reviews. Please do not be put off by them. This is a wonderful place.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have full kitchens. Check this out if you want to cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeantownSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Location is great, just far away from the restaurants, but far enough noise wise.
The rooms are great, very large. Beds are really nice. Swimming pool is lovely and cleaned daily. For the price you pay you get enough.
But staff is quite loud, especially in the morning.
And the breakfast is boring. We stayed 3 nights and had the same breakfast every morning!!!Scrambled eggs with toast and yucky marmalade. Watermelon and banana every morning. And in a country full of fresh fruits, why this tang orange juice?? Should be better!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank JorisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Granada and we where lucky to find this nice hotel without any reservation. It's location was convenient ( less than 3 min. walk from the central plaza). The rooms were big and clean, the staff friendly and the breakfast (included) was really good (and different every day). The pool was also nice and clean. Really worth it for 50$ a night!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Derf_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Super helpful staff, great value for the price, cool decor in rooms, seating area and fridge in mine. Lovely pool and patio area. Would def stay again! I actually found this place for famiyl that was visiting, and they really loved it, so when I was between apartments I had to come stay as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LanaBalyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Don't look further, just book this place and enjoy the beautiful city of Granada. Friendly and knowledgable staff, great pool and lovely gardens. Best place hands down. If you rented a car place it on the garage arou d the block for only 1 buck per night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aepalesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Comfortable place to stay close to everything, but enough off the beaten path so that it was quiet. While our room wasn't ready when we arrived, they quickly accommodated us into a larger room with no hassles. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenoirF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Casa Barcelona
Hotel Casa Barcelona
#31 of 45 in Granada
156 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa La Merced
Casa La Merced
#26 of 45 in Granada
49 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Xalteva
Hotel Xalteva
#13 of 45 in Granada
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.6 km away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#16 of 45 in Granada
189 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada del Sol

Address: Calle el Caimito the mayoralty three blocks i average lake, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range: $68 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Posada del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Posada del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing