We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Night in Nica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Posada del Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We stayed here a year ago, and found it quite satisfactory again this year. Not fancy, but clean, comfortable and secure. Staff always friendly. They keep the front locked, so you have to knock or yell for them to come and let you in each time. No problem. Actually very "Nicaraguan". They will also keep your bags if you want them to so you can go to dinner, or breakfast, before or after you check in and out. No onsite parking, our hostess knew where to go for that, a couple blocks away. There was some confusing construction we were able to navigate ok. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We haven't stayed in enough different rooms to make a judgement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2016

The hotel itself isn't half bad but unfortunately the staff is horrible. One of the receptionists recommended a "friend" for a tour and we were ripped off. When we complained to the manager she said there was nothing she could do. I believe she was in on it. Our price included breakfast which was o.k. but staff got upset when I asked for a second cup of coffee! It's a pity because this place could be quite nice if they hired differently.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carlton s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPosadadelSol09, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Posada del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017
Google Translation

Gentil Carlton ,gracias por tu tiempo en opinar respecto a nuestro hotel.
Sentimos mucho, escuchar que nuestro personal no haya sido muy amable con usted, nos gustaría conocer la razón que genero su opinión, generalmente nuestro staff es muy atento con los huéspedes por lo que tenemos en cuenta su opinión para mejorar nuestro servicio y prestar más atención en las relaciones con nuestros huéspedes.
Queremos aclarar que nuestras recepcionistas para ayudar al cliente recomendó una tour operadora para hacer la excursión, el hecho que la tour operadora no haya brindado un servicio adecuado no es nuestra responsabilidad, solamente queríamos ayudar y orientar al cliente con nuestra recomendación.
Para evitarnos este tipo de problemas ya no recomendamos tour operadoras externas, y actualmente estamos trabajando con una persona muy profesional, responsable y que presta muy buen servicio, Don Orlando.
Su trabajo es de manera privada realizando tour en los diferentes lugares turísticos a precios muy favorables, y hasta el dia de hoy todos nuestros huéspedes han quedado satisfechos por el servicio brindado.
Estamos felices que haya apreciado nuestro desayuno, respecto a la tacita de café la política del hotel ( es muy estricta a reguardo) es darle gusto al cliente y que todo extra como segunda o tercera taza de café, tostada o huevos que el cliente desee tiene que ser servida muy amablemente sin ningún costo adjuntivo para el cliente.
Nuestro staff conoce muy bien dicha política.
La satisfacción de nuestros clientes está siempre encima de nuestras prioridades.
les deseamos feliz dia, cordiales saludos: Lucia C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed in this beautiful hotel for two nights. We paid only $35 / night including breakfast! The room was big, almost like a small appartment, very nice and fresh with a big bathroom, AC, wifi and a TV. They also have a big pool just outside the rooms. Great place!

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Gabriellaskanshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

I stayed for two evenings at the La Posada Del Sol. The rooms are beautiful and spacious with lovely decor and very comfortable beds. The AC was a bonus! The pool was delightful and refreshing. Plus just a block away from the lovely strip of restaurants and shops leading to the main square. Granada itself is a beautiful colonial city in the shadow of Mombacho volcano with much history and gorgeous sights to see and explore. I highly recommend this reasonably priced lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Likewater4chocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Stayed next to the pool downstairs for a week next to the pool. quiet and relaxing. excellent security and friendly helpful staff. delicious coffee included in the mornings. rooms are clean and comfortable with a small kitchen fridge and private bathroom Pool is spotless Gardens are lovely. this is my go to perfect stay in Granada. inexpensive quiet safe and friendly. will definitely be back soon

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Posada del Sol was a favorite hotel for me and my wife during our frequent visits to Granada since 2008. But our experience this time was the worse experience I have ever had at a hotel anywhere. Apparently it was one of the owners, or managers, of the hotels birthday. They had a big birthday party planned with loud music and all. I was NEVER informed of this. I thought, ok I'm sure it'll end around 10pm. When 1030 came around I asked the front desk man what time and he said it would end at 12 midnight! I found the birthday girl and she said she'll stop it at 11. So when 1130 came around I asked again why it hasn't stopped. She told me that its her birthday and it'll be a while longer. Her husband or boyfriend or whatever told me that it'll only be another half hour. So at 1230 with the music going strong I was livid. I found them all once again and they told me that it'll be at least another hour. The guy at the front desk was on his phone and wouldn't even look up at me. He just pointed in a general direction when I asked for the owner.

I really enjoyed our previous stays, the birthday girl remembered me and my wife coming with our parents the previous year and I told her how much we liked Posada del Sol but after this horrible disrespectful treatment, we will never come back and we don't recommend it to anyone. The Pergola is close to this hotel and is nicer inside with a much more accommodating staff that won't just stare at their phones because they're too proud, or lazy, to deal with you like a human. Oh and the wifi is an unsecured network that doesn't work in the rooms. And the rooms themselves are getting more rundown over the years.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPosadadelSol09, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel La Posada del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017
Google Translation

Querido Daniel T, nos duele mucho que usted haya cambiado de opinión respecto a nuestro Hotel, sinceramente apreciamos que en experiencias anteriores con sus padres haya tenido un buen recuerdo de nosotros, en cuanto al cumpleaños que se celebró el 5 de Febrero del 2015, le aclaramos algunos detalles: nuestra primera idea fue cerrar el hotel ese dia y tener una celebración privada, al final decidimos con la gerencia celebrarlo con los huéspedes sintiéndonos en familia.
Nuestra recepcionista aviso desde el día anterior la actividad que se iba a realizar a todos los huéspedes y ellos aceptaron participar del evento. En realidad todos los que participaron felizmente llevaron botellas de vino,disfrutaron de los bailes típicos y del karaoke, nosotros pensamos que talvez a ustedes no se les informo por falta de comunicación y por eso le pido acepte nuestras disculpas.
Otro detalle que queremos aclarar es que por la falta de comunicación, que reconocimos no haberla tenido con usted,nosotros le regresamos Don Daniel el costo completo de la habitación.
Nosotros estamos felices que nuestra competencia cercana trabaje muy bien, y eso anima a toda nuestra familia a poner más empeño en la satisfacción al cliente, una excelente estadía y una opinión favorable, es motivo de orgullo para todo nuestro staff y por eso queremos siempre mejorar nuestro servicio.
Por eso esperamos tenerlos nuevamente en nuestro hotel, y desde ahora le invitamos a una estadía de prueba gratis, para que pueda cambiar de opinión y considerar nuevamente nuestro hotel su favorito como lo era antes.
Te deseamos un feliz día a ti y tu familia, cordiales saludos, Hotel La Posada del Sol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed at this wonderful place in early March for several days. I loved everything about it! Lucia and her husband are wonderful. They were professional and accommodating, but they also made us feel like family. What a unique combination! The rooms were beautiful, with air conditioning, little sitting rooms etc. The pool was a real treat after a long day roaming around the city of Granada. The Posada is in a great location--right near the action--but just far enough away so that you get a good night's sleep. I would go back again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms at different times during our trip to Nicaragua, as we used Grana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.5 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 45 in Granada
708 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel El Maltese
Hotel El Maltese
#27 of 45 in Granada
43 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 45 in Granada
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Real La Merced
Hotel Real La Merced
#11 of 45 in Granada
132 reviews
0.6 km away
Il Padrino Hotel
Il Padrino Hotel
#15 of 45 in Granada
184 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 45 in Granada
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Posada del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Posada del Sol

Address: Calle El Caimito, Granada, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range: $59 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Posada del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Posada del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing