We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“amazing rooms with location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plaza Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Colon
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing rooms with location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This place has fabulous rooms, ground floors have outside patios, for those that smoke. A wonderful courtyard, with great pool, great patio bar, and above all else an amazing location across the street from the main city square, where you can enjoy a cold drink, and watch the activities in the square. Superb location for wandering around the city.
The staff there are all so friendly and speeak very good english. They also support a school program. Cost around $100 a night for 2 with breakfast.

Room Tip: ground floor, near the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    151
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
239
416
65
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel has a great location for exploring Granada and is quite cozy and comfortable with a nice public area. Staff was generally helpful. They serve a very good breakfast. Wireless connection not god in room, but adequate in public area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guntersville, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was a great location however, front desk and bell service was slow and it toook us an hour to check out and even longer to get our bags to the lobby. Plan on a long wait!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna-Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

You can’t get more central than La Plaza Colon – it is in the heart of Granada facing the main square, with a view through the trees in the square towards the city’s cathedral. We had a room on the second floor facing the square and the cathedral, with a large balcony on which you could sit and watch the world go by from 2 very comfortable rocking chairs.

The hotel is built in a typical colonial style around a courtyard. We had room 203, which was smaller than most at the front, with just a queen sized bed. But it was well appointed, very clean and had a comfortable bed with good quality linens. WiFi was fast and free. It had a bathroom to match, with a very large walk in shower. Breakfast was served around the courtyard, a buffet depending upon the numbers staying in the hotel. Service was a little haphazard, but you are in Nicaragua. All the staff were friendly and did genuinely seem to want to help.

Cocktails on the balcony were a delight. Around dusk, thousands of birds arrive to roost overnight in the trees in the square – an amazing sight and incredibly noisy and exciting.
Did I mention the birds and the cathedral?? The birds start being very noisy from 4 o’clock in the morning, and the cathedral bells chime from 6 o’clock in the morning.

This hotel has my recommendation. Can’t imagine that there are any better places to stay in Granada. But if you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the square – you may enjoy the evening delights, but the early morning’s were very early.

Room Tip: It's very noisy in the morning if you have a balcony room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_R_Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here for the first four nights of our trip. Great place and great service. Virginia at the front desk went above and beyond to make our trip memorable. She ordered flowers for anniversary, make special reservations for dinner and with an english speaking guide who took us on a great tour of the area for 7 hours. Carlos and Victor always very helpful with a big smile. Best choice in Granada.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauleywog113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Plaza Colon richly deserves the ratings it's getting. But let me tell you how good it is.
Granada is loaded with many small, very nice boutique hotels. Most of them are located in old colonial mansions, are clean and have nice staffs. I've been to Granada a number of times and on this trip, thought it.would be fun to try a different one every nigth. I'm traveling solo so packing is no big deal.
I've always stayed at the Colon so I stayed here my first night.....and I haven't left. The staff is too accomodating. The breakfast is loaded with fresh fruits and juices, an ommlette station, and a number of warm entries on their buffet. It's just a very nice place to relax and hang when not touring or on business.
The hotel, though entirely new except for the front wall, beautifully replicates traditional architecture. The rooms are quite large and the air-conditioners are cold.
The pool is large enough for laps in a pinch but best for soaking. It is surrounded by a very nice patio perfect for lounging at any time of day.
The best place however to sit is in the main lobby. There is always a cool breeze and you have a framed view of the Plaza. You can order coffee or mixed drinks.
The only inconvenience is the internet. As with many colonial style buildings, the thick walls prevent good reception in the rooms, so you have to sit in the patio near the pool as I am doing now. (Life is tough.) Also, the spa/ health club which they have guest passes to is five or six blocks away. I haven't been there but heard that it is nice. (The room is large enough for my morning workout.)
The crowd here is mostly middle aged international with the occasional young couple or group of young women.
The quality and service would cost you at least three times more at any other international destination.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tango9111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Spacious rooms, beautiful building, clean, top central location. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet (included in room rate) is lavish. Cool off in the pool or on the patio at El Bar and enjoy people watching looking out over the square. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Book a room on the second floor with a balcony.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony overlooking the central square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 km away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#6 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Patio del Malinche
0.5 km away
Hotel Dario
Hotel Dario
#16 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Colon

Property: Hotel Plaza Colon
Address: In front of Central Park, Granada 11111, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Granada Department > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#1 Family Hotel in Granada
#2 Business Hotel in Granada
#5 Green Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Colon 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the main plaza, Hotel Plaza Colon has become a landmark of the colonial city of Granada. Our top notch colonial style facilities and our 100% Nicaraguan staff will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Plaza Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Colon Hotel
Plaza Colon Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing