We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
193
92
54
35
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
92
54
35
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstruffleamuse bouchetasty treatsstar restaurantstunning locationtalented chefsouffledown to earththree hoursmagical placeculinary experienceamazing dinnera true gemwhite asparaguscheese boardsouth of francereception area
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 405 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Perhaps you've noticed that nearly one third of the ratings for this Relais & Chateau are in the categories Poor or Terrible. In this review I will try to shed some light on why this is so while defending my rating of Very Good . It's easy to understand why Edouard Loubet has two Michelin stars and was once voted chef of the year by Gault et Millau. His cooking is light and inventive with the use of locally sourced products and the many vegetables and herbs grown in his garden on the premises. The domaine is a vast provencal estate boasting lavender filled gardens and extraordinary views over the Luberon countryside.

In early July we had dinner and spent one night at the Domaine to celebrate my birthday. We began our evening with the house cocktail, a champagne and truffle wine concoction which was delightful. It was served with a seemingly endless parade of tasty treats which we enjoyed while taking in the view of the Bonnieux hillside. We ordered a la carte from the summer menu and highly recommend the Petit Pois & Oignons Nouveaux Oeuf (Peas, Spring Onions & Egg) as a starter. The Fleurs de Courgette Farcies (Filled Courgette Flowers with Mexican Tarragon) were offered by the chef and would also be a superb choice for a starter. The main dishes (lamb and guinea fowl) were correct. The cheese board offers a wide range and a generous sampling is served while the Souffle Parfume au Cedre (Souffle with Cedar) was also excellent.

However when great food and magnificent views are not enough to justify the high prices, factors like service and accommodation enter the equation. We stayed in the Tistet Vedene, a “Chambre Luxe”. It was spacious and comfortable. The TV didn't work but someone came quickly to get it working. The wi-fi connection was sporadic as was the phone service with our mobile carrier.

We found the service very good but we can totally understand how it could easily deteriorate. The staff is young with many newly hired; the maitre d'hotel seemed stressed and could appear condescending. Some routine protocols for keeping the guests informed were missing. When we arrived for dinner we were led to a table for a pre-dinner cocktail but we were given no information about when we would move to the dining area. Similarly at breakfast we were seated in a dining area without any explanation that there was a buffet service in the adjacent room. Small details but we felt these were awkward moments. On the plus side, we have not seen many two star chefs spend as much time as Edouard Loubet did on the terrace serving and meeting with guests.

One final observation: the reception area also serves as the Domaine's boutique resulting in a rather congested reception with less than adequate facilities to display the products on offer.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OpioMandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
édouard L, Directeur général at Domaine de Capelongue, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Dear OpioMandH,

We warmly thank you for this very objective and nice comment.
We're very glad to read you enjoyed your meal.
We also thank you for your way of very nicely and with understanding stating your remarks. We note everything ; they'll help us improve our services.

It'd be a pleasure to welcome you again another time in our stunning Luberon.
Best regards,
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2017

My family and I were greatly looking forward to our dinner at Capelongue. When we arrived, we were amazed by the environment and were nicely greeted by the hostess. Unfortunately, that is where the hospitality ended. The rest of the service throughout the night is really not acceptable for such a highly rated restaurant. Our order requests were often ignored or completely forgotten and some members' service attitude were not appreciated (somewhat condescending). The food was an absolute delight but the overall experience was a disappointment and we would not recommend your restaurant to other foreign visitors wishing to enjoy quality and hospitable service.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank haochunlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
édouard L, Directeur général at Domaine de Capelongue, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2017

Dear haochunlee,

We're very sorry to read you didn't enjoyed your time spent at Capelongue.
Although, we're also a bit surprised given the fact that the comment just below yours, concerning a meal of the same day, is completely the opposite.
We understand we can't please everyone and we hope you've found other places more to your taste.

Best regards,
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2017

We had a wonderful evening out at this special place. First we had cocktails and appetizers on a small private terrace surrounded by beautiful flowerbeds and a stunning view.
For dinner we were escorted to the other side of the restaurant, again outside on a bigger terrace. We've chosen a six course dinner. Every dish delicious. Tastes are not overwelming and accomplice each other.
The service was good, cheerful and not overly stiff, which you might have come across in a luxurious restaurant like this. The staff did there upmost to speak as good English as possible. But some translations from French to English were really funny (savage flowers, erbs the provence).
The cheese plate is an experience on its own with uncountable cheeses to choose from.
Something might have gone wrong with our dessert, because it took a very long time before we got that served. All and all we spent 4,5 hours in this place. But enjoyed every minute of it.
Yes, it is expensive, but it was absolutely worth it

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Karlien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
édouard L, Directeur général at Domaine de Capelongue, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Dear Karlien K,

Thank you so much for your very kind comment.
It's a pleasure to read you've enjoyed every moment at Restaurant Édouard Loubet.

It'd be a pleasure to welcome you again another time.
Yours sincerely,
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2017

We've had a weekend in the hotel, nice surprise from my husband for my birthday. It was a first time for my children in such a luxe place, they really loved everything - the cooking, the swimming pool, the views, the room service... We both as well. Beautiful lunch plates near the swimming pool. Great hosts at the reception.
The only thing missing in the hotel is the WiFI connection which is announced in the hotel services, but in reality I never could connected with my laptop.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katyaboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
édouard L, Directeur général at Domaine de Capelongue, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Dear katyaboyer,

Thank you for this comment.
We're very glad to read you all enjoyed your stay at La Bastide de Capelongue.

About the wifi, the connexion can be sometimes complicated during the summertime when everyone wants to be connected. One of the joy of the countryside, probably... :-)

It'd be a pleasure to welcome you again another time.
Yours sincerely,
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

We stayed in a large apartment, which was beautifully spacious. However, the day was very hot and the air conditioner simply couldn't cool the room; the bedroom is up on a mezzanine, which made for a hot night. You should beware that the street address does not work with google maps, and also, that the name of the hotel on the hotel itself, is not the same as the name of the hotel as you book it (i.e. as above) which made it very difficult to find, since we were effectively looking for the wrong name! Nevertheless, it's a lovely location, and both the bistro and the Michelin starred restaurant are very good.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Freddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
édouard L, Directeur général at Domaine de Capelongue, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Freddie B,

Thank you for this comment.
We're glad to read you've spent a nice time in Le Domaine de Capelongue.
We're very sorry about the air conditioner.
As for Google Maps, we're working on it. But they seem to have difficulties with positioning places in very small villages which don't always have precise number and street names. Meanwhile, many road signs indicate Le Domaine de Capelongue in and around Bonnieux.

We'd be glad to welcome you again another time.
Yours sincerely,
La Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews