We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newport News Marriott at City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Newport News Marriott at City Center
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Newport News
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

City Center is a beautiful and swank area by Oyster Point. This hotel was recommended to us. We stayed once before and were not impressed but decided to give it another try. This time, we know we won't go back. It is a sad, run down, old fashioned hotel. Beds were soft and one listed so badly my sister couldn't sleep. Linens were beautiful. Rugs were old and dingy. A/C barely worked. Bathroom was marginal with a shower curtain that no one ever bothered to complete putting on the hooks. Had to ask for glasses after house keeping took old and didn't leave new.
Access from PAID parking garage to inside hotel is not easy and little scary at night.
Overall, just a disappointment for price paid and the beautiful area it is in.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katmatt_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NNManager, Manager at Newport News Marriott at City Center, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
I am sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy yourself on your return visit to the hotel. It is our goal and expectation to ensure that every guest that visits our hotel is completely satisfied and leaves happy. I apologize that our accomodations did not meet your expectations and you were not able to sleep comfortably. The concerns with our housekeeping staff, in regards to the shower curtain and the glasses not being replaced, will be addressed with our Housekeeping Manager to ensure that other guests do not have the same experience.
Again, I apologize that you did not find our accomodations satisfactory, however, we appreciate the constructive criticism so that we might better improve our service and product in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    154
    54
    23
    18
See reviews for
109
75
23
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Overall good stay. Parking garage is nice. Only complaint is the lack of hot water in the mornings. Never got hot. Also unable to hook a connection to any TV for laptop, iPad or anything.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cph4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NNManager, Manager at Newport News Marriott at City Center, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
We are glad that you were enjoyed your stay with us at the Newport News Marriott at City Center. Having the parking so close and connected to the hotel is certainly a positive aspect of our location within the City Center area.
I am sorry to hear that we were not able to provide you with hot water in the shower during your stay. This will be reviewed with our Engineering department as we know that taking a hot shower is certainly vital to being able to enjoy your stay in any hotel.
In this continuously developing world of technology that we live in, we realize that travelers are desiring different technological aspects to assist them in their productivity while on the road. We appreciate the feedback concerning our televisions and will use this to improve our service to our guests.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your comments and we hope to see you back again the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I am writing to you to share with you about the wonderful experience and the outstanding professional services provided to us for our Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Conference and Banquet held at the Newport News Marriott on Saturday, January 28, 2012. The Hotel accommodations were excellent, the conference was wonderful and the banquet food was superb! We have received many wonderful comments about the success of the event held at the Newport News Marriott from elected officials, business and community leaders.

I highly recommend the Newport News Marriott at City Center as the destination of choice for delectable food that would satisfy your palates! The Grand Ballroom was an excellent location for our banquet and the Blue Point Room and Grand Ballroom foyer were idea for the Conference and Social that was held for the weekend event held on January 28, 2012 at the Newport News Marriott at City Center.

Andrew Shannon, Founder and Organizer
Southeast Community Day Parade and Festival
Newport News, Virginia

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce S, General Manager at Newport News Marriott at City Center, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words; it was a pleasure to host the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Conference and Banquet. We appreciate your support of the City of Newport News and the Newport News Marriott at City Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Loved the area the hotel is in. We missed our flight, and stayed a second night. Two different rooms, and both were enjoyable!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fonda911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NNManager, Manager at Newport News Marriott at City Center, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Newport News Marriott at City Center. While I am very sorry that your travel plans were changed due to missing your flight, I was thrilled to know that you enjoyed yourself so much the first night that you came back for another night. I hope that you have an opportunity to visit us again in the future and see the continuing development of shops and restaurants within the City Center area.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us over the weekend and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

I was here on business. Good size rooms that seemed new even though the hotel is 7 or so years old. Good beer selection in the Bar.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce S, General Manager at Newport News Marriott at City Center, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your words of encouragement. We maintain an aggressive preventative maintenance program and are proud of our "everything in working order" scores. Glad you enjoyed are beer selection; we are always interested in new beer choices available in our market. Keep us posted if you find a new favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I've had consistently bad experiences recently at this hotel. When I stayed during the fall, my door jammed shut and I couldn't get in my room. When I stayed in December, the refrigerator in the room had been unplugged prior to my check in and after unpacking, I discovered the carpet was soaking wet. I stayed again last week and was rewarded with bed bug bites on my legs. I recommend finding somewhere else to stay.

Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SM1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce S, General Manager at Newport News Marriott at City Center, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at the Newport News Marriott. We value the information on each guest's experience as it enables us to improve our performance and procedures. I apologize for the lack of attention to the details in the guestroom resulting in the door not operating to our standards and the in-room refrigerator not being plugged in after cleaning and defrosting. Our standard is to inspect each room prior to the arrival of the guest; this was done but lacking in the follow-up process. In regards to the bed bug concerns, we have a pro-active process completed by a certified vendor who is an expert at the detection and prevention of any insect activity. We have not had any reports of any bed bug issues and I urge individuals to contact me directly with any concerns. We are very proud of our service and cleanliness ratings and take immediate action on any reports less than perfection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We held a fairly large meeting at this Mariott back in November and I have been meaning to write a review. I want to thank them for the excellent service for the meeting, we used a big meeting hall and several of the smaller ones. The rooms for the meetings worked out perfectly and the coffee and snacks provided were excellent. We booked more than 80 rooms at the Marriott and I didn't hear any complaints from the attendees. Rooms were very comfortable and all had refrigerators. The only drawback might be that the rest of the City Center closed up pretty early in November. But for the most part, the location worked out really well.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeedsNEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NNManager, Manager at Newport News Marriott at City Center, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback concerning your conference. Our banquet and convention services staff were very excited to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and your conference was successful. We strive to be the premier hotel in Newport News to hold small or large conferences. I am also glad that your meeting attendees enjoyed the room accomodations and food and beverage offerings during your event.
Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to hosting future meetings for you and your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport News
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newport News
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport News (Oyster Point)
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn Newport News-Yorktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
Hilton Garden Inn Newport News
#3 of 38 in Newport News
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
4.2 km away
Courtyard Newport News Airport
Courtyard Newport News Airport
#5 of 38 in Newport News
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
40.2 km away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport News Marriott at City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport News Marriott at City Center

Property: Newport News Marriott at City Center
Address: 740 Town Center Drive, Newport News, VA 23606
Region: United States > Virginia > Newport News
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newport News
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport News Marriott at City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top choice among hotels in Newport News, VA, Marriott Hotel at Newport News City Center allows guest to discover stylish accommodations combined with substance. Our Newport News hotel's guest rooms and public spaces offer many convenient and enjoyable amenities for business and leisure travel. Accommodations are designed with comfort in mind, offering spacious work desks, plush Marriott bedding, and free Wi-Fi. At our hotel, you will find a restaurant, indoor pool, and additional perks on our Concierge Level. For corporate travelers, we provide ample event space for conferences and meetings. Stay with us at Marriott Hotel at Newport News City Center and enjoy a superb location near shopping, entertainment, and more in Newport News, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Newport News Marriott at City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Newport News At City Hotel Newport News
Newport News Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing