We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach and a stone's throw from town.”
Review of Saint George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saint George Hotel
Ranked #43 of 57 Naxos Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Saint George was very welcoming, good, basic twin room and lovely balcony with sea view. The best thing about this place is that it is just a few steps from the beach and sea. It is just a few minute's walk from town too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rara1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Saint George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2008

I think your experience of the St. George hotel is largely determined by the room you are given. We also had one of the top three rooms and the view is just fantastic. We watched the sunset from our balcony most nights with a bottle of wine and were in heaven. The location of the hotel is almost impossible to beat. I found the staff friendly and helpful but we didn't have a huge amount of interaction with them. The rooms themselves are quite basic but are clean and adequate. Naxos itself is a lovely town. All in all I really enjoyed the place and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank briongloid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Just returned for a weeks stay in St Georges Beach Hotel. We booked directly through Dimitris, who was more than helpful and collected us from the Port, and brought us to the hotel. As he promised, he gave us one of the 3 top floor rooms, which had fab views over the beach. The room was small, but perfect for us. It was clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had aircon and a fridge. It shared a large terrace with the other 2 apartments. It was a short stroll into the Port area, which is lined with shops bars and restaurants. It's ideally located, and for it's price, well worth staying there. We hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Annieok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We stayed in a studio room at Saint George hotel recently. We booked our room through booking.com and when we arrived the hotel had no record of our reservation, which was a bad start. Fortunately, there was a room free, although it did not have a balcony but a table and chair on the outdoor entrance hallway.

The room itself was basic but clean. The air conditioning worked well enough and the room was cleaned and tidied well every day except Sunday. My only complaints would be that the kitchenette was inadequately equipped, lacking the basics required to comfortably make breakfast, which is all we wanted it for, and the lock on the room door was so stiff that it required quite an effort to open it each time!

However, the price was reasonable and the location great - right on the beach and within easy walking distance of the harbour and old town.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farsley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We, parents and two teenagers stayed at the Saint George Hotel in the first week of June. To be honest, we didn’t like the hotel much. I booked a room through the Booking.com. I wanted to know some details of the hotel such as if the room had the beach view and if we could rent beach towels but the websites didn’t give me any information. I sent inquiry to the hotel directly via e-mail 4 times from February to the time right before we headed to Naxos. I never got any answers from them. That was a bad sign but since I liked the location and price I took a chance and used the hotel any way.

We didn’t expect a gorgeous hotel with the room rate that we were going to pay. But we found ourselves in a very tiny room without any views. It supposed to be a room for 4 people but it was really a room for 2 and they squeezed 2 folding type beds in the room. It had a kitchenette but stoves didn’t have any power and didn’t heat up at all.

We stayed for 4 nights but they didn’t clean the room on our third day and didn’t provide any toilet paper until we requested for the “service”. Since the room is so tiny when a room was sandy, it became uncomfortable. If they don’t clean a room they need to provide a broom at least!

The office hour supposed to be from 7 am but no one in the office at 7:20. Luckily we paid the day before we checked out the hotel so that we didn’t have to wait for them to show up and miss the boat.

Someone wrote, “during our stay the staff often weren't around” in Trip Advisor Traveler Reviews, and it was our case as well at the Saint George Hotel. Since some people had a wonderful experience there we must have stayed the wrong time. The hotel must be nice and staff pays more attention to their guests in the high season. When we went there they must have not be ready for the business yet.

The hotel was on the Saint George Beach and very close to the town. It is in the very peaceful area. We really liked the area. From our experience, however, I don’t recommend the Saint George Hotel if you are planning to stay there in low-season.

By the way, they only provide a tiny soap so take your own shampoo with you.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pocono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2007

Hello we ve just come back after our vacations in Naxos island!
Everything was perfect!!!we ve found our hotel from a few friends they had been there last year!!
The hotel was located in front of the beach(just 4 meters from the sea)with fantastic sea view!!
We had booked a double room ,it was very clean and the poeple there very friendly,family place and resonable prices!We enjoyed that very much and for sure we will visit Naxos and Saint George hotel again!
We recomend it to everyone!!

Regards
Daniela

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Daniela22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2007

We just returned from a 6 days trip to Naxos and stayed in hotel Saint George. The hotel was everything promised on their website. We booked a double bed room with a fantastic view over the sea. The rooms are very clean and we have service room every day.
It's situated only 5meters from the beach next to all amenities.
The owner Dimitris and his family is so friendly and very helpful.
They pick you up and bring you from/to the port or airport. You can rent a car or bikes with them. Which is certainly recommend to explore this beautiful island.
I will definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly return in the future.

Emanuel & Jenifer

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Manuel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naxos Town hotels
0.0 km away
Ikaros Studios & Apartments
Ikaros Studios & Apartments
#9 of 58 in Naxos Town
279 reviews
0.0 km away
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
Alkyoni Beach Hotel
#18 of 58 in Naxos Town
188 reviews
0.0 km away
Saint Vlassis Hotel
Saint Vlassis Hotel
#2 of 58 in Naxos Town
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Spiros
Hotel Spiros
#11 of 58 in Naxos Town
272 reviews
0.0 km away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#8 of 58 in Naxos Town
407 reviews
0.0 km away
Adriani Hotel
Adriani Hotel
#6 of 58 in Naxos Town
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint George Hotel

Address: | Saint George Beach, Naxos Town 843 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Naxos > Naxos Town
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Naxos Town
Price Range: $64 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Saint George Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint George Hotel in Naxos Island, is perfectly situated on the golden sandy beach of Saint George Bay in Naxos Town (Hora) of Naxos, just 10 meters from the sea and offers marvelous sea views over the magnificent bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Saint George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel Naxos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing