We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming & Peaceful Studio : Private Balcony...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Loft

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Scala, Amalfi Coast, Campania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
MontrealM...
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Charming & Peaceful Studio : Private Balcony, Pool, Hotel Access & Panoramic Views.”
Reviewed May 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for five nights in Scale at "The Loft," hosted by Chef Lorenzo and Athina, as well as their extended family. We were looking for a special place on the Almalfi Coast to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary after a busy week touring in Rome and Naples. We wish we could have stayed an extra week! We loved it.

Attached to a 3-star hotel, this 4-star "Loft," the former residence of Chef Lorenzo, is well-equipped and its private balcony offers amazing panoramic views of the nearby town of Ravello, the valley that separates Ravello (pop. 5,000) and Scala (pop. 1,200) , the oldest town on the Amalfi Coast, as well as a glimpse of the "Sea"below. "Wow" views everywhere.

The Loft itself is comfortable, and well designed --- designer kitchen outfitted for a world-class chef, comfortable bedroom area (convenient sliding panels to offer privacy or block the sun for naps!) with large walk-in closet, a renovated bathroom with a shower, and a healthy sized living area. This is an ideal romantic retreat for a couple, a practical place to rent for two friends travelling, or a cost-effective rental for a couple with a younger child (pull-out sofa). There is a sound system, plus a flat screen TV, plus a fully stocked kitchen and bathroom with all amenities.

The location in Scala is ideal --- the best hiking on the Amalfi Coast is accessible from Scala, you can walk to Ravello (pleasant walk through village of Scala and across a valley) in 25 minutes. Bus service from Scala can deliver you to Amalfi for ferries, other buses, or to visit Amalfi or Atrani, or the walk downhill is 45 minutes through breathtakingly beautiful countryside (roosters, donkeys, lemon trees, stone pathways that inter-connect Scale-Minuta-Pontone-Amalfi-Atrani-Ravello-Scala (for ambitious hikers that is a 4+ hour loop walk-hike).

Guests at "The Loft" have their own balcony and private gated entry, yet they enjoy full access to the hotel.... The hotel itself has a large pool, an outdoor terrace with impressive views, plus a bar and a dining room. Chef Lorenzo is an excellent chef --- we enjoyed several excellent fresh meals prepared by Lorenzo that compare to the finest cooking in Italy.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted warmly by Athina, pampered with a delicious lunch on the terrace prepared by Lorenzo, and we were also happily surprised by how generously the fridge was stocked: eggs, juices, coffee, fresh cheeses, prosciutto. Breakfast daily on our private balcony of fresh croissant and breads was a real treat.

The only noise -- roosters crowing, church bells were such wonderful reminders that we were 'unplugged.' (Scala has an amazing history - once a thriving and wealthy religious town of 5,000 with over 100 churches, it was attacked by the Normans, burned down by the Pisans, rebuilt in Medieval times, but survived ) -

It was very hard to leave "The Loft." Lorenzo, his parents, and Athina, as well as the entire staff, were so kind and welcoming. This "Loft" and Scala are a slice of heaven. We can recommend HIGHLY and WITHOUT RESERVATION The Loft to anyone seeking an authentic Italian vacation that does not desire to get overwhelmed by tourists. Scala itself is so charming, and it is well located to explore the entire Amalfi Coast. WE SHALL RETURN!

TIP 1: Ask Lorenzo or Athina to hire "Antonio," a professional driver who met us in Naples in a large Mercedes and drove us to The Loft (1 1/2 to 2 hours or less Euros for direct route) . The 140 Euros was worth every penny : driving on the hairpin turns on the Coast is not recommended, and Antonio arrived early in Naples, made several stops and dropped into a few villages en route, and basically allowed us to relax and enjoy the beauty of the Coast with worrying about crashing and tumbling into the Sea!

TIP 2: Spend more time in Scala and Ravello than Amalfi (jammed with tourists) or Positano (overflowing with tourists, and make sure to hike the upper path that connects Ravello with Scala (1 hour).

TIP 3: Visit Ravello early in the morning (before 10am ) or after 6pm once the busloads of tourists have left and be sure to visit (before 9:30am) both The Gardens of Villa Cimbrone and Villa Rufolo.

TIP 4: Bring your camera and hiking boots!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrissyJ
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth it for the view alone - a gem on the Amalfi Coast”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We went back two years after our previous visit and if anything it was even better. The facilities are perfect. Excellent quality private apartment with the option to use the hotel catering, bar and pool as you wish so you get the best of both worlds. Lorenzo, Athina, Carla and in fact all the wonderful team there add immeasurable value. You cannot buy good service and hospitality and they have it naturally. We went with our two children who are now slightly older (5 and 7) and the sleeping set up with the sofa bed still works perfectly. They were by far the youngest children there as there is a really good balanced mix of guests: couples, families, younger, retired.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopFreque...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real Italy.. Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lorenzo is a wonderful host. His place is quiet but connected to a hotel so you have access to food, pool, bar, etc. One night he visited our apartment to make dinner and teach my wife how to cook some italian dishes. It was the highlight of the trip and we would both highly recommend it. Don't miss this place!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura D
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views, amazing people ”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic place! We arrived late at night after a delayed flight and Lorenzo had made us a delicious meal which awaited us in the apartment on arrival. The staff at this family run hotel are so welcoming and helpful - Athena even sent us a video with suggestions/recommendations in the local area! The room is great- very modern and clever design with amazing views over to Ravello, which is 20mins walk away. The hotel is very clean and well run, food at the bar was excellent. Would love to stay again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie Y
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning location, incredible food, enchanting people!”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Lorenzo and Athena's apartment (booked through Holiday Rentals) which is attached to this incredibly cute hotel. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking, Scala is a tiny and very old town at the top of the mountain with views of nearby stunning town of Ravello, seaside resorts Minori and Maiory and of the path down to the Amalfi coast. This is a genuine family business, from the amazing food (Lorenzo) to the music (his father Enzo), the hospitality and humour of the people made it feel like a home from home. Lorenzo is an incredibly talented chef (the BBQ we attended was like nothing we've ever seen or tasted before...and the swordfish carpaccio, wow!) and the wonderful Athena looked after us extremely well in the apartment, cleaning and changing the bed sheets and tools every 2 days, giving us recommendations and offering to book table in nearby restaurants, her charm and kindness made our honeymoon into the trip of a lifetime. The apartment itself was surprisingly urban chic for the rustic countryside, all the mod cons (especially the kitchen, you can tell it's owned by a chef!), and we had all the luxuries of self catering but will the hotel amenities including a decent sized pool, cooked breakfast, restaurant and bar. The best of both worlds. It was quiet enough for a couples break but very family friendly and big enough to accommodate both. The bus goes from the square to all the nearby towns, and Ravello is a 20 minute walk away, Amalfi is a 50 minute hike down the mountain path, beautiful but only for the fit and able. The bus will cater for everyone else! We will definitely be returning in years to come. Excellent value for money, and great for the soul!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: Having to go leave at the end
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best of All Worlds”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful apartment, comfortable and beautifully furnished, friendly and excellent service, with the most stunning views of the Amalfi coast, combine to make this an unforgettable experience of Italy.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Family friendliness
Liked least: Nothing obvious!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing