We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
110
43
10
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
43
10
3
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 173 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2017

We chose this hotel for the location and price and were not disappointed. From the moment we walked in the door, Marianna the owner was extremely friendly and helpful. Our rooms were simple but charming and super clean. The breakfast was varied and delicious, The hotel is a 10 minute walk to Casamicciola port and there is also a bus right in front of the hotel which was punctual.
The hotel gardens are relaxing and maintained and a nice place to just relax before or after the beach.
The wifi worked perfectly too.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the dining courtyard can be a bit nosiey during the meals
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michaels2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2017

Marianna and her family really took the care in welcoming my mom and I to their lovely b&b. Marianna had always made sure that we had everything we needed and were tended to from the moment we walked in the doors. There is an amazing garden where they grew their own fruits, vegetables and flowers. We had amazing breakfasts there with homemade ingredients and fresh fruit. That was often the highlight of our day already and also waking up to the ocean view of the apartment that we were staying in. We were in such awe with the views and the garden that we had to walk through to get to our apartment. I was sick one evening and Marianna was very concerned and made sure that I had tea to make me feel better. Marlene made the breakfast and also did the cleaning. She was also key in making our stay so enjoyable as well. The B&B is spotless and tastefully decorated. You are about a 5-10 minute walk to the harbour and shops. We took the bus and they would come every 10 minutes or so, a very practical and cost effective way of getting around the island. I highly recommend staying at Pensione Matarese and am talking to about it with my friends and family to go there. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MitziL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2016

The place is very welcoming! The owners go out of their way to be helpful and to help arrange visits and plans. The garden is a garden of Heaven! Chapeau to the owners for keeping it in such a manicured state. Really impressive.
The location is very good (just a short, but steep, walk to downtown Casamicciola). Rooms are simple, but very functional. Mine (n. 4) had a view on the internal garden, was very sunny, offered a very good mattress and perfectly working AC and all other facilities. The bathroom is a bit small, but being used to sailing this was definitely not an issue.
... And we were also treated to a lovely home cooked dinner, featuring fresh fish :)

Room Tip: Self-catering apartments (in the garden) are probably best for a family or for whoever is looking for more privacy.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AntonellaIanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My daughter of 7 and I stayed in this hotel in June 2014. Initially we had booked another hotel, but decided to move to Hotel Matarese because of the better location. If you arrive at Casamocciola Porto in Ischia, then it's just a 10 minute walk uphill. It turned out that it was worth moving hotels not only because of the location. The hotel is run by a family and has a warm family atmosphere, just what you need while travelling with a child. They have their own herb garden, grow lemons and make their own jam. There is a nice garden in the hotel where one can relax with a book. The staff, including the hotel maid, are very friendly and helpful. The hotel also arranges for a discount for the Castiglione Thermal Park. The room was neat and tidy. I'll definitely recommend this
hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariannaGoller, Proprietario at Hotel Matarese, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Dear Anna,

thanks for your review!
We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us, let me invite you again in Ischia for your next holidays, it would be a pleasure to have you in our house again!
Best Regards,

Marianna Goller
Titolare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel has several APT for rent , immersed into the green , with an outstanding view of the Port of Casamicciola . We had great time picking grapes, figs , tomatoes, eggplant and basil for our lunch and dinner.
Marianna and her family runs the hotel few hundred meters down the stairs , they were incredibly helpful and affectionate. Perfect for a family or a group of friends.

Room Tip: Pick the last APT on the top of the stairs for peace and quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucione2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews