We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (713)
Filter reviews
713 results
Traveller rating
267
244
109
55
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
244
109
55
38
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 713 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Staff all very friendly, helpful, cheerful and professional. Rooms in the hotel block 5 mins walk from main building clean, warm, comfortable and quiet. Restaurant: too hot so dress lightly; fair choice of dishes midday and evening though not a wide choice for vegetarians. Menù for 31st EXCELLENT (although a complete fish menù except one dish) so you must like fish and mushrooms. Quality of food 5 star . Picnic bag supplied if you wish to stay out all day. Hotel organises a daily excursion for guests without transport. Pleasant walk both into Lacco Ameno and Casamicciola although hotel on hillside so be prepared for a slight climb. Hotel does provide transport into local village. Would definitely recommend this hotel for another dec 31st break. (330 guests sat down for dinner and each dish served hot and to perfection). Fantastic fireworks display from terrace and excellent view over the bay of other fireworks. Only "complaint": very little parking space which could be a problem in the summer season.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blaenhonddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

One of the most welcoming hotels I have ever been to. The staff was lovely and always helpful. They organised our transfers to and from the airport and all the excurtions. The portions at the restaurant were always very generous and there was always a good choice of meals. We could easily walk into town and to the beach. The children loved the swimming pools and there was always someone singing or dancing in the evening to keep us entertained. I especially loved talking to Pascale the barman who had an encyclopedic knowledge of drinks and cocktails. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Ilaria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmine79, Direttore at Hotel Terme Cristallo Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Dear Mrs Ilaria
Thank you for the nice review, it is nice to know that your stay at our hotel was to his liking .....
We hope to have you again as welcome guest as soon as possible !!!!
Greetings - Carmine Di Meglio, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2015

Just returned from a fantastic holiday on Ischia where we stayed at the Cristallo Palace. The hotel is located above the port of Casamicciola, with amazing views from the terraces, the sea on one side, the lush green hills on the other. We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the sea and a stone's throw from the thermal pools-three outdoors-with aqua aerobics three times a week-and an indoor pool and kniepp walkway for the brave! We had the best massages in the wellness centre, too. The meals were excellent-especially for dessert fans-and there's lots of entertainment available, especially for the older clientele! The staff were cheerful and helpful-we have no hesitation in recommending the hotel-though watch out for a bit of a climb to get up the hill, or just negotiate a fare price from the taxi drivers on the island!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank caro232015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2014

We stayed at the Cristallo Palace in the last week of October'14. The weather for that time of year was amazing and set the scene for our stay.
On booking we were placed in the annexe about 250m from the hotel. We were a little apprehensive but we needn't have been. The rooms were extremely spacious, with a patio and a shared garden with two others. There was even a washing line provided.
The rooms were clean and the linen was changed daily. There was a TV and fridge in the room.
The bed was large and comfortable and we slept well.
In the hotel basement spa we were provided with a locker, in a room just for the annex guests. This meant we didn't keep having to return to the room to change.
The location was excellent for visiting all parts of the island and the view from the hotel is spectacular.
We took our car and found no problem parking. There are even free parking spaces a few hundred meters from the annex further up the road. There is also a good cheap bus service.
If you take the ferry to Casamicciola Port you DO NOT need a taxi to reach the hotel. You will see the hotel straight ahead on the hillside. Cross the road and walk to the back of the square, following the road to the right up the hill and take the first right. This takes you passed Hotel Gran Paradiso to the Cristallo.
With four swimming pools (two thermal), roof sundeck, lounge, piano bar, and gym there is plenty to do at the hotel.
The food was excellent and plentiful with plenty of choice. The restaurant, like the rest of the hotel is run extremely efficiently and the staff go out of their way to meet all your needs.
The spa staff are professional and the treatments so..... relaxing. Remember to bring dressing gowns and swim caps otherwise you have to hire them.
All of the staff are friendly and helpful. Most of the guests are Italian. I'm English but speak Italian but many of the staff spoke good English.
We both said we have never had such a relaxing holiday, the only down side is you can't help but put on weight!!
Ischia is paradise in the Mediterranean, I'm already organising our next visit and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: We were in a standard room in the annexe which we found large and comfortable.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nomads792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights in December 2010 over New Year in room 28, with a sea view.

The guests were mainly Italian. The hotel is located above Cassamicciola with a stunning terrace overlooking the town and bay below. As the crow flies, it's only a few hundred metres away from the centre of the town and the dock.

The hotel has the ambience of being "functional", which is strange given that it's rated as a 4* hotel. There is little effort made to make it feel comfortable or luxurious. Staff were above average, but the feel was that the owners were stuck in the 1970s and were keen to maximise profits. I suspect that the star rating comes from the range of facilities available (even if they charge for these).

For example, the place has a spa fed from natural thermal springs, and bathrobes (aka dressing gowns in the UK) are available. However, you have to pay 15 euros to hire them - and they don't change them during your stay (presumably you have to pay for another one if you want a clean one). Similarly, if you want to use a towel in the spa, you have to pay for these by hiring them from the reception (10 euros, I think). If you want to use the internet, there is a single computer which you can hire for 5 euros/hour (if it's available).

Having said all of that, the other guests either brought their own robes/dressing gowns and towels or simply hired them. Perhaps that's normal in Italy.

There are 3 pools - at least 2 of them are thermal - one in the basement (a single small window about 1 metre by 50 cms), and one outside covered by a marquee in winter. I'm unlcear as to how much thermal water is fed into each of the pools - how often is the water changed? I hope it's reasonably frequently as we saw a couple having sex in the outdoor thermal pool on our first night. It was an isolated event.

There were lots of smokers at the hotel and clouds of smoke billowed into our room if we left our room door open in the evenings.

There was quite a lot of noise at the hotel, and we were kept awake by music (not just on New Year's eve). The entertainment was a DJ or piano player playing. In that room, the chairs were pushed back to allow dancing (although we only saw one couple dancing).

On the upside, the hotel was reasonably cheap. The staff were helpful (although English was only slightly less limited than my Italian). For example, Gennario the Maitre D' and Gennario the waiter were excellent and would answer questions promptly and helped whenever they could.

The entrance to the room was odd - you walked along semi permanent scaffolding from the bar area to the balcony. You opened up the balcony door and then walked into the room but crossed it to put in a key (the key needed to be inserted to turn electricity on in the room). The original entrance to the room had been sealed (plastered over), and the key was different to the key to the room (so you could leave the electricity key in permanently, even when you left the room). The scaffolding was not as bad as it sounds - it had some floor covering and an armrail which had been decorated.

Note that there is no wireless internet available (even for a fee) and nowhere to plug in an ethernet cable.

The TV was tuned in to about 4 Italian channels and BBC World (although the TV reception for BBC World was quite "snowy").

Food was surprisingly variable. Some food was tasty, cooked perfectly and beautifully balanced (eg the gnocchi and the risotto). Some was less good. Much less good.

Overall, an average experience. Advertised as a 4 star, providing a 3 star experience at a 3 star price although it has a wide range of facilities. Less than half of the price of the Isabella Regina in Lacco Ameno.

The remarkable feature of the hotel is a sublime terrace - absolutely wonderful. Perhaps worth staying a night or two.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews