We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accommodation and Service”
Review of Park Hotel Argento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hotel Argento
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation and Service”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My wife and I chose the Park Hotel Argento in Levanto as our accommodation in order to visit Cinque Terre. We were delighted with the Hotel, its staff and services. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the town centre, but we appreciated the quiteness associated with its location and its large free car park. Our room was large, comfortable and very clean and the staff spoke excellent English and were very knowledgeable about the area. The swimming pool was large and under utilised (apart from us it appeared!) and the Wellness Centre's variety of showers after a sauna and/or turkish bath were a pleasant experience. My wife felt slightly ill on our return after an exhausting day exploring Cinque Terre, but the hotel staff were very kind and considerate and helped speed her recovery. In particular, we would like to single out the lady receptionist, called Germana, who could not have been more helpful during our stay. Germana's English (for non-Italian speakers) was superb and she provided maps of the local area and excellent advice on the best restaurants in Levanto. Whilst not eating the dinner buffet in the Hotel's restaurant, the menu offerings looked excellent and we certainly enjoyed the extensive breakfast buffet. We will certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family who wish to visit Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobWhit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    85
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
114
250
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Vito Marina, Ita
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Huge rooms, brand new, comfort, comfort, comfort, clean, clean, clean. Balconies or terraces on all the rooms, gorgeous view of the surrounding countryside. Amazing staff, great breakfast, restaurant for dinner was good. Large pool with surrounding terrace for drinks, limited spa (but very nice and tranquil) Set in the hill behind the town of Levanto - it is a walk (uphill on the way back) into the main town and down to the beach. It is not far, but if you like you can oft for the shuttle service that the Hotel offers. I would stay there again and again. Loved it. One more thing, the mini-bar items are priced very well so you actually don't mind buying from it! A nice perk! Thank you Herve - we had a great stay!

Room Tip: Pretty sure there is not a bad room in the entire Hotel, but some may not look out seaward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyFlaminio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is a quality hotel - everything is spotless, the rooms are huge (mine had a lovely view), the staff are multi-lingual, extremely friendly and accommodating. They provide transport for arrival and departure between the station and the hotel. The pool is beautiful, making the most of the views - the hotel is perched high over Levanto. The walk between town and the hotel is 15 minutes uphill but it's enjoyable.

Booking here, I treated myself to a more expensive, 'flash' hotel for my visit to the Cinque Terre. However, despite all the positives, I didn't love it. It's sort of souless and sterile. As others have mentioned, the breakfast is extensive but average. Ask for a pot of tea, as the water in the machine is cloudy. One annoying negative is that there is no ironing room and they won't lend you an iron ("for safety reasons"). You have to pay to send your clothes out to be washed and/or ironed. No other hotel that I stayed at refused me an iron. Internet is plug-in only.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Nice place to stay for the Cinque Terre area, not exactly cheap but I consider it a good value.
Hotel really nice, rooms large and clean, breakfast good and pool plus wellness nice to relax
Not sure about going there for sea as such - all the time (6 days) lots of waves, nice for surfers not for kids enjoying the sea.
Relatively close to downtown Levanto and train station for Cinque Terre; free parking nice.
All rooms seem to have private or shared terrace, nice for evening; each floor has davantages (floor 1 is at the garage and connects to the outside and path around; floor 3 is on the level of the pool and welness, floor 4 is the reception and restaurant floor).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonzaCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This hotel is okay but it is definitely not the best that this area has to offer. The room had a bedroom, bathroom, and living room with two sofa beds. The breakfast had the most variety out of all our hotels, however the breakfast itself was the worst. Most of the food didn't feel fresh and was packaged and the majority of the drinks came out of a machine. The bright spot was the service, which was welcoming and helpful. The wellness center is nice if you have the time for it but there is definitely better things to do ( such as seeing the nearby towns). The view is great if your room has one, and the location isn't too bad, 10 minute walk outside Levanto. It is very touristy and it doesn't have a lot of charm or atmosphere. Don't come here if you are looking for a Italian atmosphere, it feels more American. For a two night stay, we paid 380 euros per night, making this a pretty bad value overall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KamenMoutafov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

There are ants all over the rooms and one night they all got into our luggage. And for no reason thee are no sweets there. There was nothing anyone could do so the hotel says. Definitely never coming back.

Room Tip: Full of bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jlede89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Since this is an independent property, I wasn't expecting elite service or to be treated like a VIP, but Hovre (one of the owners) made our stay like I was an elite, and this is definitely a property that I will stay at again.

Starting off with part-owner, Hovre, he speaks your language! If you speak English, Italian, French, German, or whatever, he'll work with you. He ensures that your stay is the best it can be, and can also suggest really good restaurants in Levanto, or the Cinque Terre towns.

Property: The property is conveniently located 8-10 minutes by walk from the train station. DO NOT try to attempt to get there walking if you are not familiar with where it is, or the little side streets to take. Part of the path is gravel, so rolling a suitcase is frowned upon. Instead, keep the hotel number handy and call them from the train station if arriving by train, they will send a shuttle to pick you up. The town is 15 minues by walk up and down a long stairway, make sure you are fit not only for this hotel, but for Cinque Terre as well. Wireless internet is available in the lobby for free, but those with IPads and tablets, you are SOL in the rooms. It's free wired internet only (During our stay, the internet malfunctioned the first night, Hovre took out his IPad and offered it to people in the lobby to access information). Breakfast buffet is included with your stay and cast! They even have organic and gluten free offerings! The pool is beautiful and the staff is friendly and quick to fill your needs.

Room: Though I prefer carpet lined rooms, the tile floor is really clean and can be a blessing on the hot summer days. I found an interesting fundtion. If you have the AC on and you open your patio door, the system will shut off. I found this system abundant in Europe (Sheraton Munich Arabellapark, and Westin Excelsior Florence). I read a complaint about this issue at the hotel, but that's how they do it in Europe. The in-room safe is the biggest I've ever seen, and the room was very large. I was concerned about this when I made a booking because I felt that maybe a suite would be better for 3, but Hovre talked me out of it over the telephone, and there are no regrets. The only issues that I had was bathroom amenity and shower size. I couldn't find any lotion, but that's a minor issue. The larger issue is the shower size. It's a rather small 2' x 3'. This could be a really smart way of having guests conserve water. You need to shut off the shower in order to lather up. Whether this was intentional or not, if you're an environmentalist, you'll appreciate it, if you're not, then you might not like it. Some may complain that they can't adjust the thermostat cooler. Talk to the front desk if they can accommodate your wishes.

Last but not least: Know the train schedule!!! If you decide to go to other towns late, there might be a long wait to get back to Levanto, and walking with dim light back to the hotel.

Pros:
- Staff is very attentive
- Hotel located in a quiet location
- Large rooms
- Free internet
- Free parking (This is a huge plus for those who drive into the Cinque Terre area)
- Free breakfast buffet
- Nice pool
- Spa available
- Clean
- Convenient to train station
- Free shuttle to station and city centre

Cons:
- Small shower
- Not in city centre (Some may find this a pro)
- Prixe fixe menu was not as good as I thought it might be.
- Only poly pillows available, no down or feather available

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hickson_Chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levanto
0.6 km away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#3 of 15 in Levanto
420 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#7 of 15 in Levanto
292 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#2 of 15 in Levanto
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Villa Margherita by the Sea
22.5 km away
Grand Hotel Portovenere
Grand Hotel Portovenere
#1 of 7 in Porto Venere
389 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#9 of 15 in Levanto
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Argento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Argento

Property: Park Hotel Argento
Address: Via Sant'Anna, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Argento 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver green of the Olive trees, the blue sky and the blue sea welcome you in this corner of Liguria to offer an unforgettable experience. Situated in a panoramic position, 800 mt from the center and few minutes walk from the train station. You will find 40 roomns and 7 Suite with access to terrace or balconies. The Wellness Center with Sauna, Turkish Bath, Emotional showers and relax served with several Massage or Treatments facial or body by the bio line " Naturys", it is also open for thos who are customers from the hotel. Our Chef Matteo Guastini willknow how to delight the palates of its guests with delicous local and international dishes carefully revised by him. Enjoy this paradise that is recognized Levanto "the Slowtown"... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Hotel Argento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing