We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite Hotel !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Levanto
Certificate of Excellence
Albany
1 review
“Our favourite Hotel !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

My husband and I just got back from a December trip to Italy and stayed at Hotel Villa Margherita in Levanto for the third time. Federico, the host, was as friendly as ever, had great restaurant recommendations and was very helpful. The location is fabulous but do note that the place is up a couple flights of stairs. Federico will help carry luggage if you need it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    111
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
103
240
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Quite possibly we were given the smallest room in the hotel, which obviously colored our experience. The bed took up almost the entire room, leaving us with no place to unpack our suitcases and making it hard to relax. While the distance between the hotel and the shopping/dining area is walkable, you take your life in your hands just trying to walk across the road next to the hotel's entrance. You can arrange to pay extra to garage your car, but it is a harrowing experience trying to get the car out of the garage -- in our case, three other cars had to be moved before we could leave -- and up the steep, narrow, curved driveway.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tahoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This hotel was recommended by Rick Steve’s and will therefore attract a lot of folks, so I wanted to be sure to warn folks and give it the thumbs down I believe it deserves. Let’s start with location, it is up the hill far from the old town and while I saw others said it's walking distance, I would not consider it such, especially at night, so the nice parking they offer isn’t very useful and parking in the city is hard to find. Secondly price wise, it’s more expensive than other just as nice places I saw in the Levanto area for no apparent reason other than being in Rick's book. Finally, the guy that runs the place was rude and gave us the feeling that we were an unwanted disturbance. Given his attitude we actually didn’t stay here, but I saw enough to warn other visitors. He showed us a room inside the house that was tiny, smelly, really claustrophobic and out of date and he was charging an outrageous price for it. The rooms overlooking the garden had big glass windows and seemed much nicer with, of course they are also more expensive. If I would stay anywhere in this hotel, it's only in those rooms, but they were not available when we were looking and I'm glad, we found a much better deal at a really nice place, closer to town, managed by a really nice mother and daughter (also in Rick's Steve's book).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AG_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed at Villa Margherita for 2 nights November 6 & 7 this year as part of a 3 1/2 week trip through Italy. It was a wonderful little hotel. It was a little confusing to find the first time walking from the train station, but we asked a local woman and she very kindly walked us all the way there! After that we found it easily. It is a small town and everything is in easy walking distance.

The room was very nice. It had everything we needed and the hosts were very kind and helpful. Since we are from Alaska, we aren't used to tropical climates and inadvetently caused an ant infestation by leaving a candy on the dresser. This was no fault of theirs and the maid got rid of the ants quickly. The breakfast was very good, with plenty for anyone.

We were there after tourist season ended and we seemed to be the only tourists in the whole town. We had been there for a couple hours and walking down the street heard people pass us talking and one said to the other "Alaska." Small town, like I said. LOL Most restaurants were closed for hte season so there were not many choices to eat, but we did fine. And it was a great place to visit the Cinque Terre from. The one day we were going and our train stopped at Monterosso to off load workers and volunteers. It was really horrible from the floods and mudslides. The entire first floor of buildings were completely buried. Our hearts go out to all the people there.

We would definitely stay at Villa Margherita again if we get back up that way, but we would choose to stay earlier in the year when more of the restauraants and services are open in teh town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Brilliant location, only 10 min walk from the station and easy to get to beach and town. Friendly and helpful hosts. Absolutely gorgeous villa - clean, comfortable and attractive as well. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one so don't know what the others were like!! The villa is located in a very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marvalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Neat, clean, reasonably priced, and having a great charm. At Villa Margherita by the sea, everything is new: from the fixtures to the interior decoration. Both the common room and guest rooms are impeccably maintained. I took my husband on a weekend trip to Cinque Terre in order to celebrate his birthday and made a lucky choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Federico's welcome, hospitality, and especially the breakfasts were superb. The apartment was delightful and full of character, and he was always ready to provide information and suggestions about where to visit in Cinque Terre. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Levanto hotels
0.4 km away
Oasi Hotel
Oasi Hotel
#2 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.5 km away
Park Hotel Argento
Park Hotel Argento
#1 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Carla
Hotel Carla
#3 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#8 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#7 of 15 in Levanto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
Hotel Al Terra di Mare
#9 of 15 in Levanto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Margherita by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Margherita by the Sea

Property: Villa Margherita by the Sea
Address: Via Trento E Trieste 31, 19015 Levanto, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Levanto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Levanto
#6 Family Hotel in Levanto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Margherita by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Villa Margherita by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Margherita By The Sea Hotel Levanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing