We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Margherita by the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Europa(Levanto)
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oasi Hotel(Levanto)
US$162
US$145
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$307
US$298
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$191
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garden(Levanto)
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dora(Levanto)
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Abetaia(Levanto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
339
123
26
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
123
26
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationcinque terresecure parkinggarden areasuperior roomthe main houseitaly triplovely gardentrain serviceeasy accessa great place to stayten minute walkfresh fruitexcellent breakfastpark the caritalian rivieratown centre
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 508 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Quite possibly we were given the smallest room in the hotel, which obviously colored our experience. The bed took up almost the entire room, leaving us with no place to unpack our suitcases and making it hard to relax. While the distance between the hotel and the shopping/dining area is walkable, you take your life in your hands just trying to walk across the road next to the hotel's entrance. You can arrange to pay extra to garage your car, but it is a harrowing experience trying to get the car out of the garage -- in our case, three other cars had to be moved before we could leave -- and up the steep, narrow, curved driveway.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tahoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This hotel was recommended by Rick Steve’s and will therefore attract a lot of folks, so I wanted to be sure to warn folks and give it the thumbs down I believe it deserves. Let’s start with location, it is up the hill far from the old town and while I saw others said it's walking distance, I would not consider it such, especially at night, so the nice parking they offer isn’t very useful and parking in the city is hard to find. Secondly price wise, it’s more expensive than other just as nice places I saw in the Levanto area for no apparent reason other than being in Rick's book. Finally, the guy that runs the place was rude and gave us the feeling that we were an unwanted disturbance. Given his attitude we actually didn’t stay here, but I saw enough to warn other visitors. He showed us a room inside the house that was tiny, smelly, really claustrophobic and out of date and he was charging an outrageous price for it. The rooms overlooking the garden had big glass windows and seemed much nicer with, of course they are also more expensive. If I would stay anywhere in this hotel, it's only in those rooms, but they were not available when we were looking and I'm glad, we found a much better deal at a really nice place, closer to town, managed by a really nice mother and daughter (also in Rick's Steve's book).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank AG_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed at Villa Margherita for 2 nights November 6 & 7 this year as part of a 3 1/2 week trip through Italy. It was a wonderful little hotel. It was a little confusing to find the first time walking from the train station, but we asked a local woman and she very kindly walked us all the way there! After that we found it easily. It is a small town and everything is in easy walking distance.

The room was very nice. It had everything we needed and the hosts were very kind and helpful. Since we are from Alaska, we aren't used to tropical climates and inadvetently caused an ant infestation by leaving a candy on the dresser. This was no fault of theirs and the maid got rid of the ants quickly. The breakfast was very good, with plenty for anyone.

We were there after tourist season ended and we seemed to be the only tourists in the whole town. We had been there for a couple hours and walking down the street heard people pass us talking and one said to the other "Alaska." Small town, like I said. LOL Most restaurants were closed for hte season so there were not many choices to eat, but we did fine. And it was a great place to visit the Cinque Terre from. The one day we were going and our train stopped at Monterosso to off load workers and volunteers. It was really horrible from the floods and mudslides. The entire first floor of buildings were completely buried. Our hearts go out to all the people there.

We would definitely stay at Villa Margherita again if we get back up that way, but we would choose to stay earlier in the year when more of the restauraants and services are open in teh town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Brilliant location, only 10 min walk from the station and easy to get to beach and town. Friendly and helpful hosts. Absolutely gorgeous villa - clean, comfortable and attractive as well. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one so don't know what the others were like!! The villa is located in a very quiet place so noise is not a problem.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marvalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Neat, clean, reasonably priced, and having a great charm. At Villa Margherita by the sea, everything is new: from the fixtures to the interior decoration. Both the common room and guest rooms are impeccably maintained. I took my husband on a weekend trip to Cinque Terre in order to celebrate his birthday and made a lucky choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews