We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury and class in lovely Alberobello”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of IL Gelso

IL Gelso
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
IL Gelso
Suite over looking the pool and patio Sitting room over looking the pool and patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
IL Gelso
Suite over looking the pool and patio
Sitting room over looking the pool and patio
IL Gelso
Perfect place for a sun downer
Double bedroom with dressing room
Twin room with dressing room
Ready to start cooking
Lazy days
Trullo dining room
Time for a swim
Some where cool to sit
Trullo kitchen
Sun down
Trullo kitchen
Jack and Jill bathroom
Sitting room
Suite
Dining room
Dining Al Fresco
Double bedroom
Suite
Just olive trees
Parking area
IL Gelso
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Trullo -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alberobello, Province of Bari, Puglia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Gabywiz
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Luxury and class in lovely Alberobello”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had to meet the owner, Anita, in the nearby town of Alberobello, calling beforehand, & followed her to the trulli. A rather odd arrangement, when we could have met at the property. Still, the trulli was clean and comfortable, and the mild weather meant we were lucky enough to use the excellent pool in the early part of the stay, but the unheated water was bracing to say the least! Well equipped, but beds we all felt were a bit too firm for our taste, pillows inadequate & (uncovered) duvet too light for mid-October, when the evenings got decidedly chilly. The trulli has underfloor heating, but to use it incurs a charge (which I was warned by text during our stay), not something I had noticed on booking, but I strongly feel this could and should be included for the comfort of guests at the start and end of season, considering the price paid for what is classified as a 'luxury' trulli. A selection of interesting animals we discovered in the bedrooms - a few centipedes and a tiny but perfectly formed scorpion - not harmful I'm sure but some might be alarmed! Very convenient for the whole trulli area - Alberobello of course, which was Trulli central, nice shops, restaurants and bars; Lecce was 1.5 hours away, a little disappointing after a long drive, Monopoli (closest town) was similar, not much there, but Bari was better. Better information on where the nearest supermarkets are in Alberobello would be appreciated, and only found after looking up online! It must be remembered though that apart from the Trulli, this side of Italy is a very rural area and not much to see and do, so we took the decision to travel over to Pompeii and the Amalfi coast when the weather turned stormy. Would be better in warmer weather to enjoy the pool to the fullest, but there again, there would be many more tourists in Alberobello. You pays your money and takes your choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well furnished, lovely pool, quiet area
Liked least: Having to constantly set the alarm on leaving (required), the low ceiling in parts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate guests taking the time to comment on their stay.We have made every effort to make sure of our guests comfort.
The trullo has king size beds with bedding appropriate to the time of year. In the cooler months we add a duvet along with the top sheet and the quilted bedspread. There are also throws in all the rooms if required.Pillows, there are four to each K/S and two to all single beds. They are foam and are laundered regularly throughout the season.
Heating is available in the cooler months and there is a charge, which is outlined in the section Property Details - Further Details I am very sorry if this was not noticed.On this occasion there was no charge for the heating.
Puglia is a mainly agricultural area, growing most of the fruit and veg in Italy. With a diverse coast line including a nature reserve. Just a small snapshot of things to see and do
Matera- A town of caves. Mel Gibson filmed 'The Passion' here
Lecce- Famous for the amount of churches and divers architecture
Grottaglia- One of the three largest ceramics producers in Italy
Monopoly-A sea port , there is a castle at the entrance to the port and lovely walks through the old town.
Locorotondo- The closest town outside Alberobello famous for its white wine
Most towns have a Centro Storico (old town)
There is a book in the trullo with information about places of interest along with information about the house and pool safety.Also included are restaurants bars and shops.
All the guests have my contact number which I encourage them to use if they require information or any help.
Guests on departure have commented on how relaxed they are and batteries recharged.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I just can't say enough good about Il Gelso. The owner, Anita, has thought of every detail. You will not be disapointed. It is beautifully decorated and immaculately kept. Even though it has been a rental for some time, it is in like new condition. It is a spacious five cone trullo, with a new addition connecting the historic trullo to the original barn, which has been renovated to house the master suite. The two bedrooms in the trullo cones (with thier own bath) are separated from the master suite by the living room and dining room. It works well for a family or two couples. The kitchen is well equiped, and the garden has fresh rosemary and sage growing in it. The garden and pool are beautiful and surrounded by olive groves. The location is great, just outside the city of Alberobello. We will be back for certain!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, Comfortable, Beautiful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gyoshev
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing villa!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved our stay in the villa! The whole place is very well thought out, and Anita (the host) was very friendly. I personally loved the lavender bushes around the house. The villa is located a short drive from Alberobello, and there is a lot of stuff to do in the region.
We hope to return one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandralou...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best villa we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

When I saw the photographs I thought it couldn't possibly be as nice in reality, but the reality is even better! Beautifully restored trullo in great location just outside Alberobello. All the arrangements went without a hitch, Anita and Pino were fantastically kind and welcoming and there was literally nothing that we needed during the week that wasn't in the trullo. The kind of place that you see in a glossy magazine and dream about staying in.
The most amazing part is the pool. Impossible to drag yourself away, even though there are lovely places to visit in the area. We found the best plan was to stay around the pool until about 4.00 pm, then go out to one of the local villages for the 5.00 pm passagiato, when everyone is out and about and all the cafes and shops are open again. Matera and Cisternino were our favourites, but the whole area is beautiful.
This is money well spent - you will not find a better villa anywhere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy R
Banchory
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even better than we had hoped”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Having been recommended Puglia by a friend who is steeped in Italy and its beauties we spent a long time researching where to go. We could not have been more pleased with our choice of Il Gelso. Anita and Pino were perfect hosts, booking was very straightforward and information and instructions were clear and precise.The Trullo is perfect in every aspect and cannot be faulted. The bedrooms were comfortable, the living areas very pleasant, the kitchen very well equipped and well laid out and, of course, the outside area and pool were fantastic.
Sadly, were only there for a week but we spent a lot of time by the pool and
we also visited Matera, Ostuni, Monopoli, all of which were beautiful towns with whitewashed buildings and narrow streets.
The last day of our stay was my wife's 70th birthday and Pino cooked and served us a wonderful meal and even made a very tasty birthday cake.
We cannot thank Anita and Pino enough for all their kindness and help and for the care and love they have lavished on Il Gelso to make it such a special place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everythinv
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara D
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Luxurious country retreat”
Reviewed October 17, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Il Gelso at the end of Septmber and had a really wonderful time. The house more than surpassed our expectations and genuinely looks as good as the photos on the rental website.

My sister and I had been looking for a place in Puglia to holiday with our respective partners and spent a long time trawling the net for a place that would provide two decent-sized double bedroooms with their own bathrooms - so we could each have some privacy and not argue too much over who got the best room! We also wanted a decent size communal living space for if the weather was bad and a properly equipped kitchen. We got all of this and more.

After researching several properties in this area and after a bit of lively negotiation, we decided to stretch our budget to go for this place and all agreed it was an excellent decision and worth every extra penny. Even my doubts about renting a place with a pool at the end of September were allayed by the hot weather - it was admittedly a little bracing in the water, but once you got going we thawed a little...

The property location - about 3 km's outside of Alberobello was perfect - out in the countryside and away from the main roads and the tourist but with quick and easy access to the town for shopping or ice cream or sightseeing! The villa was immaculately presented and furnished to a very high standard - I was initailly a little daunted by the perfection of it all and worried about putting my wine glass down and craeting a ring or marking the pristine white sofas, but soon relaxed into the experience of living like a feature in 'House and Garden' magazine and made the most of the luxury.

As the weather was so good, we spent most of our time outside and the exterior living area is just as highly thought out and comfortable as the inside. We had both an undercover seating area and a shaded dining area with its own gazebo and barbecue as well as a hammock and luxury pool loungers. The garden was shaded with olive trees and not overlooked at all - mostly surrounded by fields, with a distant view of Alberobello from the roof. The nearest other property was a good distance away and on the other side of the road so no noisy neighbours. The house is quite close to the road and there is a bit of traffic going past, but nothing too disturbing and not visible or audible from the back of the house where you spend all your time.

My sister dealt with the booking and this all went smoothly. We rang the owner Anita when we first arived in Alberobello and she came and met us in town and drove with us to the villa to let us in and show us around. We met her again when we left and she was very friendly and helpful both occasions.

The house has electronic entrance gates, a burglar alarm and security grilles on the doors, which we had to close up each time we left the house - a little onerous at first, but better than having to hide all our valuables or take them with us. There was wifi which was a little temperamental and a TV we never got around to turning on but I believe had satellite.

The surrounding area is fascinating and completely unknown to us, so we did get around quite a bit visiting other towns - including Martina Franca, Cisternino, Ostuni, Lecce, Polignano sul Mare and Matera. Alberobello was also celebrating its' Saints Days while we were there and it was great to be part of these week-long celebrations.

Altogether this was the perfect holiday home and it was quite a wrench to leave at the end of the week and head back to reality. There is still a lot more to see in the area and I would also love to go back and just spend more time relaxng in and around the house and pool. Saving up for the next trip already!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wabma
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a week at the Trulli El Gelso.and were very sad to leave I wish we had booked it for longer. The Trulli is beautiful. It is very comfortable, clean, and the photos don't do it justice! The owners have furnished it to a very high standard with a great eye for detail and design. There is everything you need and more The exterior matches the interior for beauty. The garden is wonderful mix of olive trees, fruit trees, fragrant lavender and other plants. The pool is fantastic! It is satiated amongst olive groves and is an easy drive to Alberobello which has a great weekly market, fruit/veg shop, butchers shop, a cheese shop, small and larger supermarkets, wine shops and a selection of very nice restaurants etc etc etc! A great base to explore this wonderful region of Italy. A PERFECT 10/10!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool, the Trulli furnishings, the level of cleanliness, the location, EVERYTHING
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing