We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
67
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exceeded our expectations each morning leonardo villa tuscany vineyards views furnishings
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 73 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at Villa il Castellaccio in May of 2010 and loved it so much that we booked it again for May 2011. We have stayed in both #3 and #4 and both were great. Leonardo and Roxana are such wonderful hosts. If you are going to Florence, please ask Leonardo to help plan your trip, he can tell you all the places to go. Roxana can tell you all the scenic drives and places to eat. This is a great central location to explore all of Tuscany. Because of the winding roads, no travel is quick. However, everywhere we went was less than an hour and a half away, plenty of time to get to the city (or two), explore and be back in time for a home cooked meal at the apartment or dinner at Locando Borgo Antico or one of the restaurants in Greve. Do yourself a favor and take the tour of the musuem downstairs with Leonardo. He gives you a fabulous insight into the property, the surrounding area and the culture. Also, both times we have been there, we have sat out on the wall overlooking the vineyards and seen a mother deer and her fawn. Last time we saw the wild boar and the cuckoo bird. Just a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Villa il Castellaccio was one of the highest of the highlights of our spectacular Tuscan vacation. This place is nearly perfect in every way. We chose #2, and found that it suited us in every way. The weather had turned a bit chilly, but we found that we could maintain adequate heat with just the fire. It was a real treat to spend a week hauling up the wood and keeping a fire going.

Leonardo's recommendation of the little store/restaurant in Dudda was outstanding. That place and its people became part of our family for a week.

Our only quibble is that the shower enclosures on our unit have to be the smallest in existence.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed in the Castellacio 1 for a week in mid-October. Prior to our arrival, the owner and his assistant (Leonardo and Roxanna) were very responsive to information we requested. We arrived later than the check-in time but they were happy to wait for us. The place was very clean, exactly as the property description in the website and in the pictures and pretty much offered a peaceful respite overlooking the lovely vineyard and olive plantation. We loved the pool and the barbecue area. We were also able to use the fireplace and wood was readily available. Our kitchen was well equipped with all the necessary kitchen utensils. The villa is about 15-20 minutes away from the grocery and gas station. It is also very centrally located since we drove around to small towns and for wine tasting in the Chianti area, Sienna, Montalcino and also had our touristy itineraries going to Pisa, Lucolena and Firenze (by train). Roxanna provided us with maps, suggestions of nice places to see, how to get around different places and also places to eat which are 10 minutes away from the villa. I would highly recommend Casa de Popolo in Lucolena which was also recommended by Leonardo. He was also kind to call and make reservations for our dinner in the nearby restaurants. We also loved the touch of having your own mini wine bar in the villa (at very reasonable prices) plus the welcome wine gift. We also ended up buying wines produced by Castellaccio because they are really good.

For the very reasonable price that we paid for our stay in this charming villa and the warm welcome from Leonardo and Roxanna, we definitely would go to Tuscany and stay again in this villa.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Northstar0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Villa il Castellaccio is perfectly located in central Tuscany. This made it convenient for day trips to places like Sienna, San Gimignano, Montevarchi, Greve and Florence. The Villa is only a short drive to the station in Figline where you can catch the train to Florence.
Roxana and Leonardo were fantastic, friendly hosts and always willing to help.
If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing, clean and friendly place to stay, I would definately recommend Villa il Castellaccio.
Thank you Leonardo and Roxana for making our stay that much more memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWJBLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This Villa is superbly located between Firenza and Siena and provides a great home base to explore the Chianti region. Leonardo and Roxanne are exceptional hosts and the accommodations are first rate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clint H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews