We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussies Abroad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greve in Chianti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa il Castellaccio
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We travelled by car from Rome to Villa Il Castellaccio. We had a group of 5 x couples. The villa exceeded all our expectations. The bedrooms were large and comfortable. The bathrooms were modern and clean. The kitchen and meals area seated us all with room to spare. Photos don't do this place justice. It was the highlight of our Italy "road trip". The villa is ideally located, close to all the small villages in Chianti area. We had a chef come and cook us a meal, and what a fantastic experience. Try the restaurant at Lucolena, just down the road, worth the trip. My only complaint is now that I have praised the villa, it might not be available for me to re-book. Try it, you won't regret your stay.

Room Tip: Ideal for large groups of friends or a large family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

Our group of 8 enjoyed the utmost in hospitality and beautiful surroundings at Villa il Castellaccio! Our proprietor, Leonardo took our holiday very seriously and made certain that we had everything we needed and access to all services including a wine tasting on the property, a private tour of Tuscany with a wonderful tour guide for our group of 8, and a private chef to cook us a wonderful dinner! An authentic Tuscan experience, making us want to come back for the harvest in the Fall! Great value especially for a large group such as ours!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaBlume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed on property in June 2011 and loved everything about our stay. The accomodations were exactly what we expected; comfortable, fully equipped and unique to the location. The setting was pituresque--olive groves and vineyards everywhere. The owners were very kind and helpful. This stop on our Italian vacation was our favorite, we stayed 7 nights. We arrived by car from Rome and took daytrips to neighboring villages. It was a fabulaous vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

we just came back from 7 wonderful days at the villa in villa il castellaccio. we were a family of 8 and the villa was perfect for us, it was HUGE, each couple had it's privacy and also a lot of places to hang together. you don't feel that they have other smaller rooms there and that was a real plus for us.
the villa is in the middle of no-where, and you need to drive to the nearest store but that's what we loved about it, the view from each room is irresistible and the kitchen and dining room has a fire place we used every evening (obviously there was wood all the time for our use)!
Leonardo is the most wonderful person there!!! he is so nice, he gave us excellent tips regarding the area and some of our best day trips were thanks to his advice. he was available for every concern we had 24/7 (and we didn't have much problems) but it's helpful to have someone so nice (who speaks excellent english - not so common in italy) for the entire trip!
the villa is located in an amazing area, every day we drove to a different direction and wherever you go you have a great time!
the villa has a private pool, and they have a seperate kitchen for make oven-pizza with fire - we made pizzas one night and it was amazing!!
We are planniong to go back next year, and this time in the summer in order to enjoy the pool!
if you are looking for a perfect place in Chianti - this is it! and make sure to take their advice on travelling tips in the area, they know best!!
Thank you so much for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: take the villa, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed at Villa il Castellaccio in May of 2010 and loved it so much that we booked it again for May 2011. We have stayed in both #3 and #4 and both were great. Leonardo and Roxana are such wonderful hosts. If you are going to Florence, please ask Leonardo to help plan your trip, he can tell you all the places to go. Roxana can tell you all the scenic drives and places to eat. This is a great central location to explore all of Tuscany. Because of the winding roads, no travel is quick. However, everywhere we went was less than an hour and a half away, plenty of time to get to the city (or two), explore and be back in time for a home cooked meal at the apartment or dinner at Locando Borgo Antico or one of the restaurants in Greve. Do yourself a favor and take the tour of the musuem downstairs with Leonardo. He gives you a fabulous insight into the property, the surrounding area and the culture. Also, both times we have been there, we have sat out on the wall overlooking the vineyards and seen a mother deer and her fawn. Last time we saw the wild boar and the cuckoo bird. Just a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Villa il Castellaccio was one of the highest of the highlights of our spectacular Tuscan vacation. This place is nearly perfect in every way. We chose #2, and found that it suited us in every way. The weather had turned a bit chilly, but we found that we could maintain adequate heat with just the fire. It was a real treat to spend a week hauling up the wood and keeping a fire going.

Leonardo's recommendation of the little store/restaurant in Dudda was outstanding. That place and its people became part of our family for a week.

Our only quibble is that the shower enclosures on our unit have to be the smallest in existence.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeenThereDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed in the Castellacio 1 for a week in mid-October. Prior to our arrival, the owner and his assistant (Leonardo and Roxanna) were very responsive to information we requested. We arrived later than the check-in time but they were happy to wait for us. The place was very clean, exactly as the property description in the website and in the pictures and pretty much offered a peaceful respite overlooking the lovely vineyard and olive plantation. We loved the pool and the barbecue area. We were also able to use the fireplace and wood was readily available. Our kitchen was well equipped with all the necessary kitchen utensils. The villa is about 15-20 minutes away from the grocery and gas station. It is also very centrally located since we drove around to small towns and for wine tasting in the Chianti area, Sienna, Montalcino and also had our touristy itineraries going to Pisa, Lucolena and Firenze (by train). Roxanna provided us with maps, suggestions of nice places to see, how to get around different places and also places to eat which are 10 minutes away from the villa. I would highly recommend Casa de Popolo in Lucolena which was also recommended by Leonardo. He was also kind to call and make reservations for our dinner in the nearby restaurants. We also loved the touch of having your own mini wine bar in the villa (at very reasonable prices) plus the welcome wine gift. We also ended up buying wines produced by Castellaccio because they are really good.

For the very reasonable price that we paid for our stay in this charming villa and the warm welcome from Leonardo and Roxanna, we definitely would go to Tuscany and stay again in this villa.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Northstar0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greve in Chianti
32.3 km away
Villa il Borghetto
Villa il Borghetto
#3 of 93 in Siena
150 reviews
24.7 km away
Villa Il Mosaico
Villa Il Mosaico
#33 of 333 in Florence
223 reviews
31.9 km away
Villa Il Paradisino
Villa Il Paradisino
#1 of 5 in Sesto Fiorentino
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
588 reviews
8.5 km away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
504 reviews
4.1 km away
Rifugium
Rifugium
#1 of 1 in Casole
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Castellaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Castellaccio

Address: Lucolena di sotto | Lucolena, 50020, Greve in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Greve in Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Greve in Chianti
Price Range: $53 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panoramic location in the heart of Chianti at Lucolena near Greve, surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, Villa il Castellaccio makes an ideal homebase for relaxing in the quiet of nature but also being near to famous Tuscan cities: Florence, Siena, SanGimignano, Arezzo it’s great for day trips ,exploring medieval villages along the way. The Structure has a Villa with a private garden and pool and 4 apartments sharing another terrace and pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing