We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Sangiovese(Panzano in Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Rosa di Boscorotondo(Panzano in Chianti)
US$103
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Le Barone(Panzano in Chianti)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montechiari in Chianti(Greve in Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casprini Da Omero(Greve in Chianti)
US$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Corte di Valle(Greve in Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$161
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Podere Felceto(Panzano in Chianti)
US$125
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B La Piazzetta(Panzano in Chianti)(Great Value!)
US$71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lionforti da Vico(Greve in Chianti)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
62
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexceeded our expectationseach morningleonardovillatuscanyvineyardsviewsfurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 68 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our group of 8 enjoyed the utmost in hospitality and beautiful surroundings at Villa il Castellaccio! Our proprietor, Leonardo took our holiday very seriously and made certain that we had everything we needed and access to all services including a wine tasting on the property, a private tour of Tuscany with a wonderful tour guide for our group of 8, and a private chef to cook us a wonderful dinner! An authentic Tuscan experience, making us want to come back for the harvest in the Fall! Great value especially for a large group such as ours!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeaBlume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We stayed on property in June 2011 and loved everything about our stay. The accomodations were exactly what we expected; comfortable, fully equipped and unique to the location. The setting was pituresque--olive groves and vineyards everywhere. The owners were very kind and helpful. This stop on our Italian vacation was our favorite, we stayed 7 nights. We arrived by car from Rome and took daytrips to neighboring villages. It was a fabulaous vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2012

we just came back from 7 wonderful days at the villa in villa il castellaccio. we were a family of 8 and the villa was perfect for us, it was HUGE, each couple had it's privacy and also a lot of places to hang together. you don't feel that they have other smaller rooms there and that was a real plus for us.
the villa is in the middle of no-where, and you need to drive to the nearest store but that's what we loved about it, the view from each room is irresistible and the kitchen and dining room has a fire place we used every evening (obviously there was wood all the time for our use)!
Leonardo is the most wonderful person there!!! he is so nice, he gave us excellent tips regarding the area and some of our best day trips were thanks to his advice. he was available for every concern we had 24/7 (and we didn't have much problems) but it's helpful to have someone so nice (who speaks excellent english - not so common in italy) for the entire trip!
the villa is located in an amazing area, every day we drove to a different direction and wherever you go you have a great time!
the villa has a private pool, and they have a seperate kitchen for make oven-pizza with fire - we made pizzas one night and it was amazing!!
We are planniong to go back next year, and this time in the summer in order to enjoy the pool!
if you are looking for a perfect place in Chianti - this is it! and make sure to take their advice on travelling tips in the area, they know best!!
Thank you so much for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: take the villa, it's worth it!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adina85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at Villa il Castellaccio in May of 2010 and loved it so much that we booked it again for May 2011. We have stayed in both #3 and #4 and both were great. Leonardo and Roxana are such wonderful hosts. If you are going to Florence, please ask Leonardo to help plan your trip, he can tell you all the places to go. Roxana can tell you all the scenic drives and places to eat. This is a great central location to explore all of Tuscany. Because of the winding roads, no travel is quick. However, everywhere we went was less than an hour and a half away, plenty of time to get to the city (or two), explore and be back in time for a home cooked meal at the apartment or dinner at Locando Borgo Antico or one of the restaurants in Greve. Do yourself a favor and take the tour of the musuem downstairs with Leonardo. He gives you a fabulous insight into the property, the surrounding area and the culture. Also, both times we have been there, we have sat out on the wall overlooking the vineyards and seen a mother deer and her fawn. Last time we saw the wild boar and the cuckoo bird. Just a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Villa il Castellaccio was one of the highest of the highlights of our spectacular Tuscan vacation. This place is nearly perfect in every way. We chose #2, and found that it suited us in every way. The weather had turned a bit chilly, but we found that we could maintain adequate heat with just the fire. It was a real treat to spend a week hauling up the wood and keeping a fire going.

Leonardo's recommendation of the little store/restaurant in Dudda was outstanding. That place and its people became part of our family for a week.

Our only quibble is that the shower enclosures on our unit have to be the smallest in existence.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews