We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$72
View deal
Hotels.com
US$68
View deal
FindHotel
US$102
US$59
View deal
SAVE US$43
PricelineUS$72
Expedia.comUS$68
travelup.comUS$102
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,315)
Filter reviews
2,315 results
Traveller rating
1,201
834
193
52
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,201
834
193
52
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view bus station crazy golf lovely hotel three star mini fridge breakfast and dinner star hotel buffet style plenty of choice small pool per day lovely beach short break half board superior room bed and breakfast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 2,315 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2020

This was our second visit to Dom Jose, and during a difficult time with current COVID restrictions. The staff were marvellous in difficult circumstances and do their very best to take the safety measures seriously but not interfere too much with your enjoyment of the hotel and facilities. We saw the cleaners daily taking great care to ensure everything was cleaned in the communal areas. The rooms and bathroom facilities are modern and clean, with tea /coffee facilities and a mini fridge. It's worth paying extra for a sea view as the hotel is right on the promenade overlooking the beach & the sea. The bar / terrace is a great spot for watching sunsets, especially as its happy hour from 5pm - 6pm. No complaints regarding the food. Breakfast is plated up by staff and masks are mandatory in the dining area. There is plenty of choice and although not always piping hot, there is a microwave available. Outside terrace for breakfast is a nice treat. Evening meals were from a menu with choices of a couple of meats, fish and a vegi option. We were very impressed with the quality of the food. The hotel swimming pool is a good size and sun loungers get some decent sun even when lower in the sky during winter. Loads of bars and restaurants in walking distance, although many currently closed due to pandemic. Vilamoura is a half hour walk along the promenade and going the other direction takes you past a couple of lovely beach bars and on to Vale Do Lobo. The beach is vast here, such a great location. Thanks again to the staff, a credit to the hotel.

Room tip: Higher floors are quieter, great sunsets on the sea view rooms
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom José Beach Hotel, Diretor-Geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2020

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing Dom Jose Hotel for your holidays
It was our pleasure to read your positive review, especially during this difficult times.
On behalf of the Dom Jose team, thank you ever so much for having shared this lovely review following your recent stay with us. We are absolutely delighted to see that our team was able to provide you a pleasant stay
IWe hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Joao Soares- Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2020

Several French guests being arrogantly "forgetful" about wearing masks when collecting their food and drink from inside the breakfast room. It seemed to offer them a sense of amusement. Staff did not seem willing to challenge this selfish behaviour. On another occasion we decided to eat dinner on the outside terrace - better for avoiding covid - and then watched two other female guests arrive, choosing the table next to ours even though every other table (about 12 or 15) was available. Not strictly the hotel's fault - that's just the way most tourists seem to be during covid. Nice to sit on the cocktail terrace during the evening, where the bar staff were very good.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nico H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom José Beach Hotel, Diretor-Geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2020

Dear Guest
Thank you for visiting us
We understand that you were not happy with the situation you descibre
For us, the safety of our customers is very important, we comply with all the recommendations of the health entities and have implemented in the Hotel all the necessary rules to combat Covid19.
The use of masks is mandatory. We pass this information on to all our customers, however there are some customers who try to "escape" this requirement.
Fortunately, most customers have this awareness
You certainly have enjoyed your stay and the service provided by the Hotel
We do hope you will stay with us again
João Soares- Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2020

We live in Portugal but decided to take a staycation at this hotel for a couple of nights because of COVID restrictions. We had a wonderful break. This hotel is 58 years old, but has had a lovely upgrade in keeping with its era. It is maintained well and was spotlessly clean. We upgraded to a sea view room and were glad as the view was spectacular from the third floor. As other reviewers point out, the room could have been a little bigger, but what we had was very well thought out, with a shower of decent size, tea and coffee making facilities, so often lacking in continental hotels and a mini fridge. The beds were very comfortable as the pillows and the room were spotless. I am not sure why previous reviewers were upset about breakfast, because it was delicious. We had scrambled egg, to atoes, mushrooms, bacon etc, the full monty and this was included in the room price. Coffee was good, provided by a machine which ground the beans. But the best thing was the staff. The receptionist greeted is professionally and I was amazed to hear she had worked in the hotel for over thirty years! She always had a smile and a Bom Dia for us. The breakfast waiter was lively, as was the chef. The young lady on the bar was friendly and professional and the cleaning staff are doing a brilliant job. None of this is easy for staff in a pandemic and we thought they were wonderful. We went to two very local restaurants, one a tapas bar and the other a Brazilian rodizio. It was lovely to return to gaze out at the moon twinkling in the water as the night fishing boats could be seen in the distance. A walk to Vilamoura was enjoyable and promenading on the wonderful esplanade by the sea in the morning. Thankyou Dom José, you should be proud of your establishment and your staff. Força and let’s hope you can come back stronger after the pandemic. My only request was please don’t play Adele at breakfast. a little bit of Amália or Mariza would be so much nicer!

Room tip: i would choose a room at the front in the winter and the back in the summer, because of the heat issue.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Verinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom José Beach Hotel, Diretor-Geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2020

Dear Guest
First of all, we want to thank you for choosing Dom José Hotel for your holidays

We are delighted to read that our staff contributed so highly to the enjoyment of your stay, your comments have been shared amongst everyone here and it provides the team with a real sense of motivation to read such positive feedback.
It gives us great pleasure reading your positive comments about the good variety of items we offer for breakfast
We take note of your suggestion for our play music list and certainly we will include our Divas of Fado
Was our pleasure to have taken care of you, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
João Soares- Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2020 via mobile

As always all the staff at the Hotel were so welcoming, extremely attentive, friendly and helpful. It is good to return and see the same staff members.
The Hotel was spotless which made us feel very safe during this COVID-19 virus and we thought they handled the restrictions really well.
Our rooms were great as usual.
We stayed for 4 weeks and really enjoyed our holiday we have already booked for next year.
Thank you again for a fantastic holiday.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank G2510GRelainecawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom José Beach Hotel, Diretor-Geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2020

Dear Guest
We are delighted you underlined our service and our friendly staff. Our team strives daily to provide all our guests with the best customer service and your compliments are the best reward for all the passion we put in our work.
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again ins near future
Joao Soares- Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2020

just back from 5 nights in a very spacious room 33sq feet with a good balcony to watch the sunsets. Shower was awesome in a vast bathroom. Reception staff very helpful and even offered us a luggage room and a shower room to get changed for our evening flight.A special shout shout to Stavana(think thats how you spell it) she was exceptional each evening on our return from the beach for a quick happy hour drink. She was very polite and professional in her service. The breakfast I didnt really have except for toast, fruit and pancakes, however there was the usual cooked choice of bacon, eggs beans potatoes mushrooms and tomatoes all served by very cheery ladies.
All in all a good 3* hotel which could very easily be a 4 with free sunbeds as resort hotels do.
I would stay again and also recomend to others.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom José Beach Hotel, Diretor-Geral at Dom Jose Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2020

Dear Guest
Thank you for your visit, for sharing your experience and kind comments especially about our team.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Jooa Soares-Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews