We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't please all the people all the time!”
Review of Hotel Zodiaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Zodiaco
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed at this lovely hotel from the 13th- 20th. September. Arrived past midnight and barman/breakfast/dinner worker, Leandro was only too pleased to serve us 2 very welcome cold pints!
Food was more than adequate, never had one bad meal, staff were so eager to please and even asked us personally if there was anything we didn't like they would rectify it. Pool area was very clean, always enough sun beds and no need to get up early to lay towels down! Drinks were on the expensive side but we found a nice 'local' a few minutes walk, turning left outside the hotel, called the Kactus. It sold wine at 1 euro a glass and beer came in 3 different sizes, small started at 1 euro.
We were in room 007 on the ground floor which had been given the most beautiful new bathroom, tiled in the unlikely colours of green & brown but it worked, and the workmanship was fantastic, looked brand new. Not much of a view though, just open land, but a beautiful bouganvillea growing up the wall outside our window. Noise was no problem. TV only had 4 Portuguese channels but we soon put this right...if you get room 007, you'll get a good selection of English channels - we've retuned the tele!. Had a fantastic holiday,this was a cheap get-a-way so we didn't expect much but was well satisfied.

Room Tip: We had room 007, not much of a view but had been renovated to a very good standard.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TinaRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Zodiaco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed here September my husband and I, (out of season)
Its not actually a bad hotel, clean but BASIC, BASIC, BASIC, but I wont be returning, and I will tell you why.

I read the reviews, and with 4 out of 5 I took the chance. I treat trip advisor like a bible, and have never had a terrible experience, but in all honesty, this hotel needs improvements in order to achieve 3 or more stars, so while I maybe harsh and I appreciate that the other reviews are not completely inaccurate, in fact they are probably quite right, but I still dont think this hotel warrants its 4 stars. In my experience Ive stayed in far better, but having said that Im sure there is a lot worse, as Ive said its really not terrible, just has its downfalls !!

Breakfast - literally NO HOT FOODS OR CROISANTS etc.
Choice is just literally the following, and does not deviate: (dont assume there is more then this, as I did- there is not!)
Cereals, with only full fat milk on offer. (musli, cornflakes, cocopops)
Ham, Cheese, Salami, cold boiled eggs
Melon
Breadrolls
Toast (as you make it)
Jam, butter, possibly other preserve?
(2 juices,coffee tea (although no english breakfast tea, take your own tea bags)


(needless to say, we ate out most mornings - Fantasia, excellent value!!)
DINNER
We saw a few veggies who were disappointed as no choice for them.
Whilst the dinner was hot and full of salad, again lacks choice. Literally you have one meat on offer, Pork etc, and then mash, chips, or pasta. Again like everyone else says there is also soup and salad plentiful. Luckily im not a fussy eater. Then there is a sweet of the day, fruit salad, or icecream which they bring out to you at your request.

Rooms
Basic, we had a compete mis match of a bathroom, white bath, advocado toilet and peach sink. Looked old and in need of refurbishment. Again, no balconies which we missed terribly, furniture BASIC but functional, lack of full length mirror. We overlooked the road, which was noisy. Please listen to the lady about ear plugs, because Yes, the corridors are SO noisy!

BAR
I realise its not as expensive as most bars, but 7 euros for a pimms and lemonade and 2.75 for their own standard beer, i dont think is 'cheap' and in my mind, makes the holiday more expensive. Even some bars in Vilamoura are better value. Vilamoura by the way fantastic - you need to choose careful where you eat or drink though, as can be a rip off. would of been ok if we hadnt spent an absolute fortune on taxis (at 6 euros each way and sometimes twice a day) You can walk to Vilamoura, along the beach, but takes at least an hour, maybe a bit more.

Quarteria,- i wouldnt call the cafe's there 'BARS'- as others have done, there are literally 3 bars and all a 20 min walk away from the hotel. They were dead when we went mid sept, we doubled the numbers in most. Couldnt do much people watching. many, many locals there.

Staff however were constantly on the go, working hard (becuase maximum we saw at any one time was 4 members of staff), so obvioulsy they had to make up for the shortage, barman not only serve your drinks but cook your dinner and multitask as restuarant staff, popping back to the bar.

This is a small hotel, and other communal areas - modern and clean.

Samey 70s music at the pool every day, Pool is not big!! I appreciate they have made an effort with the foliage on the walls, but sorry still feels boxy. The pool was full of flies and noone really used it. You can hear the road noise somewhat. No one particuarly patrolled the pool to pick up rubbish or return sunbeds to their place etc.

I think that if you want a really quiet hotel this is perfect! No one bothers you - saw a few 'lone' travellers. Also if you use this hotel as a base- maybe your a golfer - also perfect! I just wouldnt return as a pool side holiday maker, looking for a bit of a treat, maybe a bit of conversation with other holidaymakers, this hotel is basic, quiet and quite a walk away from anywhere, its not completely my cup of tea.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank richsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 8 days with my friend on a cheap and cheerful holiday away from our famlies. The hotel was well worth the money. Rooms were made up and Towels were changed every day. Some rooms had been updated and ours was one of them with a large walk in shower. The staff were great and really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Leon the barmand and sam in the resturant were especially good. The pool was quite big and sparkling clean with plenty of sunbeds. The breakfast was the same every day but as we were only there for 8 days it didnt bother us. We didnt have snacks or evening meals there. The beach is exactly 700m away according to reception but the walk there is not very pleasent as it is dirt track running along the caravan park. The hotel is quite issolated on the outskirts of Quarteira so be careful at night walking back in dark quite intimidating. The walkway in Quateria is lovely with resturants bars ect. Best bar is The beach bar on the rocks at the beach and Fernandez hideaway steakhouse. On the downside There are no balconys at the hotel and the windows have bars and shutters at the window. If you are on a budget then this hotel is well worth the money. Read the review about constuction workers in bar and we never saw any. Some of the oter guests had stayed there for the previous 5 to 8 years so that is an excellent record.

Room Tip: Manuela at the Beach bar on Fonte Santa Beach. Summer salad is excellent and Fernandos Hideaway stea...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beehiveManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My boyfriend and I have just returned from 6 nights at this hotel. We booked based on the rave reviews on Tripadvisor. For a budget-ish hotel (£60 per night for double) it was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful, you get free wireless internet and the pool is quite big.

On the downside the rooms were VERY dated with rickety furniture, very uncomfortable hard beds and pillows we barely got any sleep. They have old fashioned blue flowery curtains and bed spread and dark green bathroom suite. There is no balcony (we didn't expect one) but a normal sized window with white bars over it. The decor in the downstairs part of the hotel is relatively modern.

The pool area is fine but again could do with some money being spent on it, some of the metal sunbeds are very rusty underneath which you can see when in the pool. Breakfast was basic but nice.

The hotel is right on the border of Quarteira and Fonte Santa so is quite isolated from other hotels and shops and is quite a bit of a walk into the centre of Quarteira and 45min walk to Villamoura harbour. It is however only 10 mins to the beach which is really nice. It could be a nice hotel if they spent money on updating it, the staff are nice and it is very clean, however for the above reasons plus the fact it is too far out, we probably would want to go for something more modern next time. Quarteira and Villamoura are lovely areas though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deira15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We really enjoyed our week at the Zodiaco. All staff were helpful and friendly, particularly the bar staff who double as breakfast waiters. Lovely and clean, extensive continental breakfast and nice pool. A 500m walk to beach, promenade, shops and restaurants. If one thing could be improved it is the sound-proofing between bedrooms but this is a small point about an otherwise good three star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AileenI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A dreary dull dwelling, and 30 miniutes from the restaurants and bars of quarteria, although there is a cracking little cafe 200 yards from the hotel, good food and great value, we went to the marina at vilamoura 6/7 days, 4 euros in a taxi, better place altogether, the hotel was basic, no balcony in any of the rooms, drinks at the bar expensive, a lot of contractors/constrction workers use the hotel, so defo not a holiday hotel

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank delbhoy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Just got back from a great relaxing week at the Zodiaco Hotel and apart from the fact it has no balconies (minor fault) we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Hotel has only 60 rooms on 2 floors which is ideal for us. True there could have been more choice for the Evening meal but always found something we could eat. Breakfast is typically continental with fruit juices, cold meat, cheese, fruit and cake If you have a drink either at Evening meal times or in the Cafe or the Bar you do not pay straight away but you can ask for your bill at any time to settle it so you do not need to worry about running up a huge bill. The hotel is a short walk (10 mins) to Forte Novo beach and another 5 or so to the main Promenade where there is an abundance of Shops, Cafe's and Restraunts and Bars and most of them are very reasonable but I have to give a mention to the Fantasia Bar which we luckily found on our first full day there as it is only a little way along the Promenade and you can get a pint of Carlsberg or Super Bock (one of the local lagers) for One Euro and 80 Cents! The food there is good too and reasonable as well and they also do Sunday Dinners. There is a little Cafe on the way to the beach called the Kactus just before the Supermarket which we found a great stopping off point on the way back to the Hotel or even on the way there sometimes for a cold beer or a cuppa! The bus stop to Viillamoura and Albufiera is literally 50 Metres from the hotel, go out of the little gate to the right of the hotel and turn right. You can ask whoever is on reception to make you a copy of the bus timetable. All of the Staff are very friendly and most speak good English and always willing to help all you need to do is ask and they will oblige. The Hotel has a nice size pool and we never found it too crowded and always got a sun lounger. The Hotel and pool are are very clean and though the rooms are basic they are adequate for the duration of your stay and were cleaned every day and the towels were changed daily also. We were all agreed that we would stay at this Hotel again as it is great value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor are best.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Takeabreak286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quarteira hotels
1.8 km away
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
Pinhal do Sol Hotel
#27 of 48 in Quarteira
824 reviews
1.1 km away
Quarteira Sol
Quarteira Sol
#26 of 48 in Quarteira
259 reviews
1.1 km away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Praia Sol
Hotel Praia Sol
#29 of 48 in Quarteira
479 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#41 of 48 in Quarteira
966 reviews
6.0 km away
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
Hotel Parque das Laranjeiras
#23 of 48 in Quarteira
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zodiaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zodiaco

Address: Estrada Nacional 527 - Fonte Nova Estrada da Fonte Santa, Quarteira 8125-618, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Quarteira
Price Range: $49 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zodiaco 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Zodiaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zodiaco Hotel Quarteira
Hotel Zodiaco Quarteira, Algarve, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing