We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in beautifully restored surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada de Vila Pouca da Beira
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in beautifully restored surroundings”
Reviewed 26 July 2009

This pousada was opened about 7 years ago and is located in an old 18th century monastery. The common areas are filled with beautiful art from old churches and the whole place has the atmosphere of peace and quiet.
Rooms are very spacious with celings and enormous windows.
Facilities are excellent with a two pools, a tennis court and other children's games. The buffet breakfast is generous. The restaurant is pricey but on the whole the food was well executed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eh_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    52
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
81
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

We thought we'd never get there. Fortunately, we've had some experience with driving in non-English environment, and there's only a few keywords. Example: there is more than one Vila Pouca in Portugal (literally, Little Villa, I think), but only one in Beira, and our map only showed "VIla Pouca" nestled into a really congested map. Thanks heaven for Map24 and via Michelin web pages - WARNING - do your homework in advance, as this is REALLY isolated and there's no signage almost at all! Enough of the problems getting there. The Pousada is a real one-of-a-kind! Lots of relics dot the walls, the rooms are palatial, the vineyards and olive groves around are spectacular, as is the pool and other outdoor stuff on the property. The restaurant is first-class (the waiter was a one-man show the night we ate there) and the little road down from the Pousada gave an inkling of what Roman / medieval times must have been like - a restored lavatorium (multi-
stone bathtubs side by side and a walled road that drops into the undergrowth). Loved it! Not for a more active or gregarious person for more than 2 days, but a must experience for anyone, or for a group of friends. It appears also to be a romantic getaway spot - another couple joined brekkies with us, from "separate rooms" and the female member of the pair couldn't remember "her" room number when asked by the waiter - a bit of whimsy to add to the allure of the hotel...

  • Liked — Affordable luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveCanadaKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

This pousada was opened just a few years ago in an old monastry and has been decorated using a lot of the old staff with style. We booked a junior suite and beside a large bathroom we enjoyed a huge L-shaped balcony with at least 50 square meters. From there you could overlook the pool, wineyard and the views were only stopped by the mountains roughly 20km away. It was beautiful. Signposting is absolutely no problem and you can hardly miss it when coming from the main road either from Coimbra or Guarda. Everything was very well kept up and clean and absolutely nothing to complain about. Internet however should be free of charge nowadays !
The restaurant is very good but pricey; for 2 you have to calculate with Euro 100 including starters and wine. There is no alternative in the town and in case you are not prepared to drive dining in the pousada is the only choice. The next city Olivera do Hospital with supermarkets and a few local restaurants (not very invinting ones) is approximately 15 minutes drive. But the remoteness is also part of the charme of this pousada which we can only recommed to travellers.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kilian2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

I actually found this Pousada very easy to find and like most Pousadas is signposted from 10km away (it is in the centre of the village, and of up a narrow road that doesn't look like it goes anywhere - but there is a Pousada sign on the junction).

Also unlike the previous reviewer I though the breakfast was very good and the staff friendly and helpful.

Vila Pouca da Beira is a very small village and the Pousada is the only thing of significance there.

The Pousada is a converted convent, and although the public areas were nice, the bedrooms were done in a more modern pine finish that I did not think that fitted particularly well with the style of the building.

There is a nice pool area overlooking the mountains, but as you are quite high up, I imagine it could be cool at the ends of the season,

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2007

This is a very difficult place to find. We had directions, and a Michelin map, but we had so much trouble finding the place that we finally had to pay someone to lead us there. The hotel and grounds are truly beautiful. Our room looked over the vinyards with the mountains in the distance. We were unable to get the airconditioning to work and the staff was not very helpful. There were only three or four other couples staying here at the time. Breakfast was not up to the usual standards of other Pousadas. The staff was not very friendly.

Penny & Bob
Toronto Canada

  • Liked — Beautiful building and grounds
  • Disliked — Internet charge of 5 euros per hour
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank augieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2006

This pousada is in a small village, about an hour east of Coimbra. While remote, this an extraordinarily luxurious hotel, set in an old stone convent. The hotel is small (I think 24 rooms). Beautifully renovated, the rooms are spacious and nicely appointed, with large terraces that overlook the vineyards behind the hotel. If you are hot, go swimming in the pool beyond the vineyard! The restaurant is first class, with fine cuisine and attentive service.

There is not much to do in the town, but it is close to a national park. But this a place to relax and be pampered.

We got a very good deal by booking thru the Pousada Passport arrangement, which ended up costing 80 euros per night.

We wish we had spent more time here.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2005

My wife and I were visting the area around Carregal do Sal and Nelas and decided to spend the night at this fantastic pousada. It is difficult to find. The directions given on the web are inadequate. The best way is to get yourself of the main Coimbra /Guarda road and if you are heading east towards Guarda it is signposted at a road on the right. Once in Vila Pouca da Beira (Small village) it is so easy to miss. The road up to the Pousada is signposted but you can very easily miss it. It's on the left hand side and up a steep pebbled road. When we got there eventually it was magic. The whole place is just so relaxing with a real sense of peace and class. The views from our room were magnificant, overlooking the Serra da Estrella mountain range. We arrived around 7pm and went down and sat by the swimmimg pool just looking at the changing scenery with the odd passing cloud and the setting sun.
We then ate in the very good restaurant. It may be a bit formal for some but the staff were very attentive and the food was of a high class and hot (something that can be a rarity in Portugal) Plus a very good wine list both in value and quality.
The room we had,whilst a standard one without balcony was very well appointed with a hugh bathroom and pleasant air conned room. Next time we go back we'll pay a bit more and get a balcony.

All in all a great hotel and one which we'll go back to.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RicoNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Pouca da Beira
32.6 km away
Pousada da Serra da Estrela
4.5 km away
Quinta da Geia
Quinta da Geia
#1 of 3 in Oliveira do Hospital
102 reviews
3.9 km away
Alva Valley Hotel
Alva Valley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oliveira do Hospital
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 km away
H2otel
H2otel
#1 of 1 in Unhais da Serra
918 reviews
38.6 km away
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
31.7 km away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Vila Pouca da Beira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Vila Pouca da Beira

Property: Pousada de Vila Pouca da Beira
Address: Calcada do Convento, Vila Pouca da Beira 3400-758, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Vila Pouca da Beira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vila Pouca da Beira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Vila Pouca da Beira 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Vila Pouca da Beira was a convent located in central Portugal, Oliveira County Hospital, about 45 minutes from the city of Coimbra. The Pousada, Historic Hotel is located near the Star Mountains and the Hawk, that can be seen on the horizon! Pousada Vila Little Convent of Beira is an historic building, where the story is told every time. There is plenty to discover in its interior and exterior. All spaces coexist harmoniously with the surroundings characterized by the presence of vineyards, olive grove, of Cedar Grove, the terraces and patios own a convent, without forgetting the Cloister! The outdoor swimming pool for adults and children, playground, tennis court, as well as all existing and landscape surrounding rural environment, make our visitors find what you need: be quiet, contemplation, outdoor activities, sports, culture ... the region is rich in all its parts, and can start at Pousada Convento de Belmonte a busy travel Emotions and Unique experiences! Inside the inn the traveler finds a simple and comfortable decor, despite multiple Arts Sacramento own notes of a convent, but very well framed as a whole. The Pousada has 29 rooms, of which 24 in the main building (3 suites, 7 superior rooms 14 standard rooms) and another 5 rooms located in Bishop's House (4 suites and 1 standard room). All rooms have a modern and cheerfully dominated materials such as wood and granite, with a touch of elegance, comfort and modernity that the tissue and padded, transmit them. The superior rooms and 2 suites feature a topping terrace with great views. They all include a TV, minibar, safe custody, air conditioning for heating and cooling, hairdryer, amenities. Bathrobes and slippers are available in the suites and superior rooms or on request. Pousada Vila Little Convent of Beira has all the facilities for special events, whether weddings, baptisms, birthday parties, exhibitions, concerts, conferences, meetings, Outdoor activities for companies, etc. The existence of the church is itself a facility for the achievement of religious or cultural ceremonies. Restaurant services, bar and cafeteria are open to serve hosted customers and all who wish to only visit the hotel and take advantage of its services and facilities. The traveler does not need to be staying to visit the inn, have a meal or drink. All are welcome!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pousada de Vila Pouca da Beira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing