We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,799)
Filter reviews
1,802 results
Traveller rating
1,173
506
102
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,173
506
102
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresident bandshort promenadetable numberevening entertainmentflat rooflovely hotelpool areacourtesy busrelaxing holidayfree bus to funchalsea viewcable carall inclusive optionthomson replobby barplenty of sunbedsbranded drinks
Filter
Updating list...
1,182 - 1,187 of 1,802 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed at the Riu Palce from the 6th to 13th June 2011 would recommend the hotel for servive cleanliness facilities and food only problem it is a way out on a linb, but the hotel provides a courtesy shuttle bus back and to funchal 6 times a day, you have to inform the reception the evening before.The weather was not brilliant except for our last day, which was very hot

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkkateCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2011

as the heading says, excellent hotel, the downside is the location. Madeira is very hilly, but canicio is particularly hilly, in my opinion not suitable for anyone who has a walking problem. There is a small prom at back of hotel, this takes about 10mins in total to complete. The pool are of the hotel is a bit boring, considering the island is renowmed for its lovely flowers. Took the local bus to Funchal, the service was prompt and reliable, worth using. would consider returning as have come back totally relaxed!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debsleather1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for a week and the hotel and its excellent staff really cannot be faulted. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms have full size bath and good showers, everywhere is very clean and the food is very good and caters to all tastes. Sadly the weather let us down and we only had one sunny day ... and on that one sunny day sunbeds round the pool were at a premium but the pool attendant went into the spa and indoor pool and grabbed every available sunbed to try and accommodate the demand. Excellent service was experienced everywhere in the hotel. Our room overlooked the car park though all rooms appear to have a side sea view due to the design of the hotel. Initially I was disappointed with this but it was very peaceful, not overlooked at all and on reflection I thought it was one of the better rooms to have. Drinks are not cheap but there is a local Spar where you can buy half decent wine for less than 3 euros (same wine you can buy in hotel for 14 euros!). Nice to drink on your balcony - wine glasses are provided in the rooms but you will need a cork screw. Canico pronounced Caniso) is not much of a resort but there is the courtesy bus to Funchal and we never experienced any problems in booking seats. The best thing we did on our holiday was book a private taxi tour which was 65 euros for half a day (we booked through the Thomson rep and am sure you could get a better deal booking through the hotel). It was fantastic - good driver, good English and interesting - and we didn't have to suffer waiting for anyone or going to places we were not interested in. Would recommend this hotel - there are mainly older couples here but some families with young childen who seemed to be well catered for too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beulah50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Consider carefully before you book this hotel. Although you might think you have paid for a four star hotel complete with air conditioning, you haven't. It is only available between 5-9pm every evening, not when you might want to use it.
You might think that the price you have paid for this four star hotel, would include the price of the safe for the week. You would be wrong. you might not be aware, as we weren't, that you cannot go to dinner when you please.There are two sittings and you will be assigned to one or the other. for us, one too early, beginning at 6:30pm, and the other too late, at 8:30pm. The hotel is clean and the staff helpful, but I might have made a different decision had I known..........

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank teabrewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My wife,I and 11 year old son stayed for a week at this lovely hotel. I can only give praise for the quality of food and service we received during our stay. As a vegetarian there was always something there for me to eat, all freshly prepared and often cooked on the spot. The room was roomy enough for the three of us. The hotel was spotlessly clean and all the staff very attentive and ready to have a chat. The hotel was a bit remote, but you can always take advantage of the free shuttle bus (Mon to Sat) into Funchal or use the very reasonable local bus service.
We went on the 1/2 day excursion to the Nuns Valley and would strongly recommend it. The views were spectacular.
One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews