We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably good but not excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Canico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We spent one week at the Riu Palace, returning on the 13th of June. The hotel as such is quite grand, all the communal areas are spacious, clean and certainly welcoming. The guests are German, followed by British and Dutch, majority of people are over 50 (which is great if you're not a fan of screaming children and teenagers when you're on holiday).

Both, the bedroom and bathroom were large and clean. Unfortunately, the walls of our room seemed incredibly thin as we could hear people in the rooms next to us most of the time (walking, talking, using the bathroom), which is not great before 8 am and after 10 pm. I wouldn't say that the mattress and pillows were especially comfortable either. A double bed was formed by pushing two single beds together, moving apart as soon as you got too close to the middle.

The aircon didn't work as the wires were pulled out from the wall.
Luckily, we didn't need it as the weather that week was overcast all week long. We only had one full day of sun and everybody tried to make the most of it. It was clear that the hotel doesn't have enough sun beds for occasion like this when everyone wants to be by the pool. The pool attendants didn't remove any towels from sunbeds (despite it being Riu policy) where people had placed them early in the morning but had still not made use of them by midday. This, naturally resulted in many angry people complaining to the reception. In the end, the pool attendants brought some sun beds from the indoor pool area and also started to hand out some sun beds which we slightly damaged but could still do.

The food in the hotel was good, plenty of choice and many local dishes.
The dinner times are a bit awkward - the first sitting is from 6:30 - 8:00 pm, the second one from 8:30 - 10:00. Not much to do after dinner (unless you enjoy the provided evening entertainment). Cocktails from the bar were good, prices are ok although it can begin to add up after a week or so.


Couple of tips and observations:

- We paid extra 50 GBP to Thomson to get a room with full or partial sea view. Don't bother. This was a complete waste of money, at least 90% of the rooms in this hotel will provide you with some kind of sea view (you would have to be very unlucky to get one of the handful of rooms facing the road opposite the hotel). Despite paying this amount, we could only see the ocean if we stood on our tiptoes at the furthest end of our balcony, which was definitely not worth it.

- Unless you want to dry your hair using one of the ancient boxes on the wall with a hose attached to it dispersing hot air (this hose overheats very quickly and it's impossible to hold once it does), bring your own hairdryer.

- You have to pay to use the safe in your room - it's around 20 EUR per week.

- Only shop in Spar near the hotel if absolutely necessary as it is rather overpriced. 1.5 litre bottle of water there costs nearly 2 EUR.
You can get a five litre bottle in the supermarket in Anadia shopping centre in Funchal (opposite the marina) for 80 cents. The hotel and local bus stops are nearby, which makes it easy to get your purchases back to the hotel.

- The back, shoulders and head massage in the hotel's spa was actually very good, we tried it twice and can't complain. 30 mins for 36 EUR was a good value, and the staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beruschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed at the Riu Palce from the 6th to 13th June 2011 would recommend the hotel for servive cleanliness facilities and food only problem it is a way out on a linb, but the hotel provides a courtesy shuttle bus back and to funchal 6 times a day, you have to inform the reception the evening before.The weather was not brilliant except for our last day, which was very hot

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkkateCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

as the heading says, excellent hotel, the downside is the location. Madeira is very hilly, but canicio is particularly hilly, in my opinion not suitable for anyone who has a walking problem. There is a small prom at back of hotel, this takes about 10mins in total to complete. The pool are of the hotel is a bit boring, considering the island is renowmed for its lovely flowers. Took the local bus to Funchal, the service was prompt and reliable, worth using. would consider returning as have come back totally relaxed!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debsleather1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here for a week and the hotel and its excellent staff really cannot be faulted. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms have full size bath and good showers, everywhere is very clean and the food is very good and caters to all tastes. Sadly the weather let us down and we only had one sunny day ... and on that one sunny day sunbeds round the pool were at a premium but the pool attendant went into the spa and indoor pool and grabbed every available sunbed to try and accommodate the demand. Excellent service was experienced everywhere in the hotel. Our room overlooked the car park though all rooms appear to have a side sea view due to the design of the hotel. Initially I was disappointed with this but it was very peaceful, not overlooked at all and on reflection I thought it was one of the better rooms to have. Drinks are not cheap but there is a local Spar where you can buy half decent wine for less than 3 euros (same wine you can buy in hotel for 14 euros!). Nice to drink on your balcony - wine glasses are provided in the rooms but you will need a cork screw. Canico pronounced Caniso) is not much of a resort but there is the courtesy bus to Funchal and we never experienced any problems in booking seats. The best thing we did on our holiday was book a private taxi tour which was 65 euros for half a day (we booked through the Thomson rep and am sure you could get a better deal booking through the hotel). It was fantastic - good driver, good English and interesting - and we didn't have to suffer waiting for anyone or going to places we were not interested in. Would recommend this hotel - there are mainly older couples here but some families with young childen who seemed to be well catered for too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beulah50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Consider carefully before you book this hotel. Although you might think you have paid for a four star hotel complete with air conditioning, you haven't. It is only available between 5-9pm every evening, not when you might want to use it.
You might think that the price you have paid for this four star hotel, would include the price of the safe for the week. You would be wrong. you might not be aware, as we weren't, that you cannot go to dinner when you please.There are two sittings and you will be assigned to one or the other. for us, one too early, beginning at 6:30pm, and the other too late, at 8:30pm. The hotel is clean and the staff helpful, but I might have made a different decision had I known..........

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank teabrewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

My wife,I and 11 year old son stayed for a week at this lovely hotel. I can only give praise for the quality of food and service we received during our stay. As a vegetarian there was always something there for me to eat, all freshly prepared and often cooked on the spot. The room was roomy enough for the three of us. The hotel was spotlessly clean and all the staff very attentive and ready to have a chat. The hotel was a bit remote, but you can always take advantage of the free shuttle bus (Mon to Sat) into Funchal or use the very reasonable local bus service.
We went on the 1/2 day excursion to the Nuns Valley and would strongly recommend it. The views were spectacular.
One of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveMatthews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This is an excellent hotel. We stayed here with out 10 month old daughter and all of the staff and other guests really made a fuss of her and made us very comfortable.
Although not set out as a family focused hotel they did everything they could for us, we were upgraded to a suite to comfortably accommodate a cot which they laid on and we were given a late check out time (5pm).

Before staying at this hotel I read a lot of the reviews. I must say we experienced none of the negative points.
The staff are very friendly and helpful
The Buffet restaurant was excellent and there was an alternative grill restaurant if you tired of the buffet, dinner times are rigidly fixed at 18.30 and 20.30
Yes a lot of the other guests are German and elderly but so what...
Bar prices were OK, not cheap but there was an excellent range of cocktails and the 'cocktail of the day' was very reasonable at sub 5Euro
The location is isolated, the courtesy bus is great and there is a local bus stop right outside the hotel but I would strongly recommend hiring a car.
Plenty of loungers round the pool and attentive pool staff
The pool snack bar doesn’t serve much in the way of snacks, more like main meals but there are other places around
There is a Spar a short walk away where you can stock up with water, wine etc
We did not experience any noise in our room, the towels were fine, the sheets a bit noisy but fine

I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canico
0.1 km away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
824 reviews
1.2 km away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
489 reviews
9.4 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
8.7 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
9.4 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Madeira

Address: Praia dos Reis Magos | Canico de Baixo - Portugal, Canico, Madeira 9125-024, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Canico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canico
#1 Spa Hotel in Canico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Canico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Canico
Price Range: $178 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Madeira 4*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite the oceanfront promenade of Canico de Baixo. 8-Storey building. 10 M to the sea; access to the ocean across a walkway. 13 Km from Funchal (complimentary shuttle service from the hotel; weekdays and Saturdays. Not available on public holidays). 2 Km from the city centre. 2 Km from various shops. 10 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Madeira Canico
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira Canico, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing