We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Palace Madeira
Nearby Hotels
Royal Orchid(Canico)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$203
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
US$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Roca Mar(Canico)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,689)
Filter reviews
1,689 results
Traveller rating
1,104
475
90
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,104
475
90
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresident bandshort promenadetable numberflat roofevening entertainmentpool arealovely hotelsea viewfree bus to funchalrelaxing holidaycourtesy buscable carall inclusive optionthomson replobby barbranded drinksplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,689 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017

My partner and I have just returned after spending a week at the lovely hotels. I can honestly say this is the best holiday hotel we have stayed in and are looking forward to booking again soon. We booked all inclusive through Thomson (TUI). The food and drink was top notch, you would never go hungry or thirsty. We booked a junior suite with partial sea view - it was the size of an apartment! There was a separate bathroom with shower over bath and twin basis with a dividing door to the loo and bidet. Also, a dressing room. The bedroom was enormous with two kingsize beds and lounge with sofa, chairs and coffee table. TVs in lounge and bedroom. Large balcony with chairs and sunbeds. The décor is classic. Everything is so clean, and the staff always attentive and helpful. Two outside adults pools and another pool for small children. Also, an indoor pool, gym and spa. Indoor bar, terrace bar and bar by the pools. Probably more for adults and couples with small children. Entertainment in the theatre every night. The island of Madeira is quite hilly. The hotel has steps from the main foyer to the pool area. There are lifts that serve all floors.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 1st floor, which is the same floor as the reception and main foyer.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mwoodward2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Hotel Riu Palace Madeira is a first class hotel in everything from morning to night . I could not find fault in anything, except for may be the animation entertainment. There was not a lot to keep you entertained. The staff and service was fantastic, as was the choice of food. You were made really welcome. I will certainly return.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank busbylewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Riu Palace for 7 nights. The hotel is fantastic! The food and drink on the all inclusive is amazing. The staff are second to none and go out of their way to ensure you have a fantastic holiday. The location is good with only a 15 minute transfer from the airport. The hotel also provides a free shuttle bus to/from Funchal.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one week at the end of August ... absolutely loved it ... if I'm being picky I would say the rooms need a spruce up as a little old fashioned but otherwise everything else is spot on....
FOOD= amazing, lots of choice and cooked fresh.
DRINKS= fantastic, great selection and staff ensure your never left with an empty glass, even while relaxing around the pool.
LOCATION= fantastic, right by the ocean, amazing views
STAFF= outstanding, everyone at the hotel works hard to make your holiday a memorable one... and they succeed

We would stay again for sure in a heartbeat and intend to return SOON.

The daily free shuttle bus to Funchal is a great touch

Thank you to all the hotel staff for making out stay a truly memorable one.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steveinthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We spent a week here and enjoyed it. Initial impressions were good, reception was friendly and efficient, we were in our room within 5 minutes having been offered a nice glass of madeira. The room is spacious, clean, with a good sea view over the roof of the bar area. There are plenty of loungers around the two outdoor pools, despite the usual hoggers depositing towels and never being seen again. The staff are definitely the highlight, being cheerful, pleasant and a credit to the hotel.
There are two sittings for dinner with a table allocated to you. This is not to everyone's tastes but didn't annoy us. The food was of a reasonable standard for all three meals with sufficient changes every day to make it interesting.
We enjoyed the indoor pool which was invariably empty so much more pleasant to swim in.
The hotel is a little isolated but has a free shuttle bus to Funchal which can be booked at 6pm the night before, taking 15 minutes to reach the cable car. There is a nice promenade for a stroll by the beach, otherwise be prepared to gasp for breath as you walk vertically upwards to see anything else. We both agreed that Canico itself was not worth the effort.
Finally the niggles. We met one waiter at lunchtime who was abrupt and rude for no reason, a total contrast to his colleagues and in serious need of retraining. The cocktails are pre-made/bottled and could be dramatically improved, the wines were at best 'acceptable'. There is no coffee available in the restaurants, you have to retire to a bar. In the evening this is fine as there is a bar open alongside the restaurant ( 3 in fact), but at lunchtime you have to go to the snack bar two floors below the restaurant which is not the most comfortable area to relax after lunch.
Overall, for the price, a pleasant place to spend a short break.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank D0cd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews