We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveller rating
292
189
58
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
189
58
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la perla globe bar spa suite botanical gardens galleria restaurant splendid hotel grounds are stunning indoor pool herb garden washing up liquid german guests half board self cater lovely spa bed apartment garden view steam room
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 568 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2018

Facilities very rarely open in the hotel to get afternoon tea and cake had t go to bakery next to the hotel. We were bed and breakfast as I don't like buffet style dining could only find one restaurant nearby Chinese at the shopping centre. Beautiful hotel gardens beautiful ideal for a quiet relaxing holiday. Make sure when you book your room with a garden view you get exactly what you book our garden view room looked into the back of the restaurant had to pay 390 euros t get moved. Hotel very unhelpful they said we had a garden view top of trees, would not recommend if you like to go out in the evenings as 18 euros to get into Funchal and 18 euros back. Wouldn't go back as area too hilly t walk anywhere. Also discovered we paid a lot more for our holiday than other people £2,400.00 a waste of holiday money.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank 261irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuintaS22, Diretor de Vendas at Quinta Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Madam,
We took good note of your comments and are sorry that our hotel did not meet the expected standards.
However, we are quite surprised to read that you did not find our Siddhartha Bar to have a tea or a cake. This snack bar is opened every day from 10.30am to 6.30pm and we serve all types of light dishes and desserts, as well as fresh juices, coffee and all types of drinks. In fact, this is part of one of our promotions, which is the booklet, placed in the room.
As far as the restaurants are concerned, it seems as well that you are not quite well informed about our dinning options, as in our hotel we have three different à la cart restaurants (Mediterranean, Thai and Gourmet). Once again, this information in the booklet placed in the room.
There are also lot of eating possibilities in surroundings, where you can taste our typical Madeira dishes. Furthermore, just close by the Chinese you mention, there are 3 other restaurants, as it is a small shopping center.
With regards to the room view, we understand that your expectation was to stay in a room that was in the heart of the botanical garden, however, your room was in the first floor, overlooking the entire garden and the also a part of the the restaurant roof.
The main reason for the change were the stairs to the room, as Mrs. Irene suffered from asthma and wanted to stay in the ground floor. Should we have this information in advance, we would gladly book a room with no stairs, but as the room available at that time was a studio with lateral sea view, it was fully agreed the price and the change was done.
Referring to the transfer to Funchal, taxi in this case, the price is 18,00euros each way, however, there also buses passing by every hour that cost around 3,00euros each way. This is the best alternative we have to the taxi costs.
We tried our utmost to provide you a splendid stay at our house and are sorry to disagree with the points stated bellow, however, it is not true to mention that we have no snack bar or à la carte restaurants.
We are at your disposal should you require any further assistance.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2018

I would rate this as a 3*+ hotel not 4*. We had a suite which was nice but no dressing gowns or slippers, no coffee sachet replacement.(went & bought a jar) Staff excellent, food ok. Gardens superb. Very relaxing. The spa was very expensive.

Room tip: Garden suite
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank raghog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuintaS22, Diretor de Vendas at Quinta Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam,
We took good note of the comments above, which deserved our best attention, however, would like to clarify that you did not book a Spa Suite, as you had an Upgrade from a Studio room.
Once you did not book the suite, the bathrobe and the slippers are not included, as well as the spa entrance. This was also not part of the room details upon the booking moment.
Nevertheless, we have massages up from 30euros and these included then the bathrobe, slippers and all spa facilities, which is not very expensive for a 4* hotel.
As far as the coffee/tea bags, this was a complimentary gift for your arrival, as per the note left in the room.
We are at your disposal should you require any further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018

Our first trip to Madeira and we chose to stay at this hotel as it sounded just our sort of hotel.
On arrival the location turned out to be stunning with views over the ocean from the pool area and those rooms stated as having see views.
Set in acres of wonderfully colourful flowers and trees from all over the world the hotel is designed to blend in with the surroundings, only the block near the reception are being over two storey.
On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and explained the layout of the hotel, advised of the various levels of meal plans ( we had booked B & B and then paid for some evening meals, but were able to explore the many restaurants in Canico.
Our room was a double bedded room with separate living room / dining / kitchen. We had a patio with table and two chairs and two sun loungers. Exceptionally clean and the kitchen was well stocked with cooking equipment had we wished to self cater at any stage.
An arrival pack included tea coffee and milk but was not replenished daily so we just purchased tea and milk in the supermarket less than a hundred yards from the hotel.
For those who want to self cater there is a splendid bakery selling all types of bread pastries and cakes and is open 8am to 11pm . They also serve lunches in an upstairs restaurant.

The staff at Quinta Splendida were very friendly and everyone we came across went out of their way to assist and the housekeeper for our room kept the rooms immaculate with daily visits, including Sunday Our towels were changed when we requested them and we were supplied with two separate towels for the pool area.

The food was excellent from the buffet breakfast to the La Perla restaurant which offers fine dining three nights a week. There is also a Thai restaurant two or three times a week, We tried them all and were very pleased with the quality and service.

In our opinion the hotel is probably best suited to couples and older people wanting a relaxing holiday but at the same time the hotel offered well planned excursions and were able to arrange taxis and offered a free daily shuttle service to Funchal.

We were so pleased with our short break we are already planning a return trip for 2019 for a longer stay.

Room tip: Rooms in the lower gardens would be our choice, but others may wish to be nearer reception and restaurants.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardrawlinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinta S, Guest Relations Manager at Quinta Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Mr. Richard,

We appreciate your comments and recognition on our services.
The aim of our entire team is to provide a splendid experience to all those who visit us, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We promise to continue to motivate our team in order to meet your expectations.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

Splendid Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2018

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Quinta S, Guest Relations Manager at Quinta Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2018

Very nice rooms in a huge, magnificent botanical garden. Excellent food and helpful, charming and very friendly staff. The dinner in La Perla, the speciality restaurant was memorable for the food which was added to by the beautiful old dining room..
Just one warning for the less mobile. The property is large and on a hillside so walking up from the pool area to the top, for instance, can be a struggle.

Room tip: See above re mobility
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinta S, Guest Relations Manager at Quinta Splendida, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Mr. Gerald,

We appreciate your comments and recognition on our services.
The aim of our entire team is to provide a splendid experience to all those who visit us, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We promise to continue to motivate our team in order to meet your expectations.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in the near future.

Splendid Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews