We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Norfolk
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Check-in was prompt (probably owing to the fact we rolled in just after midnight). Room was nothing extraordinary but clean. Note that you have to pay extra for a room with a fridge and/or microwave. This property was close to Old Dominion and the athletic facilities were a quick trip down Hampton Blvd and a left onto 49th Street.

Bathroom was spotless. The towels here were the whitest I've seen in a long time at a chain hotel. So if bathroom and linen cleanliness is important to you, you'll be pleased.

The breakfast included in our room rate was plentiful and had a good selection. You could make your own waffles.

Good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    149
    73
    51
    29
See reviews for
204
70
35
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

My wife and I stayed one night and we were so impressed by the staff, polite and very helpfull. The room was spotless. The breakfast was out of this world.
Only drawbacks were no frig or microwave and a problem with hot water or lack of it. The young man who worked the desk that night made sure we were comfortable.
We have a Grandchild at ODU and it is nice to know in advance we know where to stay when visiting.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This Hampton Inn's service is phenomenal! Staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating. High-five to Helen and Dominic! Unfortunately, the hotel itself is in desperate need of renovation. Though it appears that public areas have been upgraded, the rooms leave much to be desired. Upon walking into the room, I was greeted with the pungent smell of mildew. The room seemed stale and without proper ventilation. The mattresses were lumpy and in need of replacement, and the bedding held a faint odor as well. Sadly, the hotel windows didn't open. Lighting was poor, making it very difficult to utilize the work desk for much more than a luggage stand. The carpet was sprinkled with stains and had an overall darkened color, like it was weighted down with ground-in dirt. Thankfully, the bathroom was roomy and well lit, with plenty of bath linen. It was the most pleasant area in the room. Though my stay was bearable , I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Good Staff, Hotel is older but well maintained, pool and hot tub. Walking distance to several fast food restaurants and a ruby tuesday. Location is a plus if you are doing business in the Norfolk Naval Base.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ETontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

After a stay from HELL at another hotel...I checked in after telling the clerk of my nightmare she matched the rate I was paying with approval from her manager of course...My room was very clean..breakfast was great every morning. I felt like they went out of there way to make my extended stay as close to home as possible.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wetravela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Woke up and went downstairs for breakfast- noticed a familiar looking car go past the window on a tow truck- it was mine!! Front desk said my car alarm was going off all night bothering people. They didn't know whose car it was and tried a few rooms to try to find out whose it was but gave up.

I'm not unreasonable and I understand why they would have it towed- if they hadn't taken my car info when I checked in! They even needed my license plate number! Why do they take this info if I am going to find out about an issue with my car by seeing it riding off on a tow truck. Morons.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Italei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel and we were not impressed. The staff were the only plus that we could see...They are very friendly and helpful which was nice. I got a little scared when I saw a sign on the front door that said you had to be buzzed in after 10pm which was for the hotel guests safety..The room was not as clean as I am used to from a Hampton Inn. The rug looked very worn and the bathroom toliet kept running all night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseyboy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
15.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
9.8 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
11.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Norfolk-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
19.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#4 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
11.6 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base

Property: Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Address: 8501 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23505-1009
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn is the perfect place to stay if looking for hotels in Norfolk, VA near the Naval Base. Our hotel is conveniently located to one of the largest Naval ports in the world and is minutes from Old Dominion University, the USS Wisconsin, Nauticus Maritime Museum, and Chrysler Museum. Enjoy free hot breakfast with Hampton's signature waffles and oatmeal every morning plus free wireless internet to keep you connected. Our guest and accessible rooms have the comforts of home with the clean and fresh Hampton bed in 1 king or 2 doubles. As always, your stay with us is backed by the 100% Hampton guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing