We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Like going to the movies used to be!

My wife and I went to see “Puzzle” at the Naro Expanded Cinema this afternoon because she is an... read more

Reviewed September 6, 2018
lonscof
,
Virginia Beach, Virginia
via mobile
Classic Venue...!

We Love the NARO! Vintage Blast from the Past! A Real Theater...Great Rates, Concession! We... read more

Reviewed August 27, 2018
181dianah
,
Virginia
Read all 63 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Norfolk
from US$24.00
More Info
from US$78.48
More Info
from US$53.99
More Info
from US$59.83
More Info
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
47
14
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
14
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews classic movie independent films homemade brownies double feature alfred hitchcock small concession stand ticket prices are documentaries ghent indie artsy concessions
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 63 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I went to see “Puzzle” at the Naro Expanded Cinema this afternoon because she is an avid jigsaw puzzler, as was the main character. These somewhat obscure films are shown at various times on different days, so be sure to carefully check the schedule before making plans.

The showing today was at 4 pm. The ticket office doesn’t open until 20 minutes before the show, so there’s no need to get there before that. Off street parking is available, but you’ll have to look for something other than the two-hour limit lots.

But the theater experience is, as another reviewer called it, “a blast from the past.” The 536-seat theater is laid out with an aisle on each side and a balcony—just like what I grew up with in the 50s.

The concession stand prices are not quite what they were in the 50s, but are excellent. Maybe, adjusted for inflation, hey ARE as good. I had a “small” popcorn (which was all I could eat) and my wife had about 3/4 of a cup of cashews—for $6.00! Ticket prices are $10 for general admission; $8 for seniors!

The Naro is clean, the staff friendly and helpful. It was a wonderful experience. The theater is about a hundred feet from The Green Onion, a wonderful French restaurant where we dined after the show. Collie Avenue is a magical part of Historic Ghent in Norfolk and the Naro is its centerpiece.

Thank lonscof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We Love the NARO! Vintage Blast from the Past! A Real Theater...Great Rates, Concession! We especially love our annual tradition of seeing double feature, "It's A Wonderful Life" & "A Christmas Story"

Thank 181dianah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Such an enjoyable theater in a wonderful and safe neighborhood...Ghent. Lots of great eating establishments within walking distance and a free parking lot after 6:00. What's not to like??

Thank MDHappyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018

This historic theater dates to the 1930's and is in the Ghent area of Norfolk. Anybody living near by can easily walk and catch a film. I know that in 1989, it still showed what might be called, "artsy-fartsy" movies, as I saw, Pink Floyd's The Wall. After perusing the internet, it appears that it now shows the same kinds of movies as all other theaters. It's a fun old theater!

Thank Peterharris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

I recently saw Victoria & Abdul with a friend while visiting Norfolk. Yes, this is an older movie venue and the seats can be a bit uncomfortable. Overall, I would much rather go to an older theater like Naro to see the best independent films than one of the new several-theaters-too-many places. As others have said, this is movie going at its best! Strongly recommended for those seeking independent and/or classic movies and a classic movie experience.

Thank Levannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

This is a great place to see Movies, old and new. Independent movies, Foreign movies, Main stream movies, Alfred Hitchcock movies. They have a balcony which is where I love to sit. The seats are not cushioned, so be forewarned if you have bad backs or just like hard seats. They also sell old movie promo posters. Saw the "Sound of Music" there many, many moons ago.

Thank Grnisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017

I love going to this place! It's an old 1936, locally owned movie theatre that shows old/odd movies that you won't see at your average movie theatres. They also show documentaries, often with guest speakers at the conclusion of the films, followed by Q & A. Concerts and other music venues are sometimes on the agenda. No seating reservations nor reclining lazy-boys, with entrees delivered to your seat. Retro décor. Parking can sometimes be a challenge. Small concession stand offers vegan popcorn w/vegan butter, soft drinks, pecans, homemade brownies/cookies with a vegan option. World's smallest 2 seater women's restroom. Only 3 can fit in the whole room at one time. Long lines, so choose your time wisely. Great restaurants to enjoy within walking distance before/after the movies.

Thank Critiqueness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

It was nice to find this spot, in Ghent, after walking around this area for a short time (not that much to see or do, honestly). We popped in for a matinee to escape the sticky temperatures, enjoyed a movie and left. Very small, but vintage lobby and restroom. Seats were decent. I prefer independent theaters and try to support them, as they have that timeless charm.

Thank pantone808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

Locally owned theater. Comfortable, renovated a few years ago. Reasonably priced snack bar. Good sound system. Intimate theater, not like a big movies chain. Just one screen. Specialize in quality foreign films and lesser know but high quality movies.

Thank JoeF41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 12, 2016

If you want luxury, reclineing seats, and café au lait this is not for you. This is movies the way it used to be, simple and one small concession stand. Lots of old movies - but you better get there early, Hepburn and Tracy have lines around the corner. Also silent Chaplin with a live piano player. No kidding. It's great !

Thank Cavaliers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews