We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little gem”
Review of Page House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norfolk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Page House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Norfolk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2014

I visited this lovely little historic home in November. The owners are very welcoming and warm. The Inn really feels like a home and not a commercial place. It's small, cozy, and very comfortable. The neighborhood (Ghent) is adorable and full of row houses. This is a great place for anyone visiting the area and wants a unique yet quiet, relaxing and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SoonerOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2014

We decided to stay at the Page House Inn because we adore B&B's and were coming to Norfolk to tour the Chrysler Museum. The reviews indicated that it was a gem of a place. We found that to be absolutely true.

The Inn is situated in a very pretty little neighborhood, and, as a bonus, has a nice parking lot in the back. How delightful to find a quiet oasis in the heart of a city! This one was charming, as is the inn itself. It is a restored Victorian house with exquisite, historical decor. Snacks and beverages are offered on every floor, from sodas to wine to candies. The friendly innkeeper, Debbie, takes you in, shows you around, and treats you like long-lost family.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, and we had to walk up steps but didn't mind ... this IS a Victorian home. The room itself was lovely - the bathroom small but appropriately sized, the water hot with good water pressure. The shower was inside a 4-footed tub surrounded by a curtain - I loved the history-with-update here. The bed was big and beautiful, with soft sheets and lots of pillows. We slept like babies! And breakfast the next morning, in the exquisite dining room, was big and tasty.

This was the perfect place to stay for a trip to the Chrysler museum - we walked over next day. The walk was beautiful, as was every aspect of our stay. As an modern historical anecdote, as we were leaving, I noticed a photograph of the famous '50s pin-up model Bettie Page on a table in the parlor. Yes, this home belonged to her family.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique, beautifully appointed, and historic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CWilkins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We cannot say enough wonderful things about this exquisite property and its gracious hosts. We always try to stay in B and Bs, so we can compare to others in New England. This is by far the loveliest home, with sparkling clean and elegant rooms, a spacious terrace for after dinner drinks or lounging, a lemonade porch (and there is a pitcher of lemonade too!), sherry and homemade cookies, chocolates and fresh fruit, plush robes and terry slippers, and the piece de resistance, a scrumptious and abundant breakfast. There are additional services available with advance request, but honestly, it's just about perfect as it is. Just be aware that this is a three storey home, so luggage has to be taken up the steps. The location is in a pretty neighborhood, conveniently across the street from the Chrysler Art Museum. Parking is somewhat limited; we parked on the street because the lot was full. We are already making plans to return!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank edahgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

this historical home is gorgeous. The Inn keeper is super friendly and thinks of every minor detail to make your stay pleasant. There are snacks and beverages available throughout the entire home (wonderful convenience!) because there are three stories to this home, The patio on the second floor roof area is wonderful, we enjoyed sitting out there visiting with our friends after we had dinner out on the town. We also enjoyed the covered front porch area. The breakfast was made just for us, we could dine between 8-930, it wasnt a group breakfast with the other guests so that gave us flexibility to plan our day. The breakfast itself was very good and filling. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opt2Adopt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We have been to Norfolk a few times and stayed in many different places, this a by far, our favorite. Page house is a fabulous B & B, built in 1889. The owner Debbie is fantastic, she takes you on a tour, has tons of great information on the area. There are 7 spacious rooms all decorated beautifully, spotlessly clean. It's 3 stories. Plenty of couches and rooms to hang out in. An awesome front deck to sit on rockers.

The breakfast is delicious. Tea/coffee. There is cereal, granola, fresh fruit, yogurt, mini muffins. And eggs cooked to order, with bacon, toast and potatoes.

It's home away from home.


Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank jomomocomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Old fashioned elegance combined with down home hospitality and comfort--what could be better? This beautiful B&B is located in Norfolk's lovely Ghent neighborhood--perfection! Traveling alone to help my daughter through a military move, I found this was the safest, most relaxing and fun place to stay. Plus, it made the most economic sense.
Fantastic breakfasts every day always featured plentiful fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, great coffee AND yummy hot entrees (special diets are gladly accommodated). I found the other guests at the dining room table to be interesting, friendly, and as happy as I was to be there. Many were repeat visitors. All appreciated the free on site parking, free wi-fi & great proximity to the city's sights, not to mention the elegance of the historic home and the TLC our hosts provided! There were treats from candy, cookies, to fresh fruit and tea and lemonade available throughout the day.
I didn't have a car, so loved the fact I could easily walk to the Chrysler Art Museum, which was free and featured a wonderful collection of glass from antiquity to modern with a large display of Tiffany art glass. Also, there was a good variety of paintings, sculpture and photography from different eras. A nice gift shop and cafe are on site as well.
Debbie, the Inn's owner, and her assistant, Kim, gave me great tips on places to eat lunch or dinner within walking distance. Plus, they were nurturing to my daughter and me after a difficult moving day, and fed us an especially delicious breakfast the day after. It felt like home (only more stylish). It was hard to say goodby. But, like other guests, I hope to return.

Room Tip: The rooms are all spacious and well decorated. There is a suite on the ground level, and rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grapeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is my second time staying here. Very clean, spacious, elegant and accommodating. Breakfast has always been great. Good coffee. Parking on site. Three floors. no elevator. I like any second floor room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norfolk
0.8 km away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
10.9 km away
The Founders Inn and Spa
The Founders Inn and Spa
#15 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,181 reviews
1.2 km away
Hilton Norfolk the Main
Hilton Norfolk the Main
#1 of 37 in Norfolk
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.4 km away
Freemason Inn Bed & Breakfast
8.5 km away
Hampton Inn Norfolk Naval Base
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Page House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Page House Inn

Address: 323 Fairfax Ave, Norfolk, VA 23507-2215
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Norfolk
Price Range: $128 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing