We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
118
170
41
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
170
41
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel one night fog horn recommend this hotel pleasant stay nice pool coastal route hired bikes pool area bread piano bar turn right leaving early spacious common areas octopus ten minute walk hotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 355 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2016

Booked with Travelsphere, Hotel in a residential area, but a short 20min max walk to the small town of Esponsende, 15 min walk the other way to the Atlantic, lovely sandy beach...The hotel itself is on the main road, our room was overlooking the lovely pool... Rooms are quite large, bed comfortable, pillows quite soft... Very very clean.. bathroom a bit tired, but clean and met our needs., Hotel staff are very helpful must give a mention to the amazing Barman Pedro.. Who made the most amazing cocktails,nothing was to much trouble..

Room tip: Best rooms overlooking the pool, to avoid the Atlantic winds, we had room 221, had a lovely big balcony.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lesley137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2016

Yes, we walked across the bridge, through Esponsende, and right to our hotel! The Hotel Suave Mar was a welcome home for the night after our first day of pilgrimage walking! The bar and lounge was delightful, the bartender top notch, made the most genuine positive comments about Americans and America I've experienced travelling! I could easily just stay a week and relax by the awesome pool!

Room tip: Have a sangria! Get great tips on the local restaurants!
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2016

This is a nice accommodation, in front of the beach, it has good quality room, with cosy furniture and a large bed.
It has a balcony and its a very quiet place to stay, very comfortable, and has nice staff.
The Lighthouse has some noise, but its not hotel fault, if you are distracted you easily ignore it.
Great place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alzinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2015

Not been to the Suave Mar hotel for several year, I used to stay there every month when working in Portugal. The hotel is still well maintained, friendly staff and in a lovely situation. I spent time there recently with my wife and was fortunate to have room 107 an Ocean Suite. I stay in many hotels worldwide, this whilst becoming old is fabulously designed. Well worth a visit.

Room tip: Room 107 has always been my preference
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2015

We enjoyed our balcony over looking the central outdoor pool, but it was too cold for the pool...it beaconed and teased us. I'd go back in the warmer months just to hang out there. The rooms are large and comfortable. We stopped here while walking the Camino Portuguese on the Coastal route. The hotel is on the inlet with views over the kite surfing areas a marina. Highly recommended, a great off season value.

Room tip: second floor internal with a balcony and view of the pool
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews