We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price good hotel on edge of Gaia close to lovely village and good views”
Review of Ibis Porto Gaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Porto Gaia
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights on partial business and partial holiday.
Had 3rd floor room with lovely view across estuary and onto sand.
Great location to walk to Gaia (1 hour) or down to local village which has many bars and restaurants and a lovely cake shop.
Taxis are cheap to travel around - 5 euros to central Gaia to the port houses.
Beach is 1 hour walk or taxi ride away.
Good breakfast buffet and small menu for food at other times.
Nice tables outside in small garden when weather is good.
Friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for river view room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lyndac00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2016

A good and clean hotel with very friendly personnel. proper rooms with all necessary equipment. nice, complete breakfast. A joyful stay. At a modest price, so value for money. Located at the crosspoints of major highways in Porto

Room Tip: not really
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nassetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2015

This Ibis is a very good hotel at Porto City. Free parking is easily accessible, quiet leaving the foot and go downtown. The breakfast is very diverse containing fruit, yogurt, breads and cakes. To facilitate provide juicer, toaster and microwave. The common areas are good and clean. The room is needed for your stay, with bathroom and accessories.

Room Tip: Near Porto downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restucchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Room was small, but nice and cozy. Renovation on progress thus loud voices in our room, otherwise there was no other disturbances. Free parking outside. Access to the hotel a bit tricky, got a few wrong turns along the way. Overall, just a nice budget hotel on its price range.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Heru Adi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastos S, Manager at Ibis Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2015

Dear Heru Adi,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Porto Gaia. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sérgio Bastos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

Comfortable stay, with friendly and helpful staff. It is best to have a car with this hotel, which has ample free parking. There are no restaurants or shopping close by. the continental breakfast is OK but I believe it is over priced as with all of the Ibis hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank jmtwy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bastos S, Manager at Ibis Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

We stopped here for 1 night between flights from the UK to the Azores.
We chose it for value and it didn't disappoint, taxi from casa de musica cost just €7 and only took 5 mins to reach the hotel.
We were greeted with a smile by the reception team and given all the information we needed for the 1night stop.
Bar staff were friendly and attentive, I would advise against the breakfast if you have time in the morning to head into e city as for a continental it was quite pricey.
Rooms were adequate although a little dated and the use of artex was a little excessive. The new beds are amazing and a really good size
Would defiantly consider this hotel again

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastos S, Manager at Ibis Porto Gaia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Thank you for your kind coments regarding to your stay in Hotel Ibis Porto Gaia
I'm delighted that you have enjoy your stay and I'll share with my team. We work in order to get your satisfaction.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Sérgio Bastos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vila Nova de Gaia hotels
0 km away
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De Gaia
Hotel Ibis Budget Vila Nova De G...
#9 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
424 reviews
0.1 km away
Novotel Porto Gaia
Novotel Porto Gaia
#5 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,098 reviews
2.1 km away
Park Hotel Porto Gaia
Park Hotel Porto Gaia
#7 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mercure Porto Gaia
Mercure Porto Gaia
#3 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
543 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
Holiday Inn Porto Gaia
#2 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
856 reviews
2.6 km away
The Yeatman
The Yeatman
#1 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Porto Gaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Porto Gaia

Address: Sao Sebastiao Rua Martir Sao Sebastiao 247, Vila Nova de Gaia 4400-499, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Vila Nova de Gaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vila Nova de Gaia
Price Range: C$58 - C$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Porto Gaia 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Porto Gaia hotel is located close to the entrance to Porto, just 4 km from the historical centre. The hotel is 12 km from Porto airport, 15 km from the Exponor Exhibition Centre and 5 minutes drive from the famous Porto wine cellars and the centre of Vila Nova de Gaia. Book one of our 108 airconditioned rooms and make use of our restaurant, terrace area, snack bar open 24hrs, private outdoor parking and 3 meeting rooms. Business and holiday guests alike will appreciate use of WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Porto Gaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Porto Gaia Portugal/Vila Nova De Gaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing