We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
405
213
65
20
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
213
65
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building several buildings across the river walking distance wi fi stayed nights lots of space hotel grounds secure parking excellent room went smoothly by foot large area small town comfortable rooms town centre breakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 710 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Our room was about the furthest it could be from reception. It was at least a 10 minute walk with luggage over cobblestone paths. The room itself was very large and comfortable. Breakfast was not good. There was a large Chinese tour group in the hotel and descended on breakfast like locusts and taking all the tables in the process. As we were travelling by ourselves, it was over whelming. We ate dinner in the two on-site restaurants while we were there, and although the food was good, the wait time was too long to get a menu and then obtain the food. However, the hotel is in walking distance of Suzdal town centre and Kremlin as well as a number of the tourist sites. Service at reception was mediocre but not all that helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

We have been coming back here twice now. Lovely hotel. Rooms in traditional wooden houses are much better. Location is excellent!
Hotel has a few restaurants and you can always take a walk towards the center if you are looking for more options.
Breakfast was pretty bad tho. I would definitely skip that!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tsash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018

The only "accessible" room was on the 3rd floor and no lifts so had to settle for a room with a bath which was unusable. The room was clean and so to were the grounds, the staff were friendly. The breakfast was so-so. The hotel is in need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandE_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

Hotel grounds were huge and hotel room was clean. We stayed in the rooms in the main building. As there was no elevators, we were able to bring our luggages up the stairs ourselves. If you have older group members, you may need to get porters to help.

The on site restaurant we tried wasn’t that great but there weren’t many options around. Reception was manned by staff who didn’t appear to be friendly.

Location is right next to the open air museum if that is important to you.

I still gave this 4 stars because I appreciate that the hotel is in a small town and it was a very comfortable stay for us in spite of the points I made above.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank h00ked0ntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

A quaint themed complex in a small, historic Russian village sounds great ... until you arrive.

Unhelpful, unsmiling receptionists are probably to be expected in Russia but this hotel has the pick of the crop. Arrival is into a nice enough reception lobby with a friendly cat greeting you at the door but it stops there ... it’s a low oppressive space with corridors leading off... prison like!

The rooms are located in separate buildings set in pleasant landscapes grounds... a bit of a walk to get to them. Luckily fine weather when we visited. Porters are available to take your bag of course .. they expect a tip. Probably a good thing to use them as there are flights of steps all through the buildings ... no lifts! And definitely no smiles or courtesies from the porters when they do arrive at your room.

Corridors leading to the rooms are amply proportioned but dark... and as previously mentioned have short flights of stairs along them... no ramps. Even at the main entry doors to our building there appeared to be no disabled access possible... I’m sure they must cater for disabled but it certainly wasn’t obvious.

The room.... large and old style Russian theme. “Grandma” wall paper and artworks, swagged curtains set the decor along with heavy dark carved timber doors etc... strangely no actual usable curtains to the windows so expect to freeze from the cold coming in through the windows at night and be awoken at first light!! The wall mounted tv ... showing all Russian language channels, is tiny so bring your binoculars if you expect to watch from bed.

The air conditioning is noisy also.. necessary during our visit in September to prevent the cold from creeping in at night through the unprotected windows! Not environmentally a good thing I think.

Clean yes ... adequate yes... but that’s about all...

The bed... where to start??
It was simply the most uncomfortable soft, saggy bed I’ve ever tried to sleep in.. I actually ended up sleeping on the floor with a doona wrapped around me such was the unsupportive old tired thing on offer... a huge valley in the middle made it almost impossible to get out of! A terrible nights sleep in short.

The bathroom was clean but a shower over the bath was treacherous to get in and out off given the deep nature of the bath. Controls though were easy to use.

Toiletries basic.. cheap “one detergent does all” (Dove) squeeze bottles at the basin and shower.. no tissues either....no pampering here but I suppose it is Russia after all. Interestingly the hot water supply at the basin was swapped... flick the mixer to cold to get (very)hot water! Dangerous!

Wifi... essential today and at least free. If you can access it.. it took 6 attempts with 6 different codes offered (after walking all the way back to reception) from the surly unhelpful receptionists who didn’t even offer to assist. Just kept pointing to the instruction card on the lobby desk.

Food... our group was to dine here at one of the 4 restaurants on offer but at the last minute taxis were summonsed and we all went to a local pizza shop... such was the food on offer at the restaurants at the hotel. Given the standard of pizza then all I can say is the restaurant offer must have been pretty bad..

All in all even one star is generous... perhaps just a day visit to Suzdal from Vladimir 30km away.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank maweijian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews