We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,135)
Filter reviews
2,135 results
Traveller rating
874
747
294
114
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
874
747
294
114
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marina del sol sales pitch promotional holiday on site safari restaurant sams pantry free week time share washing machine sunset bar welcome pack santa cruz suites self catering bed apartment heated pool large resort hired a car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,346 - 1,351 of 2,135 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Marina del Sol part of the resort for a week for £99 on the basis that we would attend a timeshare presentation. Our assigned holiday consultant, Deano, was a very nice chap and it wasn't too difficult to spend a morning with him, resisting buying a timeshare. The morning presentation included a buffet breakfast which was really very nice, although we had to sit around for quite a while before being let loose on it, resulting in me getting a bit 'hangry'. Deano's boss made the occasional appearance, attempting the hard sell, but that wasn't so difficult to rebuff. We were firm with them and they returned us to our accommodation after less than 4 hours.

The accommodation was very good, in particular it was very well equipped with washing up liquid and fly spray and a welcome pack of eggs, bread, milk, butter, jam, OJ, tea, coffee, filters, salt, pepper and biscuits! It was reasonably modern and comfortably furnished. Although it was a shame not to have patio doors taking advantage of the view, our ground floor apartment had a lovely grassed area outside which had an open 180 degree view across rooftops to the mountains and sea. The 2 pools were very nice and clean.

We had tea and cakes at the little coffee shop on the resort, which was reasonable value, and we had dinner on our first night at one of the resort restaurants, El Rancho, which was overpriced slop. If we hadn't arrived so late at night we would never have eaten somewhere like this. It was both the most expensive and the worst meal of our whole holiday.

The good news is there are many great restaurants and tapas bars to be found in the centre of Fuengirola, the most authentic ones being just off the main square and not in the 'strip' fronting the sea. Taking a fairly leisurely stroll from our apartment (which was near CLC main reception) you could reach the main square in 45 minutes. You don't really hit any eateries until about 25 minutes in to this walk. The first part of the walk is grotty - either walk along 'dog beach' or take the footbridge across the motorway to reach the seafront promenade footpath. The dog beach route takes you through a tunnel (basically a large surface water drain) to the beach, which rather than a romantic stroll is more like a careful avoidance of all the dog mess (it's where the locals take their dogs to relieve themselves). The other option is a dusty wasteland path up to the footbridge and across the motorway. We decided the latter was better. Once you've got to the seafront promenade path though (about 10 mins in) the walk is rather nice.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank CarolineWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2014

We were invited in March 2014 to this resort by Club La Costa for a small fee of £99 for a one week duration stay. The only condition was that during our stay, we attended a meeting either in the morning or the afternoon. (The meeting actually went on from 9.15 am to 2.30pm).
We were informed prior to arriving for our vacation, that we would be staying in a house style property in the Marina Del Sol area of the complex. Wrong! We were put in a ground floor apartment at the California Beach Resort, which was at the other end of the complex. We then had to travel by taxi from one end of the complex to the other. The taxi driver, aged about 65-70, drove like a stock car driver round all the bends, dodging in and out of other vehicles including the complex's own noddy train, to arrive at the CBR just about in one piece. For this fairground ride we had to pay 7 euros. It only cost 11 euros to travel to the complex from Fuengerola train station!
The CBR end of the complex is a distance from most of the other amenities on site so is either a long walk up and down and around some hilly areas of the site or via the noddy train which is supposed to be every half hour apart from a break early afternoon and again in the evening.
The train is sometimes replaced by a minibus. The only way to know this is by a little picture of a train stuck on the front window of the bus. The train is very unreliable as we found out on numerous occasions. One particular driver spent more time sat at stops playing games on his mobile phone than actually driving. He had a 20 minute break at Santa Cruz, drove us to Marina Del Sol (10 mins) then had another 20 minute break. We hadn't even reached our destination so we got off and walked the rest of the way.
The only shop at Santa Cruz is that small you couldn't swing one of the many complex cats. The only good point about this shop is Sharon. She is a very nice English lady who is very helpful in informing you of anything you may want to know about any local events and to purchase tickets for local shows.
The apartment was very clean and spacious and had everything we needed for the duration of our stay i.e. hairdryer, iron, TV (ancient), DVD player, free safe, etc. The only downside was the double bed. They definitely need to buy some new mattresses. The lawn outside the apartment was two rolls of plastic grass with weeds popping up through it.
The food in the Safari Restaurant near our end of the resort and Zachary's at the other end of the resort was excellent but a little over priced. The buffet breakfast at The Safari restaurant was very expensive at 27 euros for two persons.The beer (San Miguel) at Zachary's was flat on both occasions we visited this bar. Most evenings we either walked in to Fuengerola for a meal or drink, or walked through the subway to the little restaurant on the beach at the front of the resort.
Now for the meeting itself. We were greeted by Nick who had been trying his hardest to sell holidays for only three months. He was a really nice guy but we weren't going to be taken in by any of his sales talk. If he needed assistance he called for his boss, Ross, or Rossi as he liked to be known. He was a young cockney who gave us the impression that he had still not given up his day job in England as a car salesman. They ask you how much do you spend on average each year on holidays and then try to convince you that it would be cheaper to buy "fractions" from CLC and you could then holiday from their resorts all over the world. They don't take in to consideration that you would still have to pay extra for your flights to these destinations or that there is a maintenance cost of £900 per year on top. If you went away for four weeks per year, would you expect to pay an additional £225 per week of your stay for maintenance costs on top of your flights, meals and "fractions". If you do, then go and see "Rossi". He may even throw in a free ride on the noddy train.

Room tip: If you want a relatively quiet nights sleep ask for a top floor. I don't think the person above us ever took their high heels off. You could hear every footstep from the room above. I'm not quite sure what his wife was walking round in though!!! I'm saying relatively quiet as on two nights we were woken at 2am by ferrule dogs barking like mad at a cat that they had chased up a tree right outside our front door.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
16  Thank frankr07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at CLC Club La Costa World, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I was slightly puzzled to see that, while enjoying your exceptional value promotional holiday, you felt the need to travel by taxi from one resort location to another – the fare for which is governed by the mandatory use of a taximeter with a €4.60 official minimum tariff! The resort in which you stayed is, like the other resorts at Club La Costa World, set in exotic tropical gardens carefully tended by our dedicated team of gardeners, who also tend the gardens attached to individual apartments. It enjoys an attractive swimming pool, and the gym, kids’ club, restaurant, bar and live entertainment are all within a few minutes walk. Our resorts are built on undulating hillside which we do appreciate can be a little testing on the way back up! But the advantage is that we enjoy panoramic views of both coast and mountains and our road train which links the resorts is very popular so I was sorry to see that you did not feel that it met your needs. Our excellent value promotional holidays enable guests to find out more about the different options we have to offer for people who enjoy holidaying each year and who may be interested in quality accommodation plus a wide range of membership benefits. Our members can take advantage of special offers at resorts around the world throughout the year, which means they can holiday as much or as little as they choose at prices that compare very favourably with traditional package holidays. With 30 years of experience of offering holidays we set high standards for our accommodation and services but we do, of course, recognise that our way of holidaying is not for everyone.
Resort Manager, Costa del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2014

We have been Vacation Club members since 2002 and regularly visit CLC World sites but our favourite is the one on Mijas Costa. We booked a last minute week away, just myself and hubby, were allocated a studio apartment in San Diego Suites.
The apartment was clean and well laid out, making good use of the available space. There were sufficient amenities (kitchenette with 2 ring hob; combination microwave/grill; bathroom with shower/bath, WC & bidet; good size balcony; comfortable queen sized bed; dining table with 2 seats both indoors and out) Apart from a technical problem with the washing machine (which was sorted out proficiently by the Maintenance Team), all went swimmingly, efficient & friendly check-in, regular trash collection from the apartment, clean linen three times and cleaning twice.
The on site staff were friendly, courteous, helpful and well turned out. The resort grounds were immaculate and well groomed. We frequented the poolside Sunrise Bar on a few occasions in the early evenings. The "entertainment" was along the lines of a northern working mens club style but the performers were enthusiastic enough! :)
We did not hire a car, used the RENFE train service to and from Fuengirola/ Malaga airport; travelled between the resort and Fuengirola on the local Portillo bus service (across the main road, near the beach restaurant). This worked very well.

Room tip: Tell reception staff what you are looking for, they will do their best to help.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabyLionheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the complex and have to say for £99 it was excellent value. Our accommodation was in a block behind the main reception so for us everything was nearby. I can understand that it is a bit of a hike if you are located in other areas as the complex is huge.

Our accommodation was excellent for the price and we were lucky to have a room with air con. The kitchen was fully fitted, with everything we needed. We were missing the welcome pack that others have mentioned but our room was available 3hrs before check in so a small price to pay.

We had our presentation the second day, which was good for us as it enabled us to relax and enjoy the rest of the holiday afterwards. It is hard sell and it does go on for hours but we we accepted this as part of the cheap deal. I do think they could half the time it takes as you are left feeling exhausted afterwards. We didn't take up the offer ourselves as we are due to get married soon and having no young children at home, can take advantage of last minute deals and like the flexibility of the numerous holiday deals available elsewhere. I can see how easy it is to sign up for membership as it was presented as very inviting.

The complex is a little way out, taking a good half an hour to walk into Fuengirola itself. For us it wasn't a problem but for those with young children or elderly, less mobile people it could be more isolating. However the actual resort is lovely. Its well maintained, quiet (where we were) and has excellent security. We couldn't fault it.

We ate out a couple of evenings in the El Tajo restaurant and it was excellent. Reasonable, with gorgeous food. We also ate in The Streets of London restaurant in La Cala De Mijas (the next town towards Marbella), which was delicious English food and great if you have children. The rest of the time we cooked and ate on our balcony, which was just as enjoyable.

We hired a car for two days from Helle Hollis in Fuengirola and returned it at the airport on our way home. Much cheaper deal than from the resort. We explored Granada, Marbella and numerous mountain villages. Comares is beautiful, with spectacular scenery but a little scary on the mountain road we took to get there.

This deal is great as long as you accept it as a cheap week away and do not sign up for something you don't want or can't afford. We really couldn't fault our time here, it was lovely.

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank karenpattenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2014

You need to be a good walker to stay here or have plenty of money for taxis. The rooms are fantastic. Very modern with full air conditioning, nice welcome pack on arrival with essentials. The free "train" around the complex helps as the supermarket is right in the bottom corner. Only went to "Zacary's" bar once. Don't like my drinks slammed down at me and hate been ignored until it was time to pay and give a tip!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank HannahP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews