We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday, fantastic views and very...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Poco Loco

A Beautiful Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Beautiful Terrace
Hot Tub & Jacuzzi Al Fresco Dining on the Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
A Beautiful Terrace
Hot Tub & Jacuzzi
Al Fresco Dining on the Terrace
Secondary Lounge
Master Bedroom Suite
Twin Bedroom
Double or Twin Bedroom
Entrance Hall
Bathroom
Guest Bathroom - Living Floor
Main Lounge/Dining
Steps down to the 'vertical' Garden
Local Miraflores Golf Club Terrace Restaurant
Local Spanish Restaurant & Bar
Local Restaurants, Bar & Supermarket Complex
Local Beach
Local Beach Restaurant & Bar
Large Supermarket at the bottom of the Hill
More Secondary Lounge Area
Second Dining Table
Comfortable Lounge Seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mijas, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
white0wl
Portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday, fantastic views and very relaxing”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Ellie met us at the villa to show us the various equipment and rooms. She was pro-active and very helpful. We met her again a couple of times during the holiday.

The villa is very large with some very nice touches including free wi-fi. Given the excellent weather, we used the outside kitchen all the time. It was extremely useful and we only used the upstairs kitchen fridge and freezer as top up for the outside one. The dishwasher was a great bonus meaning it was not necessary to return upstairs to the main kitchen to wash up. We used the gas bbq a number of times which made eating outside on an evening very pleasurable.

With excellent weather we didn't use the inside of the villa other than for sleeping etc. The bedrooms were clean and spacious. Air con was very useful as the villa warmed up quickly in the sun.

The position of the villa at the top of the hill provides amazing views over the sea. The pictures do not do justice to the view.

There are a number of supermarkets in the area but for a big shop it is better to go to the hypermarket near Fungirola. A car is essential for this villa given the hillside position. This then makes it easy to explore the area. A trip to Puorta Banus is a must to mingle with the Ferriari's, Bentley's, Aston Martin's and the amazing yachts.

Overall we had a wonderful holiday and would have no hesitation in recommending the villa to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the patio area
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extetnal pool, patio, kitchen area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eric W
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I checked out quite few rentals before settling for Casa Poco Loco and I have to say I was more than pleased with my choice, everything about it was great the location was wonderful, it was handy for everything you would need on holiday, beach, golf, restaurants, grocery stores and not far from the heart of Marbella or Banus if you like that sort of thing.

The amenities were very good and the pool a firm favourite with all and the views were a bonus.

Inside the villa we found it to be well equipped, spacious and very comfortable, it was also clean and the meet & greet a nice touch.

Real bonus for us was 2 lounges 1 each (adults & kids) and the outside kitchen was great, I would go again and can highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside Kitchen & 2 lounges
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool/patio area, views
Liked least: The journey home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and hot tub at the end of a hot day
Liked least: leaving.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hlloyd
Chelmsford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Villa position trading off the views - with little attention to detail”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

On our arrival we were met by Elly (the Spanish agency representative), I don't know if she was very busy or just tired as her welcome talk/ walk through was certainly NOT welcoming - the blinds are broken/ fragile don't touch, the patio door lock is broken - don't use etc etc. These things were all pointed out to us but never seemed to have a resolution, even though the owners were aware of these problems.
So when Elly went we had a look around, the upstairs is very nice with 2 lounges (not sure why you would need 2 we were a party of 6 ranging from 17-68 years and we never used the second lounge???) and its obvious they have bought it lock, stock and barrel as most things are just so.
We then went downstairs to the bedrooms - very disappointing - small, dark rooms with rock hard beds and pillows. Also I went to use the bathroom towel which is dark brown to see stains on them as if somebody had dyed their hair, not very appealing to use!
We then went out to the pool side, the first thing that struck me was that there were only 4 beds, even though it is advertised to sleep 6!! and on closer inspection of the beds, they were old and fithy with stained cushions and apart from the overhang of the house there was no parasol for shade.
All around the house there were bits falling off, the door handles in the twin room and the bathroom downstairs. In the upstairs bathroom there were 2 ceramic spikes protruding from the wall rather dangerously at hip or small childs head height, these were the broken remnants of a towel and toilet roll holder, we know this as we found the broken bits in the bathroom cabinet!!
The villa was very clean but there wasn't a hoover/ brush to keep it clean, we had to buy absolutely everything for the villa - hand soap, toilet roll, kitchen roll, washing up liquid etc - I do think these sort of basics should be included.
Also there didn't seem to be a set of matching plates/ dishes, but dont worry they had at least 6 different wine, brandy, whiskey & champagne glasses!
One thing I did feel a little nervous about was the lack of plastic/ melamine glassware/ tableware in the downstairs kitchen by the pool/ patio area, very dangerous especially in the pool!
After the pool man had been on the Tuesday so 4 days into our holiday, he had used a cheap (surprise, surprise) pool chemical that instantly turned our hair and bikinis GREEN ! We have a pool so we are more than aware of these things, but if you buy the correct product there is no need for green hair etc.
All in all I would say it could be a fantastic villa that the owner describes in his advert, but you need to spend some money to bring it up to standard and keep it there before you should be asking the £1,400 per week we paid.
PS we have stayed in all sorts of apartments and villas in this area so I am speaking from a little bit of experience.
Also Eyedeal E of Stourbridge - don't worry he's now bought a counter top oven that would maybe fit a small chicken in - I am so glad I read yur review as we were wondering why it was there - Very strange..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: The general disrepair and shoddiness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2013
This is a villa that at the peak of the Spanish property market would have sold for over £800,000. As such there any number of special features that we feel need covering on arrival. So we employ a professional Managing Agency and at our cost have a personal meet and greet service at the outset of the holiday. What Ellie was doing was going through the various features and controls that are in place. Hardly negative at all - basically all the poor girl was doing was her job. Her reaction is 'these people wanted to find fault from the moment they arrived.' We have an ongoing maintenance programme. The sad fact is that guests break or damage items and don't tell us. Yet to date we have never withheld a penny from the £500 damage we collect upfront - probably just too nice! Dealing with some of these 'points'. How can we be criticised for having two lounges?? Most families appreciate the separate area for the children. Don't understand about the small 'dark' bedrooms. Two lead directly onto the pool and have light from windows on two sides of the room - maybe they kept the shutters, curtains closed? The beds are not 'rock hard' - my family sleep in them often very well. The first thing this group did was to demand 2 more sunbeds even though we do not advertise 6 sunbeds just that the villa sleeps 6. So, we went out and bought two sunbeds! And a parasol! Again not advertised. Good to know the villa was 'very clean'. It should be, after every client we spend at least 10 maid hours cleaning everything thoroughly. This group contacted us with just a very few of the points they now list. I took what they said about the lack of 'essential' everyday items at face value and arranged for my agent to repay them for anything that they had bought. In fact she tells me that every bathroom had a toilet roll, soap, the kitchen had black bags, dish washing fluid, a few dishwasher tablets etc. Just what you would expect, nothing more or less. There were a set of plastic items for poolside use but they obviously couldn't find them. We have had problems with the chlorine element in the pool. It can a bit trial and error but this is the first I have heard from this group about any problems of this nature. I believe that Timm our poolman, gardener has now perfected the right combination. It does seem strange that the next family came in the same day as this group left and have a wonderful time. If you want to find fault, you will inevitably find it. I see every rental from the view of the client and our only wish is for people to enjoy the great facilities and location. As I mentioned we have a continual maintenance programme to rectify any matters that may arise. Out of 40 rentals we have just these two reviews. I will now go out and ask previous guests to write a review if they have the time. The comments above are certainly not representative of the experience of the vast majority of rentors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eyedeal E
Stourbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Villa, lovely views, poor kitchen equipment, rude unpleasant owner”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were not going to write a review on this Villa however i thought that future holiday makers should be aware of what we came across. The Villa was clean and the decor was nice and the views were lovely. However it is not suitable if you want to self cater as we wanted to, as stated on the website it tells you it has a fully fitted kitchen and this is not the case as we found out the day after we arrived. The kitchen did not have an oven as stated and we were told by Spanish Agent looking after the property it had been removed due to the fact that it was causing electrical problems, we were not informed of this when we booked.

As we had been shopping on the first day on the way to the property we had purchased large quantities of food that could only be cooked in the oven and not the microwave so we were very disappointed and threw most of it away as there was no way of cooking it. We ended up having to eat out most of the time and with teenagers was quite costly defeated part of the reason we had booked the villa. Also the jaquzzi kept tripping the electric in the Villa so had to be turned off by ourselves so we were able to put the lights and use the shower, this was reported whilst we were there but nothing was done about it, so this meant the jaquizzi was unusable throughout the majority of our stay.

On our return we contacted the owner in regard to the issues and requested some compensation for the inconvenience and problems it had caused us whilst we were there due to the false advertising. His response was very rude and athough he eventually reluctantly gave us a small refund, it was accompanied by a very rude and unpleasant letter!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: No oven, problems with electric in the Villa, Rude owner
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2013
From the outset this group was trying to find fault. We have a very well equipped kitchen - in fact two - one inside and one outside. We offer two micro wave ovens but the group took offence at not having a full oven
as apparently they intended to spend the whole time eating at the property and never going out! Every complaint was answered courteously but because it obviously wasn't what they wished to hear I am labelled 'rude and unpleasant'(email corespondence provided on request!). I have many letters of thanks and appreciation for stays at the villa but I don't tend to solicit guests to put them on 'Trip Advisor' - maybe in future I should! Casa Poco Loco remains a wonderful house in a great location and extremely popular.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing