We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable base for visiting the Costa Del Sol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Reno/Sparks
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very comfortable base for visiting the Costa Del Sol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Just returned from Club Marbella/Regency Palms September 14th 2011

We really enjoyed this resort. We used it as a base spot, as we had a car and we visited many locations on the Costa Del Sol. We booked through RCI and have no complaints. It was clean and well appointed. We were comfortable and felt completely safe. The resort does have a lot of steps but it is not bad. There is a nice pool area and restuarant etc... Our unit was set up to sleep 6 and had plenty of room. The kitchen had a micro wave, stove top, fridge and clothes washer - dishes utensils etc... (even some soap for the washer). We had a car and we were glad - driving in Andalucia is not bad at all - pretty similar to the states - traffic was not real bad either. It was a nice drive out to Ronda and over to Fuengirola, we even drove to the border of Gibraltar - all of this with a rental car from Malaga and we put on less than 800 KM. Several days we drove minimal to the beach at Cabopino - which I highly recommend. We rented two beach beds under an umbrella for 10 euro for the pair each day we went to Cabopino. There is great food at the beach too - Andy's and the Fish/Chips place both were great!!

Back to the Club Marbella Regency - no air conditioning but not a problem we left the windows open at night and ran the ceiling fans - we were very comfortable. Nice bathrooms - everything was really great - flat screen TV with cable programming in the family room (a TV in the bed room would be nice) - english, spanish and german tv. There is a free wifi zone, Wifi in the room is more matybe 30 euros for the week? We used the zone. The safe was only 1 euro a day and we used it. There is a "pay" to use the internet room - very reasonable and you can email stuff to the front desk if you need it printed. We saw many families enjoying the resort and we really found it to be an excellent time share - better than average. We also felt very safe and had absolutely no issues to complain about. We are seasoned travellers who appreciate a nice uncomplicated place to stay. For us this was perfect! Be sure and go to Fuengirola, Gibraltar and up to Ronda and don't miss Cabopino beach - i think the hotel bus drops people at Cabopino but parking there is free and seemed to be safe too. The staff at Club Marbella were excellent and helpful - spoke perfect english and gave great directions/advice. Thank you Club Marbella!! ( I dropped a star for not having a TV in the bedroom and for not having AC - everyone can improve a little.)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    147
    92
    31
    18
See reviews for
202
82
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Wasn't expecting much with this resort because of what I had read. It actually is a very good resort.

The room we were in wasn't the most modern room and if there had been 4 of us like I had originally booked for, then 1 of us would have been sitting on the floor or a table chair. We obviously didn't get a renovated room.

From talking to some timeshare owners and my own experience, the Resort is one of the most run down ones, (room wise) so some TLC wouldn't go astray.

The location of our room was very good, we had a view of the ocean in the distance and were far enough away from the traffic noise.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful. We had 3 tours booked (not through them) and when it was time to confirm the tours, the staff took care of it for me. Excellent help seeing I don't speak spanish.

The only issue I had was that some of the bar staff weren't always friendly and often quite rude to some of the older kids. We ate their once and that was enough. We got cheaper meals in the town centre. The location of the resort is excellent though and not too far to walk down to the main highway.

The pool was always busy but we did manage to get lounges on the occasions that we wanted one late in the day.l

With some of the t/s money spent on this resort, it would come up trumps and be more than just a convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kezzaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamilton /lanakshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

got there 11pm after paying for 2 taxis from Malaga airport
6 of us three adults three ninios
50 euro each cab,cant believe there's no 7 seater's in the whole of Malaga.
as advised buy or booking conformation we went to club marrbella ,this is 1 of 7 different places to stay at crown resorts,some are in callahonda ours was in riverera del sol or RDS 5 min by car but hills everywhere ,we got the furthest away resort of club caronte not ideal if your with a pensioner and 3 kids.15 mins walk to a few bars and a large supermercado.20 min walk beech/bus stop to fungerola (45min)or marbella (30min).in this area RDS the taxis were a rip off i think there is an air of upper-class in this area so everywhere but the supermarket is on the expensive side of living(someone needs to let them no we all cant afford 24euro for a steak dinner).
2 nights in we travel to la calle de mijas only 5 min in a taxi X2 8euro each but well worth that as the restaurants are at least half the price and around 25 of them ,funny that its that cheap and only 5min in taxi or 10min on the bus(1.25euro each). Crown resorts needs to let people now witch club they will be staying at, some are lively and have much more facility's ,others only have A POOL .i paid 30 euros at the delta mar reception only to find out on our last day wifi is free at there pool (saw me coming you think) 2 bed apartment was clean large and had all you need,full kitchen including washing machine ect. no air con but there was a ceiling fan in every room. my main advice would be to hire a car for this area but its not essential.
crown has a internal bus service witch takes you to and from cabapino beech ,supermarket,all the clubs in there resort,they also sometimes come and give you a lift if you phone in advance witch was great.all in all a good resort if a bit spread out, make sure you tell them whether you want lively or secluded ..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigtosh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We have just returned from a week at Club Marbella. We were expecting to be in Club Calahonda but told we were in Marbella. The staff are quite friendly, the man in the mini-market was very friendly. We were taken to our room with someone carrying our luggage which was nice. Our room was Lovely. We had rung up for a refurbished villa before hand and we were so glad. Very spacious, lots of storage, well equipped and comfy. The plaza bit was nice, with lots of seating areas which always seemed to be taken. There was also a pool table which was spent by lots of teenage boys hanging around there. The pool was the perfect temprature and was just the right size. Always seemed to be sun-beds free which was good! The bar/resturant by the pool was very nice but very expensive. The mini-shop was cheap and had lots of english foods like beans and super noodles! Entertainment was ok, some singers were awful! The mini bus service was AWFUL! Always busy and never enough seats with a horrid driver. Beach was ok. Overall we had a nice time and we will want to come back!

Room Tip: Ring up and ask for a refurbished villa.You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hollywillsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We booked this resort from reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. It had two bedrooms and two full baths, overlooking the sea. We were assigned Club Caronte, which is the furthest of the 5 clubs from the main road. I am pregnant and can concur with the rest of the reviews that you need to be in good shape if you want to stay here, as the resort is built into the side of a hill. However, there are plenty of taxis at the bottom of the hill where the grocery store is located, which will happily drive you to the top for 6 euros. We used them a few times during our stay.

The on-site facilities are sparse, but the pool was big enough and there were many loungers to use. They also provide all-day lifeguard service, which is great if you have small children. You can use the shuttle bus to get to the other resorts to use their facilities, but the service isn't frequent from Caronte. What we really liked was that we were able to use the pool and change room at the Del Mar resort the day we left, as our flight was in the evening. It helped to pass the time while we waited out the day. 

The minibus the resort provides will take you to and from the beach, but the local bus service (#220) is more frequent. We didn't rent a car because we didn't have an international driving license with us, but bus and taxi service were really reliable. Taxi to and from the airport is about 47-55 euros and they only take cash. Bus fare for kids 3 and under is free and for everyone else about 1.60-2 euros. If you go to Fuengirola or Mijas village (highly recommended) you will have to purchase your return ticket at the main bus terminal, not on the bus itself (which is the normal practice). Many people were caught off guard by this and missed the bus back to Riviera del Sol (where the hotel is located).

The beaches in Fuengirola are better than Marbella. In Marbella the sand is very rocky because they need to dredge up sand from the sea to reclaim the beach twice a year. On both beaches there are plenty of loungers with umbrellas, but a friendly gentleman will approach you when you sit down, because you have to pay 6-9 euros each chair to use them. It was really hot there, so we paid. 

All in all, a great last-minute vacation. 

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vasselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ein-mahel,ISRAEL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I booked this resort as a member of RCI,world wide timeshare. We were two couples and we got a 2bdr appartment, it was very clean,the sitting area was very comfortable, the stuff of the resort were very very kind and helpful,the resort atraction were not bad at all ! many kinds of resturants are nearby and close to the resort , tourist information also nearby, many supermarkets are close and nearby ( at least 4 supermarkets ) and it open 7 days! A car is recomendded to tou this area: Gibraltar,Cordoba, Granada, Seville, Malaga, Cadis and all coasta del sol !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habiballah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We have stayed here a couple of times on a timeshare rental and find it suits our needs. the apartments are comfortable and clean - nothing grand but not at all shabby. We like the location of Club Marbella as it is in a quiet location and we found ways of accessing our favourite haunts on foot by avoiding having to walk along the busy main road that runs right along the costa del sol. It is not far from bars, shops and restaurants and the lovely 9 hold golf course at La Siesta. The staff are always welcomg and friendly but we found the quality of food in their Bar/ Cafe Marbella poor. The outdoor pool is quite small and I would imagine it to be overcrowded in high season. However, when we went in March it was great - also there is an indoor pool and jacuzzi plus a small gym. We know the area well and come here for the golf at La Siesta and to relax in the sunshine, so the resort meets our needs. Would I come to Calahonda for my main holiday? No - I hate that busy road that separates the beach from the rest of the resort!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherrypickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.5 km away
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
1.1 km away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 km away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#12 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Grangefield Oasis Club
Grangefield Oasis Club
#26 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
8.3 km away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
3.5 km away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort

Property: Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
Address: Sitio De Calahonda s/n Calle Monte Paraiso | Sitio de Calahonda Mijas Costa, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Hotel Mijas
Hotel Marbella Regency Palms Crown
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort Spain/Costa Del Sol - Mijas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing