We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveller rating
240
322
136
72
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
322
136
72
27
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 797 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is very new , everything looks awesome, but the staff can definitely improve on many points.
We wanted to check in and the lady that helped us spoke Spanish and German. The English was awful which left us to our own devices to figure out where our room was and how to get there. We came in around 23.00 and didn't have dinner yet, we saw that other guests who arrived at the same time got something to eat. We tried to communicate that we also would like something but there simply was no way to bring across what we wanted, so we just went to bed with an empty stomach.
The language gap is very noticeable and if you don't speak German i wouldn't book at this hotel.

However the food was great, go to the poolside where they have bbq evenings , its less busy and the food is freshly made for you.
Also the rooms are amazing, everything is new and you have a rain shower (not sure how to explain this in english) which awesome.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gwendolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Gerente at Roc Carolina, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Dear Gwendolyn S,

Thank you for your recent opinion about your stay.
We are surprised by your opinion of our staff as usually we receive excellent feedback about their friendliness.

It is true that we are focused on German speaking customers but we speak also French, Spanish and English.

We regret that we have not lived up to your expectations and that your general impression of our hotel has been negatively affected.

Kind regards

Stefanie Göhring
Hotelmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2016

This was my first ever holiday abroad in 1967. I was 12. I was fantastic.
I am a little confused as to why the write up says built in 1987.They must mean done up a bit, and slightly renamed.
The hotel looks exactly as my old photos do, even the pool .
The grounds before the beach are different with a bit more concrete but basically not much.
We used to go to the town on a local bus every other day it was so unlike London. It was so strange to see all the old ladies dressed from head to toe in black dresses and cardigans.
The men used to take their goats and chickens on the bus aswell to sell in town. The buses didn't have windows just holes.
I wanted to return for for a trip down memory lane but after reading the reviews I think I will just have very happy memories of the past.
I remember the restaurant being so so good my mum and dad had lobster as a holiday special. I had lovely hot chocolate in the lounge/ bar area where there was entertainment with singers and flamenco shows.
Times change sadly and we move on.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank valspar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

OMG...where to start ???

Room: very small, we reserved for 1 adult and 2 kids...has to practically beg for a 3rd chain for the balcony...had to ask for the 3rd bed twice.

NO Air Conditioning, hotter than hell in rooms. You must RENT a fan to cool off.

You must RENT the safe

VERY POOR internet in the lobby, VERY expensive internet in the room..ONE DEVICE ONLY per pay.

Pool is crowded in July and Aug, not enough longer chairs.

Ping Pong table are there, but the reception passes on responsibility of paddles to 'entertainment team' which is hard to track down to get them.

The lobby area is the area where the people TRY to get SOME internet service...mission impossible.

Want to sit down, sofas are generally wet from people coming in from pool. The lobby TV has no remote, you ust ask the reception to select a channel... (1930's way).

Elevators: forget it...4 pax elevator only, one of two generally not working....after 2days, you will be walking up and down unless you are willing to wait 20 minutes...

EL RANCHO GRANDE excursion...forget it. Roberto the famous host is an 86 year old on viagra...he is a pervert and was saying 18+ comments amongst children that would make your father blush....unbelievable. 180 euros for 2 pax on horse buggy, 1 child on horse.....free sangria for adults, but the kids had to pay 2 euro for a bottle of water after eating dust for an hour on the horse ride....NOT RECCOMENDED!!!

The scuba diving discovery is misleading...the pamphlet refers to visiting the edge of caves...not the case, just out from the public beach.

The hotel does have a good view and the ocean is very close (public beach).

All in all, great place if you are desperate or stuck without accomodations.

Food in cafeteria is OK, some change day on day...good for kids...but nothing classy....no chef to be seen...simply industrial food for the masses.

Marmara has really lowered their standard with this hotel.....a genuine money grab You will probably regret !!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2015

We stayed at Roc Carolina in August 2015 with Marmara. The location is really nice: public beach is very closed to the hotel and all the rooms have a balcony and a nice view on the sea. The bad things now: no air conditioning and it was very difficult to sleep with the heat of August!.We asked for a fan (15 € per week) but could get one (not enough fans for all the rooms). Moreover it was very noisy all day long (from 10.am to 12.am) : animations around the pool , shows every evening. and young shouting outside... It is impossible to find a quite place in the hotel. I

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roc H, Directeur général at Roc Carolina, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015
Google Translation

nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire et regrettons que vous n'ayez pu apprécié votre séjour dans notre hôtel Roc Carolina dans toute son intégralité. Nous tenons a rappeler que notre hotel est avant toute chose un club proposant des activités réalisées tout au long de la journée.
Nous espérons néanmoins pouvoir vous compter parmi nos futurs clients lors d'un prochain séjour et ainsi répondre a toutes vos attentes,
Rafael Alvarez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2014

This place could have been great. It wasn't. The staff were rude, the rooms awful and the food utterly vile. It was a huge rip off from start to finish. Only decent thing was the view. Ended up spending a fortune on a hire car and eating in restaurants because being trapped at that hotel was unbearable.

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vixster28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews