We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,591)
Filter reviews
2,591 results
Traveller rating
1,752
636
158
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,752
636
158
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splash pool pirate ship kids club self catering rimini restaurant thomson reps soft play area main pool next year family holiday entertainment team young children evening entertainment excellent family hotel kids love tots half board
Filter
Updating list...
2,225 - 2,230 of 2,591 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2011

good clean hotel. staff and food excellent. we stayed self catering but had a few lunches at the pool which were very good ( and huge) few minutes walk from the seafront. cala bona very nice quiet marina seafront no loud bars but make sure you visit sanddancers on the back road, faz tracey and little faz all good

Room tip: very nice staff
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penny19kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Bonaire Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Bonaire Aparthotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2011

My wife and I got a last minute deal for 5 nights at the Bonaire.

The hotel was very very clean and well maintained. Most of the staff were OK but nothing special ( a lot were english , so expect the usual english attitude) . The room we had was of a good size and clean. The maid did come in regulary but only made the bed , she did not generally tidy up or clean around durinfg our stay.

The facilities in the hotel were somewhat limited and do not match the services offered by a normal 4 four star. The food was OK but again nothing special. The English breakfast was cold most mornings and the selection of food was quite poor - Another reason why this is not a four star hotel.

The entertainment was Pants!! - unless you are 3 years old or consider Bingo to be exciting.

The location of the hotel was OK but was a little "Out of it" for our liking. The actual resort of Cala Bona was dead , the shops and resturants all closed at 5pm making it into a ghost town. My wife and I did not want Pubs , Clubs & nightlife but it would be nice to be able to walk from the hotel to visit local resturants & shops of the evening, Luckily we hired a car which let us spend more time in the next resort along the bay called Cala Millor. This was a lovely resort with many nice cafes & bistros on the sea front including one called "Brother Bear" & "Yates`s Bar" which is run by a lovely Welsh Couple.

I would reccomend the hotel & resort to families with young children who are looking for a budget get a way. Please ensure that you have pre- arranged your airport transfers as the resort is a good 60Km from the airport. A taxi will cost you £150 return or car hire for a week about £130. We rented a car which ended up being the most fantastic thing ever. We visited many little bays and resorts which could only be described as "Paradise" we also made the drive to a place called Formentor - WOW!!! what a view !!! The roads are a little steep but the drive is worth it.

So to sum up . The Hotel was Fine , Just expect a good 3 star and you will be fine,...

We got cheap £6.99 flights from Jet2.com and paid £125.00 for the accomodation direct from First Choice

Room tip: Only Go if you love kids!!!!
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youngandbeautiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Bonaire Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Thank you for your comments. Early in the season (March) things tend to be a little quieter - but that suits some people. We're glad you enjoyed your stay but you might like to give us a visit later in the season. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Bonaire Aparthotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Went to the Bonaire at the end of March for 11 nights really enjoyed it, whilst there it was my birthday, a cake and bottle of wine was waiting in the room, which we thought was lovley. Travelled as a couple, would go again but not during high season as it is a family hotel, lots for the children. Went on a couple of walks organised by Mark from the hotel. The hotel was very clean and the staff were pleasant and helpful. In all a great holiday.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Bonaire Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As you say the Protur Bonaire is very popular with families but also with couples in the quieter months. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes on behalf of all staff of the Protur Bonaire Aparthotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We stayed here at the end of March and thoroughly enjoyed our week. The hotel, rooms and gardens were all clean and well looked after. As we arrived late in the evening the staff opened up the restaurant again so we could have a light meal. The buffet meals in the restaurant provided plenty of food, although there was little variety in the daily breakfast choice. Evening meals were also plentiful, but may not suit every taste - I must mention that the desserts were always delicious!
As season had not yet got under way we found it very quiet and peaceful, although there was entertainment in the bar in the evenings. A mention should go to Mark for organising daytime walks and activities and for the evening programme.
The hotel is 5 minutes walk along the seafront to the Cala Bona harbour and from there you can walk or cycle all the way to the southern end of Cala Millor. For a more rugged walk, try following the coast northwards to Costa de Los Pinos. In the resorts, many hotels, bars and restaurants were still closed up, or just getting ready to open by Easter so it was not busy in the towns.
Because it was not busy, we found that travelling about by bus was a good way to get around. Its takes a while to get to Palma on the TIB bus, but it's a good way to see the country and the towns you would not usually visit. We would also recommend the bus services to Porto Cristo and the Caves of Drach - also quiet at this time of year.
This is a family hotel, so will get busier and noisier when families with children come and the summer season starts. If you are looking for peace and quiet come during low season.
The only criticisms we had was that the bed was hard and the indoor swimming pool was not heated!!

Room tip: For a quiet break, go during term-time
Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elanora1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Bonaire Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have taken note of your comments. We are pleased that you are thinking of returning and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2011

The hotel itself was great, The room was spacious and kitchenette was fully equiped. The service was really nice. We asked if we can have some Spanish TV programms, to catch a bit of the language and there was no problem with that.
Swimming pool was huge, charming and very clean. The pool for small children was very nice as well and I would definietely recommend this hotel for people with children, they will love it.
The only problem for us was the distance from the nice sandy beach. It took us about 15-20 minutes to walk to the beginning of it. It was a nice walk along the see, so it was pleasent, but not something you wish to do several times a day. And if you like to go throut the whole beach, explore the beautiful penisula at the other end and come back - you will find it a bit of hussle. Fortunately we rented a car, so apart from exploring beautiful parts of the island we were also using it to drive to the beach and to bigger and cheaper supermarkets. Great thing for us was a huge hotel parking, so we did not have to worry about the parking place.
To sum up - Great value for money !
I recommend to people with children, anyone who likes to spend a lot of time around the swimming pools and for people with a car.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Proturhotels, Director of Sales at Protur Bonaire Aparthotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you had such a good time. This resort is one of our most popular destination because it really does offer something for young and old. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews