We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Standard AI Hotel”
Review of Platja d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Platja d'Or
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Port d'Alcudia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed in July/August 2011 on AI with significant other.

Found the hotel to be a good quality in general, rooms fine - ours was facing the sea (1st floor) and was fairly quiet.

AI drinks were generally good, but we found the food to be a bit bland. Obviously, this is subjective and could be because the food is aimed at a less adventurous palat (our tastes are perhaps somewhat more Mediterannean than the average).

The entertainment was good, but it is 'hidden' away in a separate room, so you cannot chill out round the pool and view/hear it, which is our preference.

The hotel is right by the beach, which is lovely and we enjoyed evening strolls rond the bay to Alcudia port area - I'd guess its about 2-3 miles in total, but its a level walk.

All in all, we found the hotel OK.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Ilfordman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,212 - 1,218 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

well done thompsons acknowledge that we had a big problem and all sorted,reps very poor service though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

we read the reviews and where worried about what to expect. No need to worry. The room was lovely a view of the sea. the food was great lots of choice. the beach was to die for.The staff where helpfull and friendly. only small let down was the evening entertainment. we are re - booking for next year.

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel good views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went last sept.a bit worried over previous reviews,but no need,we arrived quite late reception staff remebered us from previous visits,always the quickest check in ever.Still very clean,staff wonderfull,food very good beef melt in the mouth.drying my hair across on the beach sunday late afternoon,priceless.hope to keep coming back.

Room Tip: 1st floor you wont need to use lifts.front of hotel see beach through the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kimberley066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Food very poor some food reheated and served for breakfast even chips.Spent two days in my bedroom most of the time in the toilet after eating a chicken meal.Was so sick wanted to go home but got no help from rep. Complained when we got home all we got was sorry from Thomson.I dont know where the above reviews stayed cant be the same hotel. M and C from west midlands.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank martin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Booked this last minute just for an autumn break. Good facilities, food better than expected, limited choice but excellent quality. Staff throughout the hotel superb - great service especially in the bar and restaurant. Pool area quiet with afternoon activities if you want tojoin in, no pressure if you don't. Evening entertainment varied, with nightly quiz and bingo. Rooms nice and clean, but like many continental hotels sound-proofing less than perfect! Overall good value for an AI adult-only hotel. Quiet area between Port d'Alcudia and Platja Muro but pleasant 40-45 minute walk along seafront to main shops and bars.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank VikingDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We had a great weeks holiday at the Platj D'or Hotel in Alcudia. The food was great with plenty of choice. The staff were so helpful especially Rapheal, the matre d. The rooms were very clean and well looked after. The pool area was very comfortable with enough sun loungers and tables and chairs to sit at. The entertainments staff, James and Jade were wonderful, entertaining us day and night and organising great artists, which was marvelous for two young people. Ben our rep, was so helpful and the trips out we took were value for money. And all the bar staff looked after us royally throughout our stay. Would I go again......yes. One negative, which has nothing to do with the Hotel, there are large amounts of mozzy's which come from a stagnant pool nearby. Plenty of mozzy cream should see them off.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the wood with the sea glistening through the trees. Idyllic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supernan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port d'Alcudia
1.3 km away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,439 reviews
60 km away
Globales Santa Lucia
Globales Santa Lucia
#18 of 38 in Palmanova
2,157 reviews
7.6 km away
Petit Hotel Hostatgeria La Victoria
Petit Hotel Hostatgeria La Victo...
#41 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
Eix Alcudia Hotel - Adults Only
#11 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,475 reviews
1.4 km away
Viva Sunrise
Viva Sunrise
#5 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
1,055 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platja d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platja d'Or

Address: Ctra Arta s/n, 07408 Port d'Alcudia, Alcudia, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Alcudia > Port d'Alcudia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Port d'Alcudia
Price Range: $210 - $1,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Platja d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Platja d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platja d`Or Hotel Port d`Alcudia
Platja d Or Puerto Alcudia
Platja D'Or Spain/Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing