We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful 5 days break.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Son Net

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Hotel Son Net
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puigpunyent
Certificate of Excellence
BERKSHIRE
1 review
“wonderful 5 days break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I took my husband for a surprise birthday treat, and was not dissapointed, everything was excellent, the hotel, service and location was amazing. The restaurant was excellent , it was lovely to sit on the terrace and have breakfast in the sun. Our room was spacious and light and very well decorated,although we did change rooms when we arrived. we had a pool room but found it a bit claustrophobic but the staff were very helpful and moved us into a lovely airy room. We hired a car and travelled around to see other places, the scenery is breathtaking.
We would definately go back to this lovely hotel and would recommend it to anyone who wants something really special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    65
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
87
342
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Randers, Denmark
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Puigpunyent is a nice little mountain village with 3-4 restaurants/bars, supermarket, bakery and a cross between a supermarket/bakery/butcher. The village is a short 10 min stroll down from the hill, where the hotel is situated.
The staff at the hotel is impeccable, everybody we were in contact with was very helpful and all seemed to be multilingual with English, Spanish and a 3rd language.
The hotel is very beautiful both from the outside and the inside and after reading a TA-review about the restaurant we had to try it. And I must say - this is NOT only a hotel restaurant, this is a gourmet restaurant, that you would go out of your way to visit. We tried the "Menu de degustacion" with 5 courses and wine, and that was spot on. Could have been a one star Michelin restaurant, for all that matters.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Location - just wonderful. There are panoramic views from anyside of this hotel and several terraces from which to enjoy them. It is an easy to find drive from the airport and we found it first time even in the dark.
The hotel - excellent. It is quiet, calm and really well furnished and breathtaking in some aspects. The corridors to the rooms are interspersed with luxury seating areas with books and pantings all around,
The room.We were on the first floor (served by a lift) with room 23 overlooking the front aspect of the hotel. The tall french windows opening up to mountain views all around....lovely to see the daylight arrive over these. The room was large and airy and tatsefully decorated, spotlessly clean. The bed was very large and very comfortable with plump, soft pillows inviting good sleep. There was a modern tv which offered some English channels which was fine also with the option to play DVDs. An added bonus was a fridge which kept the daily supplied soft drinks delightfully cool. As for the bathroom, marble throughout,heated underfloor with a walk in shower where one could have fitted half a netball team, opposite a separate toilet with bidet and then along to a double ended marble set bath, his and hers sinks and again large French windows and views beyond. There was plentiful hot water and a generous supply of Occitaine toiletries. The towelling robes and towels were all of excellent quality and replaced if necessary.
I cannot praise the housekeeping staff enough as they were friendly, courteous and even offered to help us down with the luggage at the end of our stay.
Dining. The breakfast was delicious with a wide choice. I particularly loved the freshly baked bread rolls and smoked salmon. It was lovely too to have a relaxed start to the day with a very considerate serving time until 10 30am The restaurant is stunning and beautifully lit. The evening meal, whilst not cheap, was delicious and the chef obviously prides themself on presentation. I chose the foie gras and baby lamb - both tasty and beautifully served. My dessert on our last night was a near work of art and I hope I can include the photo I took ( tho alas I am no David Bailey!)
The staff were wonderful - friendly without being "stuffy" They were attentive and efficient. Reception area staff were quick to help with any query and were always welcoming and interested in their guests. The restaurant staff worked hard to see that guests every wish was catered for. Staff at this hotel are obviously well trained in hospitality and attitude as at no time was one made to feel a nusiance or that they had been here seen it done it before etc.
We stayed a week and had very pleasant weather for the very end of February as apparently Majorca had had a cool winter with even snow!
I have told many friends and acquaintances already about this hotel. Apparently this was the first winter they had remained open and I specifically asked at reception if they intended to carry this on and was pleased to hear that it should remain open year round. I would love to return and will try to make sure I do just that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank remfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Where to start with this hotel...the practicals first. Airport to hotel is a straight forward 25mins, costing around 35 Euros, hotel to Palma is 15-20 mins costing 20-25 Euros (you will have to wait 15 mins at the hotel for the taxi, as it has to come from Palma to pick you up! - no bother at all, just sit on the terrace and relax!)

My wife and I arrived on the 1st March for 3 nights, and we have stayed at many 5 star/luxury hotels...but this was different. This is the first time I felt the staff really cared and and made you feel welcomed as soon as you arrive, as apposed to being part of their training. The duty manager welcomed us from our taxi door, checked us in, and gave us a short history on the hotel...before showing us to the magnicant terrace for a glass of sparkling wine and local olives. We stayed there for nearly 2 hours before heading to our room - which was a large, charming and beaufitul delux room overlooking the pool. The terrace, pool area, grounds are so picturese, that you will not want to do anything else but relax and soak up the view. You know when the food/hotel is special, when people drive to have lunch on the terrace or just take pictures - and there were many!

We enjoyed a fantastic 3 course dinner at the hotel restaurant, and also tried the bar food for lunch - lovely food (octopus salad was really tasty) - the service had to be commended.
The town is short 5 min stroll down the hotel approach, and has a supermarket, and a few restaurants - we looked at The Rose (which is recommended by others on TA), but enjoyed the food and view at the hotel to try anywhere else!

Palma old city is great to walk around - all main attractions are within walking distance of each other, and can be covered within the day. To be honest, we came to this hotel to just relax and not do anything, and it is perfect for that - next time we would rent a car so we can use the hotel as a base and explore the rest of the island.

Breakfast was plentyful - cold meats, cheeses, fruits etc...ask for cooked breakfasts - a great way to start the day.

I could not have asked for much more from my stay - will be coming back in the future to enjoy this real gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor, overlooking the pool - views of the mountain and town are amazing to wake up every mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anil16London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My friend and I spent 5 days at the Gran Hotel for a break and were thrilled with what we were treated to. It started with a welcome drink on the terrace as suggested by the friendly staff and continued on the entire stay. The room was gorgeous, the food delicious and the grounds very relaxing. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a little bit of luxury.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgfrancey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Such a joy to visit a hotel that is even nicer than the pictures on the website. The trip was a surprise from my daughter and the staff could not have been more helpful throughout our stay. From the second we arrived and were taken out onto the terrace my feet did not touch the ground. I must mention the spa which had an excellent range of treatments by a professional therapist which were extremely good value for money - worth going for those alone. Food was great, staff were amazing and the room was superb. I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I travel to Majorca regularly on business and holiday and I always base myself in the gorgeous Son Net owned by American businessman David Stein and his Art collection is a major feature of the decor. He has to be congratulated in that he has kept this fantastic old Spanish Finca much as it originally was but with all modern convenience. You can stay in some of the original family rooms or in new rooms in the grounds.. Gorgeous sumptuous decor.Great food and the staff have improved a great deal recently. It is open all year round, a rarity in Majorca for hotels and deserves to be supported. For the rest of the year the pool is Olympic size and the views over the original Spanish village of Puigpunyent and the now highly protected Tramauntuna Mountains is divine. And you are only a 15 minute taxi ride to Palma the Island's capital and one of the chicest cities in the Med.

Room Tip: The Fireplace Room is great for lounging and reading quietly in front of a roaring fire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puigpunyent
12.6 km away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
17.6 km away
Belmond La Residencia
7.0 km away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
73.4 km away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
23.6 km away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
12.6 km away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Son Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Son Net

Property: Gran Hotel Son Net
Address: Camino Son Net s/n, 07194 Puigpunyent, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Puigpunyent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Puigpunyent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Son Net 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gran Hotel Son Net reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Puigpunyent
Hotel Son Net

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing