We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
6
17
4
3
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
17
4
3
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 42 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2017

We were staying in Cadaques for a week at a lovely hotel on the opposite side of the bay to. We love Cadaques and decided to stay a couple of extra nights but were unable to remain in our hotel so,sadly, we upped and left to check in to the Rec es Pilau.
When we arrived through the grand electric gates and steep ,winding hill climb we were met by err.... no one. Bearing in mind we were paying 258euro per night it would have been nice.
Finally the non English speaking maid/housekeeper sort of checked us in and showed us to our room.
It is ,or was, a beautiful house steeped in history and graced by legends of the operatic world and maybe Dali himself but this did little to ease the shock of seeing the room which was just a little short of being a glorified B&B guest room with junky furniture,a storage cupboard filled with old videos and boxes ,a huge fan (air conditioning ? )and a base plate for a smoke alarm on the ceiling,no alarm just the base plate!!
The bathroom gave up its own set of horrors as in a shower cubicle which might once have been luxurious .circa 1995. now the door was hanging out of its runners,the top lid section was in disarray and it was dirty generally.
The window which opened out onto a beautiful view of the hills was hanging off its mounting frame when opened- I dread to think of what might happen if it fell off. The final straw was the blood stain on the front of the bidet!!!! although this was cleaned off immediately it was flagged up .
The decking around the top pool was looking badly maintained with split boards.non joining boards that could trap little feet in a split second.broken boards and generally in need of of some serious maintenance.
The other pool looked to be quite pleasant but a rusting railing at the top to divide the pools soon sorted that out.
When we asked to speak to the manager the non English speaking man who seemed to do everything did not understand likewise when we tried to cancel one night and head to Barcelona.
We did meet the manager although she never introduced herself as such or say welcome just started to shout and point her finger at me in a very aggressive manner due to the fact that we wanted to get out of the place ASAP and had been upset at finding blood on the bidet and all the other issues- how very dare we!!
Generally the hotel is run down.badly maintained with overworked staff run by a woman who should not be in the hospitality industry whose photos on the websites taking bookings are out of date.old and very misleading. The grounds are terraces of brown dust with little vegetation.
Avoid staying here at all cost. That is until it has had a couple of million euro spent on it and a management change.

Room tip: book elsewhere
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

We arrived late one evening, we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who showed us the view from the top terrace, beautiful we thought. We were then showed the bungalow, which on booking.com looked very clean and homely, unfortunately not the case it was very small no where to hang clothes wires hanging off the walls. Toilet broken and bathroom floor filthy oh and a moldy shower curtain( who uses these now ). Breakfast was OK !!! Nescafé machine for coffee was a bit dated and tipped it over the edge as we all know tea and coffee is important in the morning. Decided to check out and go to playa sol hotel which is more or less the same price and very worth the 4 stars it has. Final comment do not go to this hotel not a hotel more like a camping site.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

The manager (old lady) was extreamly rude and aggressive when we asked for air condition and the other toilet (we were promised two bathrooms). We also got bed bugs after our stay there. The flat did not match the pictures we got - the flat was not in a good condition.

I would never recommend anyone to go there.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank esanne82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2015

The house we stayed in, the lower one of the two is in a very old condition. It has an industrial kitchen, unclean, difficukt to use. The rooms very very small, no AC neither a fan. With 40° outside temperature quite un-relaxing.
The public rooms in the house are standard, nothing special there. Unfortunatley the washing machine isn't working either, The washing came out dirty - finaly, after ut took us a long time to open the old, small, rusty thing.
The only nice thing is the view on Cadaques and the two pools. One on the main terrace (beautifully designed, nice small apartments surronding it) and the lower pool for kids and teenagers. BUT the area is not at all child safe. Careful with small kids/babies.

The staff was quite helpful but the owners just seem to take money and rip off the guests.
However be prepared to pay a high price compared to other places in Cadaques. We had friends staying near the beach in a 80sqm apartment, newly furnished, A/C, TV, WLAN, balcony, etc. for 1/4th of our price! OK, they haven't had the view and the pools!

Room tip: Never take the house on the lower area. Try to get an apartment on the upper area.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TobiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2015

We have booked two rooms and the day we arrived they did not have the room due to an overbooking; which I can understand. But the way the handle the situation was the worse; I am working in hospitality and I know it's not easy to manage it. However, I always try to satisfy the need of the guest. The "owner" did not dare coming the room (downgrade of course!) that they have had prepare for us… room with no view, bad smell, spider, one bed for 4 people… unbelievable!
The answer we got from them was "either you get the downgrade, either we kick you out"
Do not book this hotel unless you want to waste your time during your holiday!!!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tadzio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews