We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad choice, but the restaurant service was "interesting"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bon Repos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bon Repos
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice, but the restaurant service was "interesting"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Not a bad hotel. Cleanliness was excellent. The free wi-fi worked in the room, even though staff said only in the lounge. Wardrobe space and clothes storage was very limited and somewhat challenging. Some sound carried between rooms - mainly bathrooms - but it was not really an issue. The free air conditioning was a bonus as it was really hot weather - you just put a deposit on a remote control unit to change temperature etc. A good selection of fresh fruit at the evening meal was some consolation for the food being almost entirely fried. The soups were clearly made from powder - one choice per day, and only three types repeated throughout the week so highly repetitive. Desserts were more or less limited to custard, yoghurt, mousse, fresh fruit and ice cream. Staff were polite but not really friendly or attentive. The number of broken sun beds was significant, and the restaurant staff lacking in customer service skills. For example, the woman responsible for topping up food trays regularly removed them whilst you were serving yourself - and frequently taking the contents from one serving area and putting them in the other serving area, she glowered if you got to the spoon first. Part of the restaurant was closed off by a barricade of chairs one evening at 8.10pm (50 minutes before the end of evening meal) and other guests who attempted to remove the barricade to sit there were told that part was closed. If you spotted a particular main course or dessert you needed to pick it up when first sitting down as it was unlikely to still be available later. More than once, waiting staff started to serve themselves 15 minutes before the end of the meal time!!!! And woe betide you if you arrive for your meal in the 20 minutes before closing time - empty trays were a reality; the music was turned off at 9pm on the dot and waiting staff cleared away without a thought for those still dining. Funnily enough, on our last night, the head waiter gave all the women a red rose. Had someone mentioned something about the service there I wonder? As I said, not a bad hotel if you want to stay in Calella and don't mind fast food and fast clearance of the dining room.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms overlooking pool had a large shared patio area. Whilst nice to walk out and look ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    145
    118
    72
    62
See reviews for
194
114
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Having spent 8 nights at the Bon Repos (18th-26th September) I have to say that I will more than likely book there again when visiting Calella... Last year I spent far more cash staying at the President, and got nothing more for my cash!

This is a small hotel next to the likes of President, Amaika or Calella Palace, so don't go thinking you there will be a large entertainment are with various 'animation' or a huge dining room with many and varied variations... Having stayed in various Calella hotels over the years, I know that the food leaves much to be desired overall, so I just went bed and breakfast, as the hotels are all a short walk to bars and restaurants where you can find cheap eats and finer delights that are more to your own tastes for little cash... The breakfast at Bon Repos was basic, and I found fruit, cereals and toast worked for me! Interestingly, the only hotel I have stayed in serving Cava and cake for breakfast! There was a time when this would have been a huge draw for me!!!

The towels are changed every day, the sheets changed three times in 8 nights and the room was immaculate when we arrived, and tidied daily...

I was on the first floor, but not where the shared terrace is - Being above the restaurant was noisy every morning, as I could hear the staff setting up for breakfast, but seeing as this started at 8am, I was ok with this as I was getting up around this time anyways!

The bulk of the guests seem to be on the older end of the scale, pensioners and small groups of over 50's - but this means that your stay is fairly quiet...

Calella is a great base for a Catalan break, and when I next need a hotel there I will most likely book with Bon Repos - Easily a match for more expensive places, unless you want a hotel to stay within for the bulk of your stay, as they do not provide for guests who want entertaining and feeding all day on more expensive nosh than they have paid for!

Room Tip: Try not to stay on the first floor if you would worry about a shared terrace, or if you don't li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel isn't perfect but then it is cheap. I went with one friend for an all inclusive week away and it was great for us.

Location - walk to beach, 10 mins
walk to town, main shops & bars, 10 mins
walk to train station, 30 mins

Drinks - soft drinks and alcohol on tap all day until 11.30pm, You could drink anything but the spirits weren't brand names-when are they on all inclusive?

Food - if you like melon, veal & pork you will be fine! It wasn't great but it's a 3*. We never went hungry, the bread rolls were nice & there was a selection every lunch/diner it just didn't vary much.

Hotel - basic but clean. Nice pool & plenty of sun beds (most were broken though so you have to sit down gently, it was end of season). Walls are very thin and we got woken up every morning at 7 when the maids starting pushing their trollys around.

Calella - great place, quiet but had enough going on in September to occupy us. A couple of clubs open every night so we didn't get bored. The beach is huge & not at all crowded. I would highly recommend Barcelona for a day, 7.70 Euros return on a direct train & it's only one hour away.

Great holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rhian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Rooms are basic for a 3star hotel, but clean and air conditioned. The pool was a good size and regularly cleaned, but there was a lack of sunbeds that were not broken. Food was pretty poor and very repetitive even on a 5 day stay. Got sick and tired of burgers and hotdogs for lunch, when if I wanted this I could have got it from the snack bar. Need to either extend the breakfast times or provide more seating as everyone in the hotel decends at the same time due to the limited time frame. The hotel is very well situated and away from the noises of the night time but close enough if you wish to join in the fun.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pickers147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calella hotels

Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

j16/09/2011 to 23/09/2011 just got back from my holiday staying at don ripof sorry i mean repos, what a load of s**** ,sorry thats what i found on my clean towel. the chef had found every possible way to cook pork and veal.its a good job my husband and myself like salad, if i wanted a warm meal the only time i got a warm plate was if we went in the dining room early they didn't have time to cool down meals where very basic now for the deserts melon and yellow or pink mousse and ice cream the next day a differnt type of melon and chocolate and pink mousse. the entertainment if you could call it that was nearly none existing the best entertainment was the magic card show on the last night of our stay. the staff i must say were very pleasant and the rooms cleaned daily but i must say i think overall i either sack the chef or down grade you hotel

Room Tip: don't even go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamela r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

It's a normal 3* hotel, that has some advantages and disadvantages.I want to point out, that disadvantages are really miserable.Rooms are simple, but very clean.At first few days we even found clean room and small sheet of paper with ''Gracias" and smiling face on it for our 1 eur. Come on, people, don't you live tips for roommades that they are so surprised and grateful? The room was convinient for us: 2 adults and 4-year child, but I dont think for more people.No frige and hair dryer in the room,TV and clima remot controls-with deposit of 20 eur.The walls are really thin,but we didn't have noisy neighbours.Food-good enough, some things tasty-some not very, it depends. The soft drinks have a sinthetic taste, but the stuff is allways concerned about cleanliness and food supply.Some unusual things-champagne for the breakfest (for hangover? ;))), shampoos, bath gels and soap bars in the bathroom-I have seen it in only at least 4* hotels.Staff kindly,only animation isn't strong to my mind and no attractions for small children. The beach isn't very near, but not so far.The train station is far enough as also the town center and the main shops-bars street too. The weather in 13-20 September was pleasant, 35 at noon, only 1 day out of context-cloudy and drizzle.Calella itself isn't picturesque town,but for Barcelona you definetly need at least 2 days, desirable to see it at night too.The hotel and it's service is worth the money you pay for it- you have a fresh made meal 3 times a day,pool, clean towels, bedding and somebody cleans your mess after you every day and that for 100 eur or less p.pers/p.week-do you really have it at home? If you do, then simply pay more and book a 5* hotel :) Have a nice holiday all you people, love you!

Room Tip: We stayed at room Nr. 535 - south side, facing the pool. Rooms at 1 sth. floor have big shared balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vitorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

stayed here from 31/8/11 to 7/9/11 with my girlfriend, we had bed only so never ate in the hotel, but the room was cleaned everyday and had clean towels every day, i don't think the sheets were changed but it was only us in the bed for a week so that was okay. the air con worked perfect it kept the room at a decent temp. there wasnt a great selection at the bar from what i could tell it had one beer on tap n vodka n that was about it. there was a very bad toilet smell on our second and fourth night because our room was in the center of the hotel and it was something to do with the plumbing, a couple o flushes of the toilet or run the bath got rid of the smell though.

Room Tip: try not to get a room in the middle of the hotel to avoid the bad smell gathering under your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Oasis Park
Hotel Oasis Park
#17 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 km away
ALEGRIA Espanya
ALEGRIA Espanya
#6 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Internacional Hotel
Internacional Hotel
#21 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.2 km away
Aparthotel Miami Park
Aparthotel Miami Park
#14 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel GHT Balmes & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bon Repos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bon Repos

Property: Hotel Bon Repos
Address: Vallderoure 17-23, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bon Repos 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bon Repos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bon Repos Calella
Bon Repos Hotel Calella
Hotel Bon Repos Calella, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing