We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Hotel Stella Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stella Maris
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Blanes
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Terrible food very very noisy.poor service.noisy street.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anyah333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    58
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
52
71
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We booked the appartment because our agent said there was no hotel rooms available,but when we got there only six guests were booked in.

We had asked for a room suitable for disabled , mainly because I have difficulty getting in and out of the bath.

The appartment was very large with 2 balconies,a double bedroom,a bedroom with childrens bunks and a sofa bed in the lounge.There was a very modern bathroom with a walk-in shower.In the lounge there was a large kitchenet complete with microwave and washing machine.
The staff were very helpful taking our bags to the appartment.

The downside was the food which was terrible, the cook seem to use the fire alarm as a timer as most of the food was burnt and if you didnt like pork you went hungry.

I would recommend the appartments and would stay there again but I would not eat there!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Very clean and tidy. The staff were excellant, helpful and and obliging. The only things that let it down a bit were the food, always something to eat but did not realy enjoy any meal, and the location of the hotel on the outskirts of the town. a 15-20 min walk to the town centre. Spent five days in May, very quite only a few English people about. Room was comfortable and cleaned well each day. Would not probably go back, but would not put anyone off of going.

Room Tip: Pool side and higher level for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelleftea, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

It is very nice hotel. The firs floor is good you can reach WIFI in your room.
Problem is that walls and ceiling is very thin so you can hear everybody passing in the corridor. The Position of the hotel is very good. You can reach beach within 2 minutes. Power socket is only one per room. So dont forget splitter.

Room Tip: Firs floor for a wifi in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skelleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Stella Maris this time with our mentaly disabled son, the staff we abasolutely brilliant, especialy Joana on reception and Antonio in the dining room.
for a three star hotel it is absolutely superb, we have stayed in fives star hotels much worse in Spain. The food is brilliant, typical spanish meals, dont expect chips with everthing, you wont get them. There is a variatey of salads, meats and fish every day, and breakfast there are cold meats, cheese, beans and either fried eggs, hardboiled eggs, beans or sausages, plus the usual croissants, bread rolls, sliced bread for toast and cakes. There is also an electric kettle if you wish to brew your own cup of tea in preference to the machine selection of coffee and chocolate.
The rooms are cleaned every day and clean towels and bedding are replaced every day, the public areas are spotless and light and airy. The pool is on the small side, but adequate and plenty of loungers and seating, you can even hire towels from the reception, but for more than one day it is probably cheaper to buy one from one of the nearby shops, as these range from 5 to 12 euro.
the wifi is free and good in the public areas, reception, bar and pool area, but on the first floor is non existant, although there is a large campsite behind the hotel with very strong signal that you can, by going to the camp reception you can purchase unlimited access for abou 3 euro per day or 15 euro per week, I did this and was able to stream live football matches, tv and films, and also keep in contact via skype, with family and friends.
All in all, we had a great time at the Stella Maris, and will for sure be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank camelcaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at the Stella Maris for 5 days from 26th September 2011.
We were allocated apartment 742 which was recently refurbished and had 2 bedrooms and a sofa bed despite there only being 2 of us. The apartment was really lovely, great kitchen and a fantastic power-shower in the bathroom. 2 balconies - one over the road (great for people watching from the 4th floor) and one over the pool at the back. It's .literally 5 minute walk to the beach too
The hotel staff are all very friendly and even opened the bar for us to have a quick drink as we arrived at 12pm. Everything is very clean and we had a wonderful holiday. The only drawbacks were having to pay a deposit of 100 Euro on arrival (prompty returned on check out) and no mattresses on the sunbeds. I'd definitely go stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Apartment 742 on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ridgelanesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

the best 3* hotel we stayed in.maids service absolutely great!!!!receptions ladies very friendly and helpful.food delicious .really good hotel.would go back

Room Tip: basic but very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmm939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blanes hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel & Spa Beverly Park
0.8 km away
Hotel & Spa Pimar
Hotel & Spa Pimar
#4 of 21 in Blanes
324 reviews
0.5 km away
Petit Palau
Petit Palau
#9 of 21 in Blanes
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Horitzo
Hotel Horitzo
#5 of 21 in Blanes
112 reviews
0.1 km away
Boix Mar Hotel
Boix Mar Hotel
#6 of 21 in Blanes
213 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Blaumar
Hotel Blaumar
#3 of 21 in Blanes
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Maris

Property: Hotel Stella Maris
Address: Av Vila de Madrid 18, 17300 Blanes, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Blanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Blanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Maris 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stella Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Blanes
Stella Maris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing