We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful location and child friendly, food & service not great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Krone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Krone
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Lenk im Simmental
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“beautiful location and child friendly, food & service not great.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Beautiful location and child friendly. The cresche staff were wonderful and spoke at least 4 languages between them. This service is free to guests and they also provide lunch for the children free. Our suite was very clean, had a large balcony with views over the town and mountains. The bathroom was the biggest we have ever had with a huge bath that was easily twice the size of a normal bath, very happy with this. Big enough for my 4 year old to swim in! The towels are small and thin and yellow, so my advice is to take your own! The breakfast not special, and the younger waiting staff not keen to get eggs toast tea etc. The older waiting staff were excellent and hard working. Its a continental breakfast and the meat was turning and the cheese was a bit too old, there was'nt enough bread, there were 2 bowls of yoghurt which wasnt very nice and the milk smelt sour. This was why I insisted on having boiled eggs and toast every morning. My husband is a proud Swiss and he was determined to prove me wrong about the meat being "off" at breakfast so I dared him to eat some, he did and had "delhi belly" all day!!!! This actually put us off eating in the restaurant which we only did once. Dont let this put you off going there as this is a lovely clean mainly friendly hotel which has an excellent cresche and plenty local places to eat nearby with quicker service etc. It also has an very nice indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and a small gym. It is in a prime location in this pretty little town with amazing views and wonderful walks. This hotel owns an Italian Restaurant next stoor, and thankfully the food and the service there is very good, we also ate at several of the local restaurants all withing walking distance. There is lots of free local parking near this hotel and the shops. Despite the breakfast not being good we enjoyed our eggs and toast and took delight in our suite and wonderful views. We were suprised that you were not allowed to smoke on the balcony, we wouldnt dream of smoking in a hotel room and certainly not in a bedroom etc, but on a balcony is the norm in every hotel that we've ever stayed at. So because of this we wouldnt go back there again. This is unusual for Switzerland where you can smoke in all of the restaurants and people take their dogs and cats out to dinner most nights! My husband tried on several occasions to get some service in the hotel alfresco bar at night, but the young waitress seemed only interested in serving a group of lads, so several patrons walked out and went to the bar just over the road where all customers welcome. The manager of this hotel is a dedicated hard working woman and I know she would be furious at the experience of guests at breakfast and in the bar by the young girls who were supposed to be working there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessashihtzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

We just arrived home from a fantastic weekend skiing and staying at the Hotel Krone, Lenk. We holidayed with another family of 4 and all of us cannot compliment the owners enough on the quality of the hotel and the service provided. The location is brilliant, breakfast fantastic and the rooms clean and serviced consistently at a high level. The kids were well accommodated and made very much to feel welcome (which is not always the case). On the second night we ate at the adjoining pizzeria restaurant and had the best fondue to date. Again, great quality of food and service. We highly recommend this hotel and plan to return again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz_2_ROW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich area
Level Contributor
75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

The hotel is conveniently situated in the heart of Lenk, in close proximity to the bus route (50m walk) that serves two of the main ski lifts that you will need to access the ski areas; alternatively you can take a short 10 min walk to the gondola that takes you up the Betelberg.

We stayed half board and found the hotel food to be typically Swiss (German) style with a wide enough selection at breakfast to keep you going all day until the many courses of dinner - some nights they even have live music from around 8.30 onward.

Childcare is located on the top floor of the hotel with friendly staff on hand to look after your children. There is also a swimming pool/jacuzzi, and games room (suitable for older children) in the basement, along with a ski room (unheated with no boot driers).

Parking is available in the underground car park shared with the local supermarket (Coop).
The railway station is about 100m away. Tourist office/ski school office and post office are also right next to the hotel.

The hotel is run by a family who make sure that everything runs like clockwork and made our stay a pleasure - can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2007

Lenk is a small old-fashioned Swiss family resort which is very pretty and traditional and links in well with the large Adelboden ski area. The Krone is a family run hotel which caters extremely well for families with excellent childrens meals served early if required, an inclusive staffed creche, a games room, a play station and an indoor pool They also have some family 2 bedroom suites. Furnishing is simple but prices are very reasonable and the owners speak excellent English and really go out of their way to please. There are two restaurants in the hotel and the food at both (traditional swiss stube and pizzeria) is excellent.
We liked it so much we are booked this year too

  • Liked — Simple,comfortable,clean
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank mfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lenk im Simmental hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Kreuz
Hotel Kreuz
#4 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.6 km away
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
Lenkerhof gourmet spa resort
#1 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Simmenhof
Hotel Simmenhof
#3 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Alpenhotel Residence
Alpenhotel Residence
#5 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.3 km away
Parkhotel Bellevue Lenk
Parkhotel Bellevue Lenk
#11 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Wildstrubel
Hotel Wildstrubel
#8 of 11 in Lenk im Simmental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone

Property: Hotel Krone
Address: Kronenplatz 1 | Lenk, Lenk im Simmental 3775, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Lenk im Simmental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lenk im Simmental
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Lenk im Simmental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Krone Switzerland/Lenk Im Simmental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing