We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3* hotel but with 4* quality in every respect”
Review of Hotel Landhaus

Hotel Landhaus
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Landhaus
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Giswil
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
“A 3* hotel but with 4* quality in every respect”
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This hotel is ideally placed for visiting the Bernese Oberland and Central Switzerland, and has stunning views of the Sarnen Valley. The Hotel itself is very clean, and has various "Stubli"s and a pleasant terrace for relaxation and dining. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, our room had a balcony, which we found most enjoyable. The food was of a very high quality, and portions were good. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant, helpful and attentive, and indeed the entire team was very well led by a most able, professional and attentive manager. We were very impressed by the overall ambiance of the Landhaus hotel, and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank option4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed here as part of a tour group. Our room was huge for 4 of us and the views from our room were beautiful, cows and green grass! The beds were comfy and the linen excellent quality. We slept with the windows open, and woke up to the cow bells tinkling below us.
The breakfast was ok, the dinner terrible on both nights, entree was a lettuce leaf salad, nothing else, just lettuce! bland main course and desert.
The cafe/bar/shop next door were great we had coffee and drinks there on both nights.
There was 1 computer with free internet.
The indoor pool was heated and very warm. There is a good playground for children.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel2x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticino
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Positive: the rooms had nice views, the parking is free, the pool is small but ok, the breakfast buffet was good.
Negative: old fashioned television and bathrooms, bad water pressure in the shower, not very friendly staff, rooms overpriced and no price difference between new/old rooms, with/without balcony, ..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TicinoMoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Situated on the Lucerne side of the Brunnig Pass, this pleasant hotel is an ideal stopover on the busy route between Lucerne and Interlaken. It shares a site with a petrol station and it's accompanying shop and cafe, but also, handily, there is an ATM cash machine.
All rooms have views, but those with lake views are exceptional. The friendly multi-national staff are welcoming, and facilities incude an indoor swimming pool, and a gorgeous terrace to take in the scenery. Nowhere in Switzerland is cheap, and eating in the hotel is very good, though the current sterling rate makes it a little expensive, as are the wines. However, when you take into account where you are, it doesn't seem so bad.
The flies can be a bit of a nuisance in summer, but that seems to apply all over Switzerland in summer, and air-conditioning would be a plus.
Nonetheless, this is a good place to base yourself if touring the Bernese Oberland, and the gorgeous Lake Lucerne is only 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunderlandMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

We have been taking groups and friends to this Hotel for a decade. We love it, our guests do as well. We love dinner on the covered deck, we find the food excellent. The views over the valley, the delightful village below, and indoor swimming pool and a great breakfast all join for a great stay. We are returning in 3 weeks and already look forward to the stay.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives,Cornwall,
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

My wife & I recently stayed at this hotel as part of a coach tour. The food was just awful, I can honestly say that I have never experienced such bad food. My wife is basically vegetarian, although she does eat fish. They obviously thought that we'd arrived from another planet when they were informed of this!
The rooms were very basic, although clean. There was no lounge area apart from two small settes near the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xpc1479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Giswil hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giswil
15.1 km away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
553 reviews
7.1 km away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 3 in Sarnen
272 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Loewen
Hotel Loewen
#1 of 1 in Lungern
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Jugendstilhotel Hotel Paxmontana
7.0 km away
Kreuz Sachseln Hotel Restaurant
0.8 km away
Hotel Kaiserstuhl Lungernsee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Landhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Landhaus

Property: Hotel Landhaus
Address: Brunigstrasse 200, Giswil 6074, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Giswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Giswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Landhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing