We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (933)
Filter reviews
933 results
Traveller rating
458
288
106
44
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
288
106
44
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housegarden lodgemusic roomafternoon teabeautiful groundsgilbert's restaurantlibrary barbeautiful hoteldrawing roomanne mariefour poster bedcountry housewedding partyold housewedding breakfastsconesduty manager
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 933 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2018

The lost hotel- unbelievable that this is part of the best western chain. Hotel could be really good but lacks service as it may as well not be staff at all. Rooms look clean but on closer inspection, tell you otherwise. would never stay here again, not even if I was paid to. Great location but that's all. Hotel seems like it has not been attended to for years and needs some TLC.....dont trust the pics....

Room Tip: Rooms elsewhere are better
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londoncallin2080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2018

This is an excellent, friendly hotel to stay, where nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable and the accommodation in the house is superb. The Music Room is an iconic venue for conferences, which I have enjoyed on numerous occasions. On the most recent occasion a medical emergency back at the office meant that it was not possible for photocopying to be completed, but hotel staff bent over backwards to help and were extremely efficient and supportive, enabling the event to proceed successfully. I am very grateful to all the staff for their assistance and for saving the day.

Room Tip: The old house itself is more expensive but wonderful.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here overnight after a visit to Wembley.
The hotel was around 6 miles from Wembley but only £18 in a cab.
The hotel is a magnificent building set in the enclosure of woodlands, I would imagine an ideal setting for a wedding.
The room was nice and well equipped it was warm and clean, the reception staff were very welcoming and professional.
We didn’t have the breakfast option as we have somewhere else we like to eat, so cannot comment on the food.
We were located a room in the gardens which is away from the main building, not a problem as a mere 2 minute walk away.
My only moan is the early morning disturbing noise, firstly from another room, other guests being loud at the very early hours, not an issue caused by the hotel, but I must mention it. The other issue which is an issue the hotel can control, was some sort of collection in the early hours from outside the garden rooms not sure if it was a rubbish collection or laundry collection, but there was no consideration what so ever for the guest sleeping in the rooms adjacent. The banging about woke our room and also our friend who were in another room down the corridor. this must be addressed.
I would return to the hotel but only if my room was away from possible noise pollution in the early am hours.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Yorkswheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

We visited this beautiful hotel. The rooms very beautiful and they thought of everything you would need , even an alarm clock in the room , but at 6.45 on a bank holiday Monday they had bin wagons come and they woke us up not just us but another couple , totally unacceptable to be coming at that time in a morning when u have got paying guests needing their sleep and haven’t got to get up for work. That’s the only downfall we had. The rooms are not in the reception area they r in the hotel grounds

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sunraydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here recently as we were having a night out in Stanmore. The grime dyke hotel is no more than around 5 mins in a cab to Stanmore so was perfect for us.

The location is lovely and peaceful and the grounds are beautifully looked after.

The staff on reception and helpful and efficient, the bar staff were great and room service were great too! (Especially as they gave us free water!)

The rooms were clean and comfy. It was nice to have toiletries and biscuits/tea coffee in the room too.

The full English breakfast was very tasty but a little bit greasy- this could have been better by not cooking in as much oil but other than this it was nice. When you pay for breakfast you also get the toast/cereals/juice all included too and can help yourself.

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank chloe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews