We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
78
82
49
21
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
82
49
21
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean central location vending machine pleasant staff excellent stay visit family road noise train station car parking good nights sleep rose essex pubs
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 280 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

Came here for a few nights after spending a week in the Premier Lodge, completely the opposite to last weeks hotel. This was soulless, tired and smelly. Every time we walked up to reception there was never anyone there. We played lift lottery every time we went in there, it genuinely either smelt of smoke, weed or alcohol. The place it’s self was very tired and cheap looking, place seemed deserted.

Room had a double bed which was reasonably comfortable, one of the single beds was ok but the other one was so solid that it would have been softer on the carpet. However the carpet was not the greatest, old and sticky looking. Bathroom shower was very good but again the room was so tired with paint peeling off the ceiling.
You have to pay for car parking but please be aware that the car park is unfortunately used by a homeless man in the stairwell and it always had some drunk people smoking drugs in it as well.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Horsleyfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2018

Typical Travelodge, one of two in the town of Romford. Despite the snazzy looking picture, the hotel is one of the older Travelodges. Found on a back street next to Romford market, it does not have a bar or eating area (be warned) however there are several good places to get grub nearby.

Quick check in and room on first floor. Large room but quite empty. It wouldn't be hard for the hotel to add a couple of chairs or a unit to fill the space. Everything clean and working as should be so that was good. Good sized double bed quite firm and comfy. However, it was not correctly made with the sheets coming out too easily - housekeeping needs an update. Had a bath as well as a good strong shower, something most newer Travelodge hotels miss.

My room was at the front and boy was it noisy on Friday and Saturday night. Cars and trucks at all hours plus ignorant drunks chatting loudly on the street till 5am (not Travelodge's fault of course, but their double glazing should be better). The water pipes rattled at times as well. The door's spyhole did not work. Only 30 mins free wi-fi then you have to pay (come on Travelodge). Car parking on street and in a nearby carpark.

Why give it 4/5? It's a basic budget hotel package and great value. I paid an average of £35 a night for four nights. The faults I can put up with for that price. Also good location for London and the towns to the east of Essex. I was also surprised how nice Romford and its people were!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Following on from numerous stays at Travelodge Romford Central, I have decided to write this review to show my appreciation for the quality of service at this hotel. Every night that I have stayed there, I have been checked in by a receptionist called Rose. She is very customer friendly and cannot do enough to assist the customer with any queries or requests that they may have. The hotel is less than 10 mins walking distance away from Romford railway station rooms and the rooms are always spacious, neat and tidy.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank foau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Basic room the double bed was two singles put together so if you moved you would fall down and the beds would slide apart. The view was the weed ridden court yard with a rusty bike, the room was clean enough and a decent size good just to get a night sleep if needed overall was a ok experience staff was ok

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Tilly from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Romford, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

Thank you for your review of our London Romford hotel.

We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with your bed and the view of the courtyard.

We are however pleased to hear that your room was clean and a good size.

We will pass your comments onto the hotel team and we hope to welcome you back to one of our hotels again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

Just arrived here and the reception should have given me a clue when it was reeking of cigarettes. The room unfortunately smells a lot worse and stinks of urine If that’s not enough, there’s a busy, very noisy road next to it.
There’s no breakfast even though it’s advertised with one. There’s a ‘breakfast box’ comprising a muffin, a piece of fruit & a kids carton of orange juice for £5.95, that even the receptionist tells you to avoid!
Hoping I survive the night!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank DagnyFrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Molly from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Romford, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to learn of your experience and would like to look into this further for you.

Therefore, may we kindly request that you contact our Customer Services Team so that we can investigate this more thoroughly with the Hotel.

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews