We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Runcorn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

My Wedding was held at the Holiday Inn Runcorn on 25/02/12- What a fantastic day this was. The hotel did a fabulous job helping organise my special day. Everything run smoothly on the day and was made stress free, this was down to the hard work that all the staff had put into. The food was lovely and I was very pleased that my guest all enjoyed our wedding breakfast and commented on how nice the food was. Myself, family and friends all had a brilliant day and this is all down to the staff at the hotel.

The cleanest of the hotel was to a very high standard and this reflected on my wedding day. The rooms were clean and available to all guest checking in on time, again I couldn't fault anything :).

Sally Jones the event specialist was always willing to help and always had a friendly approach, I was very confident in the work she does. All members of staff had a professional and friendly approach which is always a bonus. I paid for a service that I was provided and I am extremely happy. I have and would recommend any parties/wedding at the Holiday Inn-Runcorn. I couldn't of asked for anything more.

Sorry I can add photos at a later date :)

Melissa

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa1985_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Melissa,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to hear that you found the staff professional and friendly and also that your confidence in the team allowed you to enjoy a stress free day.
All team members who worked on your special day, in particular Sally will be recognised for their hard work and dedication in ensuring that the service provided was of the highest standards.
Kind Regards
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    240
    177
    53
    45
See reviews for
102
195
36
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

With a midnight flight arriving at Liverpool Airport we didn't fancy the long drive home and after a search on the Internet we selected the Holiday Inn.

Good points, clean, warm, quality breakfast and cracking value for money at £45.00 a night including breakfast for two.

Bad point, complete muppets in the room who made too much noise at two in the morning which carried thro the connecting door between the two rooms.

Buffet breakfast made up for the poor nights sleep, quality bacon and sausages went down a treat!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Njh131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Njh131
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean, the breakfast of good quality and the stay good value for money. I am sorry to hear that the guests in the next room disturbed your sleep. This is an issue that our Nights team look for on their numerous inspections of the hotel throughout the night. However, sadly these incidents are sometimes missed.
If you are ever passing the area, I do hope you would consider booking with us again.
Kind Regards
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Experienced a warm and friendly greeting by the receptionist, nothing was rushed.
Bar food and breakfast choice was fantastic. Everywhere nice and clean, bar and restaurant staff worked very hard and should be rewarded as they had nothing but smiles on them.
I didnt use the leisure centre as was too tired after travelling but if I stayed here again I would definitely use it.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robborobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear robborobson,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here, your comments will be passed on at our monthly guest satisfaction meeting and I am happy that you had an enjoyable experience during your visit.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed for one night with friends and had a really nice stay. The rooms are a reasonable size, comfortable and clean. The hotel itself is modern and has all the amenities you would need.

The most obvious thing I noticed was how friendly and approachable all the staff were. It was a pleasant change to be regularly greeted by all staff.

Dinner was great. Good quality food, efficient service and not expensive. No complaints at all with this hotel, in fact I enjoyed it so much I have booked a private party in October.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Hillpudlian
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience during your visit and that you found the staff friendly and approachable. I look forward to welcoming you back in October for your private function.
Kind Regards
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScouserinCrete
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Having taken the trouble to book our family Christmas lunch at the Hotel - arriving at 2pm - following late service of starters and soup course - when the family went to the Buffet for their dinner - there was no Turkey - the vegetable choice was extremely poor - and then the lights were switched off. The meal had been paid for in advance - something I will never do anywhere again as the Hotel have refused to return our payment - they have offered non-financial compensation - but I refuse to pay for poor service. Extremely poor response from a once fabulous hotel! Never again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finabiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear fianbiuk
We are extremely disappointed that following our numerous communications with you since Christmas we have been unable to reach a satisfactory conclusion to this matter.
During our investigations we took the opportunity to contact all diners including those who dined with us during the final sittings at around 2.30pm. As we have maintained all along, we did not run out of Turkey on the day.
As you are aware we offered you a choice of goodwill gesture in an attempt to bring the matter to a close. While the dates have now past we are happy to leave our offer open until the end of 2012.
We sincerely hope you will re-consider our offer.
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Runcorn hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed here as part of a group and can honestly find nothing good to say about it apart from Craig and Karin on the bar they were fantastic! Food was cold undercooked and took 1hr and 20 mins to be served a drink with dinner took 15 mins, definatly wouldn't stay or recommend to anyone again! The only positive was leaving

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craig2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Craig2908,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am sorry to hear that there where certain aspects of your visit that did not meet your standards in particular your dining experience, I will be discussing this issue with our Head Chef at today’s management meeting.
I am delighted that you found Craig and Karin to be fantastic and will be passing your praise onto them both.
We really do appreciate all comments both positive and negative as without guest feedback it would be impossible to improve our hotel which is something here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn we are striving to do.
Yours Sincerely
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

we held a party for friends, two weeks later my wife and i had booked in for a valentines dinner, but had to cancell on the day. One of our friends has left us some gifts to be put in our room. as we did not attend these giftes went missing. first staff said the gifts were not left, yet with cctv we proved they had been delivered, then one of the staff told our friend they had eaten the chocolates but did not know what had happened to the wine. the hotel did nothing to replace the gifts or to compensate. would not trust the hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear RayW
I would like to start by expressing how truly appauled I am after reading your review regarding your experience with us. I have been the General Manager here now for four months and as this incident was just under 12 months ago now and I am finding it a little difficult to investigate. Would it be possible for you to call my PA Donna Albiston on 01928 754850 and offer some more information in order for us to conduct a full investigation.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Kind Regards
Vincent Garrington
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
3.4 km away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
4.3 km away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
8.6 km away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.0 km away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Runcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Runcorn

Property: Holiday Inn Runcorn
Address: Wood Lane, Runcorn WA7 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Runcorn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Runcorn enjoys an excellent location close to M56 Jct 12 and with close proximity to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester . This Runcorn hotel is an excellent base for visiting local attractions such as Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oakes, Liverpool FC and Manchester United FC. The Hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. Facilities include 153 bedrooms including standard, executive, family and accessible rooms, all are fully air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 500 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. The hotel boasts 11 meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, meetings to weddings and dinner dances. Complimentary and accessible car parking is available.The Spirit Health and Leisure club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Runcorn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing