We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$153
View deal
eDreamsUS$153
PricelineUS$153
Agoda.comUS$153
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveller rating
415
157
41
28
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
415
157
41
28
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high standard function room west wales night stay no lift public areas wedding venue lovely room receptionist sauna fawr yn nia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 666 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2021

Out of 50 contributions in the past, this is only my second review of a disappointing venue. We chose this hotel, once voted as 'Best hotel in Carmarthenshire, as it had good reviews and website photographs looked good.
We were given Room 10, a suite. Our initial impression was that the room was tired and required refurbishment. On closer inspection we discovered:-
- internal phone not working
- both sets of blinds damaged, unable to close in bedroom
- carpet stains in several places
- sofa in sitting room in need of immediate replacement. Stained and worn leather
- curtains in bedroom with splatters of white paint (hope it was paint!)
- bath surround and shower screen covered in black mould
- area behind toilet seat covered in dust and previous occupant's hair!
- inadequate toiletries - 1 tiny body wash and a shampoo conditioner for 2 people
- dismal and dark bathroom. Too dark to shave or put on make up
(Photographs available for all of above faults)

We were unable to complain to reception as the internal phone was broken and my mobile calls to hotel number went unanswered - worrying if there was a medical emergency!
We chose to eat out that night and hoped that the hotel would redeem itself with breakfast the next day. No way! The waitress told us that there was either full breakfast or avocado and scrambled egg, no offer of fruit juice, yoghurt or cereal.
When I enquired about juice, the waitress brought two apple juices, stating that there was no orange juice - what hotel runs out of orange juice??

On departure we were not even asked how we had enjoyed our stay. However, my husband described a list of failings of the room. There was no response or apology, in fact, there was no reaction at all from the receptionist.

The poor state of this room can not be blamed on Covid restrictions. The hotel we stayed at the night before had been refurbished from top to bottom during lockdown and is now gleaming and spotless.
At £150 per night this was not an acceptable room. The standard of this room is commensurate with places charging half that price.

Needless to say we will not be returning and will not recommend to anyone else.

Room tip: Avoid room 10 suite, in poor condition. Very noisy road if at front of property
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2021

What an amazing day we had at our son and now daughter in laws wedding on the 3rd of July 2021, the venue is amazing, the food was out of this world, the bedroom was clean and very large, the staff were courteous and excellent at their jobs but Nia couldn't have done more for us, she was helpful, kind, professional but most of all excellent at her job especially during these crazy times with covid, diolch o galon I chi gyd xxx

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank EmyrWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2021 via mobile

Booked this on booking.com and we were pleasantly surprised! This hotel appears very rustic externally, but inside is of a very good 3/4 star standard. It's a larger hotel having been much extended on the recent past.

We booked a premium room for one night including breakfast. The accomodation was very clean and modern in decor, with a large bathroom, with both bath and a shower over, so not ideal if you are less mobile, although I am not sure whether other more accessible room's are available? Our allocated room was up 2 flights of stairs in the main building and no lift, so not ideal. The room was quiet with a very comfortable bed.

We had reserved a table for dinner and the menu whilst not extensive and was priced at the higher end of typical prices. 2 main courses and a single dessert, a beer, was in excess of 50.00 pound's. The food was well cooked and presented, so O.K. There were veggie options.

The breakfast which was included in our room rate on booking.com, was excellent both in choice, was well cooked and presented. Our room rate was 89.00 pound's including breakfast.

The hotel offer's secure parking, which was included in the room rate, but we noticed the hotel does charge for parking, so worth checking, before you book?

Overall I would rate this stay as adequate and we enjoyed our stopover.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BIG4241
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2020

Thank you to Nia and the team for having us back on our first wedding Anniversary after getting married here last year. It was really special to come back here and celebrate, Emlyn Hotel will always be special to us.

Where to start, staff are always so welcoming and can't do enough to help you.The room was beautiful, we stayed in Ty Avon lovely and quiet just out of the way.

Lovely touch of bubbly and a anniversary card too ☺

We had a 3 course meal in the restaurant, probably predictable but we had our wedding food (burger and fish and our favourite Sticky Toffee). Food was lovely, all cooked fresh!!

In the morning, breakfast was lovely!! List of choices and with Covid-19 all served to your table.

Overall we couldn't have asked for a more perfect way to celebrate our first wedding anniversary.

(All Covid-19 measures are in place here, a handwashing unit at the door, hand sanitiser as you go into the restaurant, screens, staff wearing masks etc. We felt really safe being here)

Well done to Nia and the Team xx

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2020

We really enjoyed our stay at the Emlyn hotel. The evening meal and breakfast was lovely. The staff were friendly particularly the waiter who served us on the Friday evening (2nd Oct) his cocktail special was delicious! The suite was clean, comfortable and warm.
Thank you

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alanabowen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews